Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 10-09-2013, 03:43 PM   #1
Horrified by my actions.

I have been RVing now for about 10 years. We first started off with a class c Dutchman and loved it so much that we transitioned three years ago we bought an Allegro RED. I can't even begin to explain how much fun it is. I am 5'2 and was a bit worried at first about driving such a big coach. I spent time watching u tube videos explaining the various techniques and tips to driving. I work hard to improve my skills whenever I can. So far we have put about 30,000 miles on the RV. Last summer we traveled from San Antonio to Key West. Now I have figured out that all of these miles have been done illegally. I just figured out that in Texas I need a class B license to drive. I am horrified at my lack of knowledge when it came to this. So I have decided to fix this problem as quickly as possible. So I was hoping someone out there could give me some advice on some test taking strategies. I am a bit fearful of the air brakes portion of the exam. Do I have to point out the features of the air brakes? I once again watched a few u tube videos over the air brake inspection/ check off prior to driving but these were all done in trucks with trailers and none looked like my setup. My knowledge of mechanical things is limited. I know that I can learn it but I really need some guidance. I understand that there is a written test and I know what to study. What are they going to make me do on the driving part? I have never tried to parallel park my RV and I am not sure why I would ever do this. I can back up like a beast so I am not worried about that. What if I fail and I can't drive my RV home. Will they let me