Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2015, 02:03 PM   #15
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,766
Proper wiring for anything at house can be found in this link.
__________________

__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-01-2015, 02:40 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
dabrooks's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,000
My thinking was a little different. I also parked the RV beside the garage and my garage had a separate breaker panel on the same side of the garage as the parking pad, so it was very inexpensive and easy to add a 50 amp RV outlet. I wanted to be able to plug in and not be worried about what I turned on.
__________________

__________________
dabrooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 07:04 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Rich-n-Linda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 884
Home electrical hook-up

Our coach is plugged into a standard 110 volt wall outlet all the time when we are at home. That 15 amp outlet has plenty of capacity to keep the batteries up and run the lights. I can even run one AC unit, provided the batteries are up and the charger is not drawing high current.

It's sort of like the old Green Acres TV show. The generator in the Oliver Douglas homestead could only stay running if the total combination of power didn't go over 7. The writers had a lot of fun with that, as Lisa Douglas always had a tough time figuring out the correct combination of electrical appliances. Watch an "explanation" of that electrical system here:
__________________
Rich-n-Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 06:29 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,811
As Gary said, make sure it is a proper RV plug properly wired for 120 volt.

IF it is; then it will be just fine, IN fact that is how I did mine when I had a sticks and bricks (I also made very sure it was the outlet was properly wired, in fact, I wired it).
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 09:24 AM   #19
Member
 
RoysRV's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 89
I just got this installed yesterday for my coach! Purchased from here: http://www.rvparksupplies.com/p/503020AMPSMPOWER/
__________________
1994 Holiday Rambler Imperial 36ft, Spartan / Cummins C8.3 , 2006 Toyota Corolla Toad / Acme Tow Dolly
149,000 miles and counting! '08 GL 1800 Gold Wing
RoysRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 09:36 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 2,281
Considering the number of wiring mishaps by electricians trying to install a 30 amp 120V circuit, I'd opt for the 50 amp. Each side of the circuit will be 120 V and 50 amps. You will have the power when you need it and you won't end up with a 220V miswired outlet and ruin your coach's electrical system.
__________________
Roger & Mary
2017 Winnebago Navion 24V
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 36GH (Sold)
luvlabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 02:26 PM   #21
Senior Member - DIYer
 
Waiter21's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 3,380
Roy - Looks good.
__________________
1999 Fleetwood Southwind 35S (Ford F53 6.8L V10) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue.
(www.1999Southwind.com)

It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
Waiter21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 02:44 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 3,362
If you have the facilities nearby, install the 50A. We use ours as overflow guest quarters on occasion.
__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 03:33 PM   #23
Member
 
RoysRV's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waiter21 View Post
Roy - Looks good.
Thank you! I am thrilled I have my new electrical box hooked up, to give me 50amp, 30amp, and 110v. Obviously I am using the 50amp.

A friend of mine is a Master Electrician, so I just had the trench waiting for him, we went to Home Depot for supplies, and then he did the rest!

Do it right folks......Provide yourself a 50amp.

PS Supplies at home depot, not including the Power box, was $295.00
__________________
1994 Holiday Rambler Imperial 36ft, Spartan / Cummins C8.3 , 2006 Toyota Corolla Toad / Acme Tow Dolly
149,000 miles and counting! '08 GL 1800 Gold Wing
RoysRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 03:40 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Gordon Dewald's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 10,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bumps View Post
If that is all you are doing, a standard 20amp should be all you need to keep your [coach] batteries charged. \ken
X2 - we stored our 5er and started the fridge on 15 amp for years. When we built the shed we installed a 50 amp plug. We still only charge the batteries and start the fridge.
__________________
Gordon and Janet
Tour 42QD/inTech Stacker
Gordon Dewald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 03:56 PM   #25
Senior Member - DIYer
 
Waiter21's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 3,380
Roy,

I hate to pull the heavy 30 amp cord out of that little door on the side of the MH when at home, so I just use an adapter and a long extension cord and plug into 15 amps.

Rather than leave it plugged in all winter, I should pull the batteries out and store them in the house. Maybe next year. :-) its to cold out to do anything.
__________________
1999 Fleetwood Southwind 35S (Ford F53 6.8L V10) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue.
(www.1999Southwind.com)

It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
Waiter21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 01:38 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Redapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waiter21 View Post
If its just to run the converter (battery charge) and maybe the frig, 15 amps will do.

get a standard 30 (or 50) to 15 plug adapter and plug into a a standard wall outlet.

Ours stays plugged in to a 15 amp outlet when its sitting in the drive.
This is what we do. Works fine.
__________________
2006 Damon Daybreak 3272 w/F-53 @ V10
Redapple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 04:04 AM   #27
Rolling Stoners
 
stoners's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 46
Blog Entries: 1
We wired in a 50 Amp connection for our coach. It only draws the power demanded by the load. If we turn off the AC it doesn't draw. Mostly it is only used to charge and run the refer and very few lights when needed, so no more than it would use if I used dog bones to reduce to the 20 amp plug.

Amount we use was not a consideration but the amount we could use if needed was.
__________________
www.rollingstoners.com
Mike and Wanda Stoner
2018 Venetian G36 - 2014 Ford Edge
stoners is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 04:50 AM   #28
Member
 
RoysRV's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waiter21 View Post
Roy,

I hate to pull the heavy 30 amp cord out of that little door on the side of the MH when at home, so I just use an adapter and a long extension cord and plug into 15 amps.

Rather than leave it plugged in all winter, I should pull the batteries out and store them in the house. Maybe next year. :-) its to cold out to do anything.
I can understand that, and that actually does sound like a better plan for you. Its supposed to get up to 80 degrees today for me!
__________________

__________________
1994 Holiday Rambler Imperial 36ft, Spartan / Cummins C8.3 , 2006 Toyota Corolla Toad / Acme Tow Dolly
149,000 miles and counting! '08 GL 1800 Gold Wing
RoysRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How often do you 'camp ' at home in your RV? Bella222 iRV2.com General Discussion 47 03-20-2015 09:54 AM
Installing home shore power bgbeaver Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 09-01-2014 10:29 AM
Challenger 37DT electrical glitch? jcullipher Thor Industries Owner's Forum 7 08-31-2014 08:19 PM
RV Park electrical hook up dvkiel Class A Motorhome Discussions 11 08-24-2014 01:38 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.