Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 01-12-2014, 12:49 PM   #1

Holiday rambler navigator

So I'm not totally new to rv'ing. Had trailers of different fashion since 03'. We have been looking at lots of different coaches for prob the last 4 years. I'm very mechanical(electrician by trade, build off road rigs for a hobby), so for is the decision to go used is easy( for budgetary reasons as well).

We primarily dry camp(dirt biking, quad riding ect). So whatever we end up with will have to be outfitted with solar panels and possibly a wind generator( not sure on the later yet)

Me and my wife really only differ on one thing and that is slides- I don't want them as I feel the coaches are much sturdier without them, as well we have never had one In our previous rigs. I know it's a space sacrifice though we have never really used more than the front half of our toy hauler that was 40'. I don't think I mentioned we have 2 young boys as well 9/11.

One of the other thing we have figured out is a coach with a dual fuel refrig is a nessecity for us as electric only is a serious battery killer! One of our other requirements is a coach that can tow around 10k. One has to be able to haul the toys otherwise the coach has little purpose for us!