Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2015, 11:55 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 2,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70gsconvt View Post
I called one place and told them the model number I wanted and I needed the upper unit along with the seal. They quoted me for the units and then started telling me how I needed control adapter units that didn't come with the upper unit. What the heck would that be? I would think a new upper unit would come ready to go, especially if it's going to be connected to a new thermostat. I may have to call Dometic to make sure I'm getting the right stuff that'll hook up to the wiring that I currently have in the wall and make sure I'm buying just what I need. I can get both upper units for $900 brand new with the seals, but that's it. No inside anything and no thermostat. I wish I wasn't on the road right now. Internet is sketchy at best so it's tough to connect with everyone I want to.
If you look in the return air above the filter you will see the control box in each AC unit. To change to the 5 or 10 button Comfort Control the control boxes need to be changed to match the new thermostat. There are dip switches in the control boxes that need to be set for #1 and #2 AC, furnace and if you have heat strip or heat pumps. There is also a number of wires that need to be connected in each control box.
__________________

__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350,F53 Chassis Chassis build date 1/99, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags front & rear, Koni Shocks,Blue OX TruCenter,TigerTrak track bars front & rear, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar,2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW with B & W Custom Truck Bed, 1994 36 ft. Avion 5th Wheel
chboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-22-2015, 11:06 PM   #30
Member
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 41
You do understand there is no switch for #1 ac right?
__________________

__________________
okrvrepair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 12:25 AM   #31
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 2,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by okrvrepair View Post
You do understand there is no switch for #1 ac right?
If your asking me, I would have read the instructions again, it's been a couple of years since I replace the 4 button with the 5 button control. I do remember having to change some of the dip switches in zone 1 for the furnace, heat strip and I thought for which zone it is.
__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350,F53 Chassis Chassis build date 1/99, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags front & rear, Koni Shocks,Blue OX TruCenter,TigerTrak track bars front & rear, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar,2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW with B & W Custom Truck Bed, 1994 36 ft. Avion 5th Wheel
chboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 11:37 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 96
OK so I'm going to have to buy two control boxes, one for each unit, and wire them into the new thermostat?
__________________
70gsconvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 01:23 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
trode's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 810
As I am reading this and thinking about my "groaning" rear unit and it's possible replacement, I realize my set up is entirely different, I think. I have a 2004 National Seabreeze with 2 units, they are on a common duct system but are separately controlled by individual thermostats, one in bedroom one in living area. I love this system, since at night when sleeping I can run only the front unit and reduces noise significantly in bedroom, conversely when we are up front in the evening watching TV we run the rear unit and, again, don't have to deal with the noise. Day time with sun on unit in hot weather is really the only time I need to run both units at same time. That is a rare, usually run just one.

SO....I assume replacing only one unit is no issue with this set up as the only thing they have in common is duct work. True?
__________________
Tom and Patty
The "Rode Crew"
2004 National RV, Seabreeze 1341, F-53 22K, Chevy Malibu toad.
trode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 01:27 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by trode View Post
As I am reading this and thinking about my "groaning" rear unit and it's possible replacement, I realize my set up is entirely different, I think. I have a 2004 National Seabreeze with 2 units, they are on a common duct system but are separately controlled by individual thermostats, one in bedroom one in living area. I love this system, since at night when sleeping I can run only the front unit and reduces noise significantly in bedroom, conversely when we are up front in the evening watching TV we run the rear unit and, again, don't have to deal with the noise. Day time with sun on unit in hot weather is really the only time I need to run both units at same time. That is a rare, usually run just one.

SO....I assume replacing only one unit is no issue with this set up as the only thing they have in common is duct work. True?
My RV has a similar system. You just have to make sure the A/C you're replacing is compatible with the thermostat that controls it.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 11:47 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 96
Go up on the roof and verify the brand and then on the inside when you take the cover off you can get the model/serial numbers. Then call the manufacturer like I did with Dometic. They are very helpful helping you get the correct replacement that'll work with your coach's current wiring. Good luck.
__________________
70gsconvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 12:24 AM   #36
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 2,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by trode View Post
As I am reading this and thinking about my "groaning" rear unit and it's possible replacement, I realize my set up is entirely different, I think. I have a 2004 National Seabreeze with 2 units, they are on a common duct system but are separately controlled by individual thermostats, one in bedroom one in living area. I love this system, since at night when sleeping I can run only the front unit and reduces noise significantly in bedroom, conversely when we are up front in the evening watching TV we run the rear unit and, again, don't have to deal with the noise. Day time with sun on unit in hot weather is really the only time I need to run both units at same time. That is a rare, usually run just one.

SO....I assume replacing only one unit is no issue with this set up as the only thing they have in common is duct work. True?
You can do the samething with the single Dometic 4 or 5 button Comfort Control. Just select which zone 1 or 2 (front or rear) you want to run, the AC's supply are a common duct system. Temperature sensors are in front for zone 1 and in bedroom for zone 2. Don't know what interface between the 12V thermostats and the 120V AC's they used for your system and if replacing the AC's would require replacing the interface. With the Dometic Comfort Control you don't need to replace the control boxes unless your upgrading the thermostat as long as they are compatible with the new AC's.
__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350,F53 Chassis Chassis build date 1/99, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags front & rear, Koni Shocks,Blue OX TruCenter,TigerTrak track bars front & rear, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar,2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW with B & W Custom Truck Bed, 1994 36 ft. Avion 5th Wheel
chboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 09:41 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Ohio
Posts: 96
Like I've said, I plan on just replacing both units and the thermostat, so I'm hoping that I don't need to buy two new control units to go along with them. I'm thinking they're already setup for the newer thermostat. I'm going to call Dometic next week and make sure on everything before I buy the units/theromstat.
__________________
70gsconvt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 10:05 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
Hit_the_Rhod's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Salvisa, KY
Posts: 2,414
x 4 on the heat pump!!!
__________________
Scot & Laura Kellersberger
Newmar 4 wheel drive Dutch Star 3891, 2005 GMC Canyon. Demco Tow Bar & Baseplate U.S.Army (ret)
1985 - 2006
Hit_the_Rhod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 10:30 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
figallegro's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 115
I say no to a heat pump due to being inoperable in lower temperatures. My former coach had two 15K A/C units with heat pumps. When we were in temps of 40 degrees or less, there was little or no heat. Our current older MH has one a/c unit with a heat strip which has worked well in cold temps. While at a rally this week, I talked with a Dometic rep and heat strip models are available and use the same or a little less power and are a little less expensive than a heat pump. Thinking of upgrading to a larger A/c unit to better handle our cooling needs and will go with a heat strip after experience with both. Talked with a few others and they agree on the heat strip if they replace their heat pumps as they also experienced cold temps without heat and had to run their furnace.
__________________
Figallegro
Newmar
Freightliner Chassis, Cummins engine, FMCA #408511
figallegro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 12:30 AM   #40
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 2,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by 70gsconvt View Post
Like I've said, I plan on just replacing both units and the thermostat, so I'm hoping that I don't need to buy two new control units to go along with them. I'm thinking they're already setup for the newer thermostat. I'm going to call Dometic next week and make sure on everything before I buy the units/theromstat.
If your upgrading to the 5 button or any other from the 4 button you will need new control units
__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350,F53 Chassis Chassis build date 1/99, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags front & rear, Koni Shocks,Blue OX TruCenter,TigerTrak track bars front & rear, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar,2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW with B & W Custom Truck Bed, 1994 36 ft. Avion 5th Wheel
chboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 09:30 AM   #41
Senior Member
 
Hit_the_Rhod's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Salvisa, KY
Posts: 2,414
Only the original poster can answer what system will work best for him/her, however some things to consider when deciding whether to go to a heat pump or not.

- Cost, they are more expensive to purchase
- Age of coach, or how long you expect to keep it, doesn't make a lot of sense to go high end on an older coach you plan to sell in two years.
- Installation, this is a wash, as the labor involved is the same either way
- Ambient air temperature- yes, heat pumps are not efficient at lower temperatures, that's where your current usage (and possible change to usage at a later date come into play, for instance retiring soon, and going full time may change how you use your coach) will come into play.
- How do you use you coach, for instance, if you use it for longer stays in cooler (not COLD) climates where you will be using the heater, many parks charge you actual electricity used, not just a flat rate. Heat pump will return a savings on that as long as the temp falls within range of efficiency for heat pumps. Heat strips can be EXPENSIVE to use for longer periods!

Just my $1.89 worth (2 cents adjusted for inflation!)
__________________
Scot & Laura Kellersberger
Newmar 4 wheel drive Dutch Star 3891, 2005 GMC Canyon. Demco Tow Bar & Baseplate U.S.Army (ret)
1985 - 2006
Hit_the_Rhod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 10:27 AM   #42
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,492
Heat pumps are free heat when not paying for electric and if properly setup with lp furnace they both interplay to get the job done.

Contact dometic with your existing model and serial number and detail of what you wish to do and they can supply a complete list of what you need to get it done down to the screws.
__________________

__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
roof, replace, ace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roof A/C Amp Draw Stretch Monaco Owner's Forum 12 10-08-2014 06:49 AM
Dometic roof A/C: where to charge it up? CountryFit RV Systems & Appliances 15 09-05-2014 12:17 PM
Dash A/C - Is it really needed with dual roof A/Cs in a Class A SissyBoyBob Class A Motorhome Discussions 35 07-17-2014 06:53 PM
Roof A/C never shuts itself off. We can freeze a side of beef! tomd85208 Monaco Owner's Forum 4 06-03-2014 07:16 PM
put a roof a/c unit on workinrvers Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 04-23-2014 10:37 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.