Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-30-2014, 05:00 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 21
How do I play in dash radio on shore power?

I need to play the in dash radio, which has xm reception on shore power. I have powered it with 12 volts but the motorhome speakers won't come on, how would I accomplish getting the speakers also on.
__________________

__________________
sheba182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-30-2014, 05:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
GA Navigator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 335
There are a few ways the manufacturer could have wired yours. If you could provide more details, I'm sure someone here could help.
At one time I had a switch and an older dash radio that would allow TV audio to be played through the dash radio speakers. Maybe you have one of these?
Need more details.


1994 Holiday Rambler Navigator
Cummins 8.3
Allison MD3060
__________________

__________________
1994 Holiday Rambler Navigator
300HP Cummins 8.3
Allison MD 3060
GA Navigator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 05:36 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
96 Wideglide's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3,216
May have to turn the key to ACC position.
__________________
Ben & Sharon
2008 43' Holiday Rambler Scepter PDQ
96 Wideglide is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 05:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
D Lindy's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,635
Not knowing your unit make, but my Winnebago has a switch on the dash below the radio and when I want to use the cabs radio when in a campground I flip the switch to the house position.
__________________
2012 Journey 40U (Our Incredible Journey)
2008 Dodge Dakota(TOAD) 2005 Honda Shadow in TOAD
AF-1 braking system
D Lindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 05:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Luckiest Dreamer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,188
My Winnebago has a separate chassis battery switch that bypasses the ignition switch. It is located directly below the radio in the center of the dash.
__________________
Larry B, Luckiest Dreamer
Luckiest Dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 06:21 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
tompen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 500
Not much to go on, if you are wiring it yourself there may be two power wires needed. One for the memory and another for the tuner/amplifier. Mine is wired to the coach and works all the time.
__________________
2016 Wildwood 28RLDS
2014 Tundra 1794 Platnum,"23" T-Bucket
2011 Harley Softail, 2010 Spyder RTS
tompen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 06:52 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Cat320's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
American Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luckiest Dreamer View Post
...My Winnebago has a separate chassis battery switch that bypasses the ignition switch...
Same for my American Coach.
__________________
2014 American Eagle 45T
DD 500
Pulling a Honda CRV
Cat320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 06:55 PM   #8
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,115
Yup. My Bounder as well. It was labeled "park" and " travel" .
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 07:31 PM   #9
Community Moderator
 
Petro's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Weyauwega, WI US
Posts: 5,787
My last 3 Winnebago's also had a switch for the sound system that said TV or Radio. If the switch was set to TV the radio sound did not work and vise versa.

Don
__________________
Don & Bev Morgan Weyauwega WI, 05 Itasca Horizon 40KD, 400 HP Cummins, Delorme GPS LT 40, Toad 07 Saturn Vue AWD, Air Force One, TST 510 TPMS, Mayor of Weyauwega 2007 - 2013, Waupaca Co Board Supervisor 2010 - 2014
Petro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 08:59 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Graham, WA
Posts: 425
What make/model mh are we talking about? Our Gulf Stream has a switch with a musical note on it that switches the radio power to the house batteries. Off, power is from coach batteries through ignition switch. On, power comes from house batteries.
__________________
2006 Gulfstream Friendship G7, Cat C7 and Allison 6 spd
Honda VTX and Crusier Lift on the back
Blue Ox Aladdin, Brake Buddy, 2014 Chevy Equinox toad
Dennis4809 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 09:08 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
John58's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 120
My 97 Bounder has a switch for the radio just flip it to travel or park.
__________________
John58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 12:13 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
spritz's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: c above
Posts: 4,947
I have no switches, I have to have the key in the Acc position for the in dash Stereo to work
Shore power has no affect on my stereo.
Tim
__________________
1982 Pace Arrow 30ft.
KarKaddy SS, Toad: 1999 Deville Concours
Lilly and Rubie Our 4 legged Kids & Tim & Joe
spritz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 06:10 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 21
It is a 2007 Damon Tuscany. Sounds like some other Makes thought of this ahead of time. I have checked the manual but haven't found any switch.
__________________
sheba182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2014, 07:54 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
ronspradley's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,622
I installed an on-off-on switch for the radio. One lead-in for switch comes from ignition source. The other from house batteries. This switch feeds my radio and CB. So when parked, I can switch either radio to house batteries without having to switch ignition to ACC.

ronspradley

.
__________________

__________________
1993 Gulfstream Sun Voyager DP 30'
200 HP Cummins B5.9, 4sp Allison AT542
Toad 1998 Honda CRV, 2006 Honda CRV
Life's too short to drink cheap beer.
ronspradley is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power, dash, shore power, radio



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2002 Holiday Rambler Ambassador No Shore Power !! vrodcp Monaco Owner's Forum 2 11-10-2014 05:54 AM
Dash Air Fan, Power window and Power Seat Stopped working thirdwall Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 5 07-12-2014 02:05 PM
No Power from Shore Power and will not charge batteries Airstream14 Class A Motorhome Discussions 19 07-07-2014 09:04 AM
Charging Chassis Batteries While On Shore Power Doug Patton Monaco Owner's Forum 3 04-18-2014 06:26 PM
Can we use shore power and inverter together? MariannRobin Newmar Owner's Forum 17 04-09-2014 06:15 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.