Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2015, 02:31 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,733
How to DIAGNOSE Cruise Control

I used to be able to click the CC and set idle at 1000RPM when I would warm up the coach. Kept the alternator running enough juice to the batteries, and better oil flow (IMO).

Lately I can't engage CC when idling. Using it while underway is fine.

Can anybody suggest a diagnostic path, or a fix?

Freightliner XC with Cummins 300HP engine.
__________________

__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-03-2015, 04:51 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
slowmachine's Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Alton, NH
Posts: 1,198
I have the same problem, but with a Caterpillar engine. I called Freightliner and they emailed a troubleshooting guide for my cruise control.
__________________

__________________
Mike
2000 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 40PBD
Freightliner XC, CAT 3126B
slowmachine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 05:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
djbmsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Charlotte Harbor, FL
Posts: 1,806
I would assume that you insure that the C C is "on" before setting it.
__________________
Don and Nancy
[2014 40QBH Phaeton, 2015 Buick Enclave, 2yr old sisters Sara n Kaycee, Havanese, Two Segways
djbmsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 07:49 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowmachine View Post
I have the same problem, but with a Caterpillar engine. I called Freightliner and they emailed a troubleshooting guide for my cruise control.
Did you learn how to correct it?
__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 08:04 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
slowmachine's Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Alton, NH
Posts: 1,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaboy473 View Post
Did you learn how to correct it?

I haven't done anything with it yet. My MH is at a local shop getting new tires and windshield glass.
__________________
Mike
2000 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 40PBD
Freightliner XC, CAT 3126B
slowmachine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 08:10 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
slowmachine's Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Alton, NH
Posts: 1,198
I can add that Freightliner said there is a control box at the steering column that converts the signal from my Rostra cruise stalk to whatever the CAT ECM needs for control. When I get the MH back in my own yard, I'll work though the process.
__________________
Mike
2000 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 40PBD
Freightliner XC, CAT 3126B
slowmachine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 11:41 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,733
My call to FL wasn't as fruitful. The guy nicely told me that there's nothing he could do to diagnose what the problem was (I have a Cummins engine).

With that, I'll deal with not having CC to set warm-up idle speed at 1000. So long as I have it on the road, I can live with that.
__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 02:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
slowmachine's Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Alton, NH
Posts: 1,198
It's been a while, but I just fixed my cruise control problem. After removing a CB radio blocking access, I discovered that the wiring harness from the cruise control was unplugged from the steering column. I reconnected it and it now works fine. I hope that your fix is as simple as mine.
__________________
Mike
2000 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 40PBD
Freightliner XC, CAT 3126B
slowmachine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 09:29 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
slowmachine's Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Alton, NH
Posts: 1,198
In case anybody can use it, the rudimentary troubleshooting procedure from Freghtliner is attached. It covers both Caterpillar and Cummins engine installations. My Freghtliner chassis is an XC, model year 2000.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf CruiseControl.pdf (46.2 KB, 88 views)
__________________
Mike
2000 Holiday Rambler Endeavor 40PBD
Freightliner XC, CAT 3126B
slowmachine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2015, 12:30 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Muskogee, Oklahoma
Posts: 5
I have forgotten to turn the CC on before setting high idle. Be certain tranny is in neutral and park brake is on. FYI high idle will not turn off if CC is turned off while in high idle. However pressing brake pedal (or clutch ? should disengage fast idle.
__________________

__________________
JearBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cruise control



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runaway Cruise Control Dtwallace Class A Motorhome Discussions 16 07-31-2015 11:37 AM
2007 Monaco Diplomat Cruise Control Vibration ssalsman Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 02-05-2015 12:23 PM
2002 Diplomat cruise control not working? Krash Monaco Owner's Forum 9 11-22-2014 02:06 PM
2014 Cruise Control Garyp47 Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 16 07-05-2014 09:30 AM
Replacement Cruise Control DonL Monaco Owner's Forum 3 05-20-2014 08:26 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.