Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2007, 07:36 PM   #1
Member
 
JIM Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: fl.
Posts: 97
Hot water tank will heat on gas but not 110?
check the breaker and that is on. What else should I check?
Jim
__________________

__________________
JIM Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-22-2007, 08:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Lake Almanor, CA USA
Posts: 419
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by JIM Q:
Hot water tank will heat on gas but not 110?
check the breaker and that is on. What else should I check?
Jim </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
If the circuit breakers/fuses are OK, it would appear that the electric heating element is "fried." Could you have possibly plugged the MH into shore power, and the electric heater switch turned on, without having water in the water heater tank? That will do it most every time.
__________________

__________________
Paul <?)))>< Lake Almanor, CA

2002 Thor Tahoe 23FBGL TT, 28'
Paul Heuvelhorst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 02:59 AM   #3
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
If it is a SUburban there is a switch on the outside area in the lower left corner. You can also access the heating element out there. It could very well have had no water and energized; it only takes a few seconds.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 05:21 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Latitude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Gilford,Ontario
Posts: 1,050
Jim As Rv Wizard has said!! If it is a Suburban?? Check the switch. It is an off/on rocker type, On mine it is in the outside compartment, Where you get at Drain/Anode.
Rick
__________________
'05 Kountry Star 3910 ISC 330 Cummins '08 Jeep Wrangler Four Door Blue Ox
Latitude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2007, 09:32 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Norm Payne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 241
The problem can also be a defective thermostat on mounted on the tank or loose or burned up wiring. If you have a voltmeter you can trace the wiring to find the problem.
__________________
2005 Dutch Star 4015
2007 Honda CR-V
Norm Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 05:31 AM   #6
Member
 
JIM Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: fl.
Posts: 97
thanks.
It I check every thing and looks like for sure I need a new element.
JIM
__________________
JIM Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 03:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,358
One last thing---disconnect the heating element it can be checked with an ohmmeter.
__________________
melvonnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2009, 06:06 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Jocat54's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Leakey, Tx (Texas Hill Country)
Posts: 109
Jim,

Just a thought, we took our first trip this year to Big Bend NP, and the hot water heater would work on propane but not on electric. Just checked it out today and I guess when I winterized I unplugged the electric cord to HW so that I couldn't inadvertly turn the element on without water in it. It was unplugged--plugged it in and it works great. Guess I just getting more forgetful.

John
__________________

__________________
John & Kathy & Gizmo (Maltipoo)
1999 38ft Monaco Diplomat DP
Jocat54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Atwood hot water tank. Brian Cloke Vintage RV's 8 07-27-2008 08:06 PM
Hot water tank clspds Excel Owner's Forum 8 09-27-2007 10:47 PM
Hot Water Tank overheating Fixedblade RV Systems & Appliances 9 07-27-2007 07:37 AM
Hot Water Tank no flow. Flintstones Adventurer Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 17 06-02-2007 05:13 PM
Hot water tank leaking captpar MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 04-25-2007 06:54 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.