Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2015, 01:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 76
Home electrical hook-up

I only bring my Class A home before going on a trip or sometimes in the winter. I can currently hook up 30amp 110V. Am I doing my house batteries any good here or should I install a 50amp 220V for what would amount to an overnight stay in the driveway? A/C is not a necessity as we seldom experience temp extremes at our home.

Thanks, Andy

P.S. DW wants to know why DH is stuck on one campfire.
__________________

__________________
Andyfarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-28-2015, 01:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
If you don't need AC or any other high amperage loads (washer/dryer, microwave, etc), then the 30amp feed is just fine for overnight.
__________________

__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 01:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Bumps's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: FTer Class of 2015 Origin: Evergreen, Colorado
Posts: 1,536
If that is all you are doing, a standard 20amp should be all you need to keep your [coach] batteries charged. \ken
__________________
Ken & Deb (WIT Club, FMCA, SKP, Harvest Hosts, and grateful volunteers with SOWERs)
2005 Winnebago Vectra 40FD w/400ISL and Allison 3000MH on Freightliner's Evolution chassis, Onan QD7500, 1000w Renogy solar, BlueOx tow gear, and 2015 Cherokee TrailHawk toad.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Bumps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 02:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
osok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 766
Andy,

I use 30A with no problems running fridge, battery charger, few lights, and sometimes 1 A/C.
__________________
2016 Dutch Star 4369
osok is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 02:07 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,324
Hi Andyfarmer,
Double check that the 30 AMP feed is 120 VAC 30 AMP. Too many of these get installed with the 240 VAC version (like what the dryer needs). The receptical is identical to what the dryer needs and the electrician just does his standard install.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 02:21 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 177
I concur with the above comments. I have a 110V. 30 Amp connection for our coach. We usually bring it home a couple of days before a trip to pack and give all systems a good checking over. We rarely run the AC when packing, but know we can run 1 unit and lights with no problems. It was worth the installation money to have the convenience of a good hook up here at the house.
__________________
BillL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 04:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
ernieh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyfarmer View Post
I only bring my Class A home before going on a trip or sometimes in the winter. I can currently hook up 30amp 110V. Am I doing my house batteries any good here or should I install a 50amp 220V for what would amount to an overnight stay in the driveway? A/C is not a necessity as we seldom experience temp extremes at our home.

Thanks, Andy

P.S. DW wants to know why DH is stuck on one campfire.
I'm getting "mixed signals" from your post about your electrical knowledge.

Do you actually have 30A outlet that you are currently using or are you using an adapter?

Have you ever had a problem with your batteries using 30A service in a campground?

DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT CONNECTING TO A DRYER OR WELDER OUTLET.
__________________
ernieh
2012 Phaeton 36QSH
2007 Wrangler Toad
ernieh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 08:57 PM   #8
Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 76
I am using the adapter to allow for plugging into the standard 110 outlet in the garage. I would like to know if there really is any difference over a 24 hour period of time being plugged into 110v 30amp or would it be worth adding a 50 amp 220v outlet. My main consideration is powering up the MH after setting for some time in our offsite storage which has no power.
__________________
Andyfarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 10:31 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,803
What you have us fine. Only need higher amp service if you want to run air conditioning. If you want to exercise the air conditioning do so via the generator as it needs periodic exercising.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 08:21 AM   #10
Senior Member - DIYer
 
Waiter21's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 3,387
If its just to run the converter (battery charge) and maybe the frig, 15 amps will do.

get a standard 30 (or 50) to 15 plug adapter and plug into a a standard wall outlet.

Ours stays plugged in to a 15 amp outlet when its sitting in the drive.
__________________
1999 Fleetwood Southwind 35S (Ford F53 6.8L V10) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue.
(www.1999Southwind.com)

It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
Waiter21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 08:33 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Red Dawg's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 177
Our MH stays next to our shop at home on a 20 amp 110v with a dogbone. We just use that for keeping the batts charged. If for some reason I need AC, I'll fire up the genny.
__________________
Tom & Barb
Jack and Duke (4 leggers)
06 Monaco LaPalma 36DBD
Red Dawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 12:26 PM   #12
Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 76
Thanks to all. This confirms my thoughts on the subject.
__________________
Andyfarmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 01:19 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 59
House plugs are 117v and 20 amp typically. A 30 amp connector has a different configuration.
__________________
WD5DBV Roy & Peggy- 2004 Tropical T396 350hp Cat Allison 3000- Freightliner- 2015 Jeep Sahara-Blueox Baseplate- Air Force 1 Brake System_
WD5DBV ROY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2015, 01:58 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,829
I will make it easy.. So long as the 30 amp outlet is a proper RV (120 volt)
and your Pigtail adapter (Dogbone) is good.

Yes, you are doing just fine, In fact that is exactly how I did it for several years. And my batteries made it to nine years before I traded them in on new, bigger, ones.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How often do you 'camp ' at home in your RV? Bella222 iRV2.com General Discussion 47 03-20-2015 09:54 AM
Installing home shore power bgbeaver Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 12 09-01-2014 10:29 AM
Challenger 37DT electrical glitch? jcullipher Thor Industries Owner's Forum 7 08-31-2014 08:19 PM
RV Park electrical hook up dvkiel Class A Motorhome Discussions 11 08-24-2014 01:38 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.