Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2013, 08:54 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ownby View Post
For most 50 amp coaches they have two legs of 50 amp power at 120. .
It is important to note the 2 legs are out of phase. They are NOT 2-120vac lines that are alike.
__________________

__________________
2005 Newmar Essex 4502, 2013 Caddy SRX
1997 HR Endeavor 37, CAT, 1996 Geo Tracker
bruceisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-09-2013, 09:05 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
PDR John's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,627
You seem to be under the impression that the ACs always draw 20 amps, when ours pull only around 15 when running.

2 of them are on 1 leg drawing only 30 amps of the breakers total. Our electric cook top is 120 volt and so is the dryer. The highest I've seen our coach pull was 79 amps. That was all 3 ACs, the dryer and microwave. If we do draw to much the EMS will shift some smaller loads to the inverter, entertainment system and frig first. We haven't been able to pull that much at a time though, yet.


On our old coach we ran both ACs just fine on 30 amp, you just can't have them start at the same time.
__________________

__________________
2013 DSDP 4347, all electric, 450 H.P. ISL
Air & hydraulic leveling
14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland toad
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
PDR John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:30 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
Barlow46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: East Coast Fl
Posts: 1,135
Our 05 dynasty utilizes the 220v function for our stacked dryer. We have the 10kw generator that puts out 120v/220v. I think this is the transfer switch that is in our coach. http://www.generatorjoe.net/html/esco/ES350.pdf
We have never run into a problem running the 3 a/c or anything else when connected to 50A shore power or when using only the generator. The only non-electric device is the propane stove.
__________________
2016 Arctic Fox 25Y, 2016 F350 4x4 DRW, 6.7 Power Stroke. East Coast of Fl.
Barlow46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 10:03 AM   #32
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceisla View Post
Well ... sort of ... it's actually like 2 - 50a out-of-phase 120vac services for a total available 100a. (as opposed to a single 100a 120vac service).
A distinction without a difference, unless you actually had a single 120V circuit that needed more than 50 amps. Which you never would in an RV.
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 11:24 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesilvas View Post

You had the EMS or whatever so that makes sense.

I know it's not 240V, but it is. I understand nothing actually uses 240V. It's two phase, three wire service. That all makes clear sense.
I'm just wondering how, or if, you can run three or more A/Cs at once.
I can't understand your confusion. The coach has 100 amp service. 3 ACs (even with all compressors running at once) will only draw 45a max. That leaves 55 amps for the rest of the coach. My 30a coach runs 2 ACs at once no problem.

These coaches also have load sheading (EMS). If ever the rest of the coach demands close to that extra 55a (such as turning on the microwave) the EMS will cut power to a secondary AC, perhaps middle or rear. When extra power later becomes available, it will restore power to that AC unit. All major AC appliances are connected through the EMS. The factory sets the priority which ones are the first, second or third to be shead if necessary.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 12:15 PM   #34
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ownby View Post
You are correct. A few coaches with stackable washer/dryers have used the 240 capability and a very few all electric coaches may use it for the range top but it's rare. For most 50 amp coaches they have two legs of 50 amp power at 120. By adopting this standard which uses readily available residential components it does insure that any competent electrician will understand the system. As far as the end user is concerned the 120 vac power in a coach is just like their house.
I was actually thinking about the dryer after my post. I would have to think that a dryer (even in a motorhome)would be a 240 unit. I wouldn't think that a 120VAC dryer would work very well.
__________________
jamesrxx951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 12:17 PM   #35
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceisla View Post
The service is 240/120 ... just like a house.

No .... in your ending scenario, you would need a source (the entire park and pedestal), and cord, and the entire motorhome wired in a non-standard configuration of single-pole 100a 120vac. Wire size would be huge and costly.

I did state that you would need a larger supply wire to run 100 amp service. However, the motorhome PAST the fuse box would remain the same because everything is still 120VAC unless you have an appliance that uses 240VAC.
__________________
jamesrxx951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 12:34 PM   #36
Senior Dude
 
Dogpatch's Avatar


 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Somewhere, BC.
Posts: 5,584
Blog Entries: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peralko View Post
No EMS, just straight 30 Amps. 30 Amps will run two ACs just fine.
I don't know how you are doing it, but I can't run both my A/C units on 30 amp. Only 1 on 30 amps and 2 on 50amps.

Tried at one campground and blew the breaker 3 times. That was on my previous 03 HR Vacationer. Haven't tried yet on Dynasty with EMS.
__________________
Les (RVM12), Bonnie, Morgan and 4 leggers Bella & Bruce
2010 Forest River Cardinal 3450RL 40' Full Body Paint- 2015 Ram 3500 Laramie 6.7 ltr Turbo Diesel, 68RFE Trans. 4x4 SRW SB Pullrite 2900 18K FMCA-420438 Good Sam
Dogpatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 01:04 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 501
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesilvas View Post
I know that 50A 240VAC is required for two A/C's, but what about more. Multiple 50A connections?
Your information is incorrect.

I have no problem whatsoever, running two Coleman 13,500 Power Saver A/Cs on a mere 20 amp receptacle. These units typically run 7 to 8 amps per unit.
__________________
Stan Birch
1999 Winnebago Adventurer 32T Ford V-10
Stan.Birch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 01:10 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,397
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesrxx951 View Post

I was actually thinking about the dryer after my post. I would have to think that a dryer (even in a motorhome)would be a 240 unit. I wouldn't think that a 120VAC dryer would work very well.
All the combo washer /dryers are 120. Many of the stackable are also 120. Yes, the dry function is slower. It takes 30-50% more drying time on 120.
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 01:10 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogpatch View Post

I don't know how you are doing it, but I can't run both my A/C units on 30 amp. Only 1 on 30 amps and 2 on 50amps.

Tried at one campground and blew the breaker 3 times. That was on my previous 03 HR Vacationer. Haven't tried yet on Dynasty with EMS.
Two 13.5K BTU ACs use about 25 amps in my 30a coach. This only leaves 5amps, so you can't run much else. If they were both 15K BTU, I'm sure the results would be different. An AC capacitor not working at 100% could also affect this.

I do know that there are 30a coaches out there that can only run one AC on shore, however can run 2 if the genny is running. This is because the 20a circuit on the genny only feeds the rear AC.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:48 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyon51 View Post
I can't understand your confusion. The coach has 100 amp service. 3 ACs (even with all compressors running at once) will only draw 45a max
Because they have 20A breakers, and are rated up to that.
I guess I ere on the side of caution and maybe I'm thinking of another electrical code? Idk. My train of thought is if it's rated for 15A, then your source needs to be at least that. If everything is rated for 150A, your source should be that.
Does my train make more sense?
__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 12:08 AM   #41
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesilvas View Post
Because they have 20A breakers, and are rated up to that.
I guess I ere on the side of caution and maybe I'm thinking of another electrical code? Idk. My train of thought is if it's rated for 15A, then your source needs to be at least that. If everything is rated for 150A, your source should be that.
Does my train make more sense?
It sort of makes sense, but that's not how the electrical code works. The code assumes that not all circuits will be used at max at the same time. The max total load (going by branch circuit ratings) in my RV is well over 100amps, but that's all I have going in.
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 12:15 AM   #42
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesilvas View Post

Because they have 20A breakers, and are rated up to that.
I guess I ere on the side of caution and maybe I'm thinking of another electrical code? Idk. My train of thought is if it's rated for 15A, then your source needs to be at least thatu.u If everything is rated for 150A, your source should be that.
Does my train make more sense?
I have no idea where you got 150 amp from. All I can say is what I said in my last post is the way it is. The EMS does not necessarily consider the breaker limit per circuit, even if it did, thats only 60a with 40 left, it monitors total amps and sheds as needed. You have heard from several 3 AC owners, what more do you want? 3 ACs use 45amps, in a 100 amp coach, so where is your problem??
__________________

__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.