Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2016, 08:18 PM   #57
Senior Member
 
asuperheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 124
We use it basically everytime we use the rv unless the generator is running for the rooftop a/c. Family watches tv while I drive, I have stayed at Walmarts and rest areas, I have dry camped and not needed to run the generator for long periods of time. The residential refrigerator is also much better with it.

If mine broke I would absolutely fix/replace it.
__________________

__________________
2014 Excursion 35B
asuperheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-20-2016, 01:16 AM   #58
Senior Member
 
DD788Snipe's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Apple Valley CA
Posts: 810
What charges you house batteries? We use ours all the time. It charges our batteries when plugged in too.
__________________

__________________

Craig & Carolyn Roberts Apple Valley, CA
2006 Newmar 3910 KSDP 400 ISL Cummins Spartan Mountian Master Chassis
Toad: 2010 Chevy Colorado 4X4
DD788Snipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 09:37 AM   #59
Registered User
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by DD788Snipe View Post
What charges you house batteries? We use ours all the time. It charges our batteries when plugged in too.
I could be wrong, as I'm new to inverters, but I think there is a converter/charger that actually charges the batteries. I don't think the inverter does that.
__________________
Atom Ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 10:54 AM   #60
Senior Member
 
cbeierl's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by FloridaNative49 View Post
Well........ I guess I'm convinced I should go on Amazon and do a straight replacement --at least to run the coffee pot. 😛 Is there an easy way short of trying every outlet to decide what's wired to it ? I doubt it's whole coach.
Thnx to all for the good advice.
You can take a look at the Body, 110 Volt Wiring Diagram for your coach to see which outlets are on the inverter and which ones aren't.
__________________
Chris Beierl

2005 Winnebago Vectra 36RD
cbeierl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 11:05 AM   #61
Senior Member
 
DMTTRANSPORT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Posts: 1,216
It's being used while parked at home & plugged in....
__________________
2005 Newmar DS 4023, Spartan Chassis, ISL 370 Cumapart, 2008 Jeep Rubicon 4dr, 2015 Kia Soul, 1969 Italian & 2004 Akita
DMTTRANSPORT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 11:17 AM   #62
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 2,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by FloridaNative49 View Post
Well........ I guess I'm convinced I should go on Amazon and do a straight replacement --at least to run the coffee pot. �� Is there an easy way short of trying every outlet to decide what's wired to it ? I doubt it's whole coach.
Thnx to all for the good advice.
It should have a sub panel for everything that runs off the inverter. Some are separate panels and some are combo panels. This is what mine looks like.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0443.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	158.7 KB
ID:	133677   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0442.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	143.0 KB
ID:	133678  

__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 11:39 AM   #63
Senior Member
 
southernlady's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbeierl View Post
You can take a look at the Body, 110 Volt Wiring Diagram for your coach to see which outlets are on the inverter and which ones aren't.
Our coach made it easy...white outlet covers are not on the inverter, the black ones (and there are three of them) are on the inverter.
__________________
2001 Newmar Dutch Star DSDP3852
Me, Husband, Desi & Lucy [Jack Russell Terrier/Chihuahua mix]
We leave the feline contingent at home.
southernlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 11:58 AM   #64
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atom Ant View Post
I could be wrong, as I'm new to inverters, but I think there is a converter/charger that actually charges the batteries. I don't think the inverter does that.
There are seperate inverters and chargers.

There are also inverter/charger units. Many factory systems use the inverter/charger.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 12:25 PM   #65
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 27
I don't mind starting the generator to run the microwave or coffee maker, so I realized that the only things I really need an inverter for are the computers and my multiple camera battery chargers. One of my monitors doubles as the TV, and my PC runs on less than 150 watts, so I don't need much. I was going to install a small 300W-600W inverter, when this came up on an Amazon deal at $300. At that price it was only a little more than an inverter, so I gave it a try:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00D5RVMAM/

It gives me a couple of hours of computer use, or 3-4 hours of TV on a monitor, and lets me charge camera batteries, without draining the house battery or starting the generator.

It's probably not suitable for extended boondocking, because it's an AGM battery and it takes all day to recharge it. But it's useful at WalMart stops and the like. It's all I need, emergency low-power A/C.

Just another approach... my high-power AC items heat, A/C, and cooking require generator or shore power. But low-power gear is practical to run off of batteries. So splitting them into a separate system makes some sense.

BTW, I also have one of these for photo strobes... I've used it in a pinch for AC, but the capacity is pretty small. A bigger version of this would be perfect, lithum works out much better than AGM because of the faster charging.

Paul C. Buff - Vagabond™ Lithium Extreme
__________________
bobk3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 01:03 PM   #66
Registered User
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
There are seperate inverters and chargers.

There are also inverter/charger units. Many factory systems use the inverter/charger.
So on my 5er, I didn't have an inverter, but I did have a converter/charger (Progressive Dynamics 90A I believe). It converted shore line to 12V to run my 12V stuff, and charged the batteries in the meantime. Are you saying the inverter does this on mine now? What runs the 12V, or is still just run direct off the battery and no converter involved.
__________________
Atom Ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 02:20 PM   #67
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6,476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atom Ant View Post
So on my 5er, I didn't have an inverter, but I did have a converter/charger (Progressive Dynamics 90A I believe). It converted shore line to 12V to run my 12V stuff, and charged the batteries in the meantime. Are you saying the inverter does this on mine now? What runs the 12V, or is still just run direct off the battery and no converter involved.
I don't know what kind of inverter you have or how it was installed.

There are converter/chargers that convert 120 volts AC to 12 volts DC and charge your batteries.

There are inverters that change 12 volts DC to 120 volts AC.

There are Inverter/chargers that do both. Plugged in, it charges. Pull the plug and it makes AC.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 07:02 AM   #68
Senior Member
 
Scottybdivin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spicewood Texas (West of Austin)
Posts: 2,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atom Ant View Post
So on my 5er, I didn't have an inverter, but I did have a converter/charger (Progressive Dynamics 90A I believe). It converted shore line to 12V to run my 12V stuff, and charged the batteries in the meantime. Are you saying the inverter does this on mine now? What runs the 12V, or is still just run direct off the battery and no converter involved.
It would surprise me if your rig doesn't have an inverter/charger. They are pretty standard features in larger MH's for the last 10 years or more.
__________________
Scotty and Kristen, Airedales Dagny and Wyatt
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 4528, 450 HP ISM, Allison 4000, 8 Trojan T-105's
2014 F150 4x4 Crew Cab Platinum 157" WB
Roadmaster Blackhawk 2, RVI2 Brake System
Scottybdivin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 11:08 AM   #69
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 75
I have a home built van. Most of you may not even feel the bump if you ran me over. I have a 2000 watt inverter, separate from the chargers. I would not be without. I make auto drip coffee, auto toasted bread, and use my 1000W microwave. Runs off 6 golf cart batteries, cabled with 2/0 awg. If using more power, the battery bank needs to be large as 230 amp hour means 11.5 amps over 20 hours. If using 23 amps the battery will not last 10 hours, but much less. The cable has to be large. My inverter could draw 200 amps if loaded.
__________________
Sehc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 09:26 PM   #70
Senior Member
 
dirko's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Draper, UT
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by FloridaNative49 View Post
thnx All for the quick response. I'll be testing this out next month with about a 6 week 4,000 mi. trip, sooooo..
if I upgrade to the 1500 or 2000, do you think i can do a straight wiring swap? Did you do your own install? This one also has a remote switch on the main panel.
The answer is that wires are protected by circuit breakers, so if you have 20 amp breakers you need at least AWG 12 wires. 15 amp breaker requires at least AWG 14. The input wires should also be sized according to the fuse that protects them. This isn't something that you have to guess at. just look at the protection device to determine which wire size is needed. You can always increase the wire size, but you shouldn't use breakers larger than the associated wire sizes.
__________________

__________________
dirko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How often are you scared when you look at your rear camera and your TOAD is missing? dpinvidic Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 15 01-29-2015 08:15 PM
How often do you use your class A DP Daytripper63 Class A Motorhome Discussions 34 03-02-2014 12:46 PM
How often do you use your generator? Darnjoe Full-Timers 13 04-09-2012 10:47 AM
How often do you use your Motorhome? doublehooked Class A Motorhome Discussions 23 05-01-2010 01:45 AM
How often do you use your generator? daydreamer36535 Full-Timers 5 03-20-2006 02:44 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.