Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-26-2013, 09:13 PM   #1

How Well Do Your Brakes Work

I am new to RV driving, however not knew to driving large vehicles. I been a professional driver for over 30 Years, Cars, Straight Truck, Tractor Trailers, Tankers, Motorcycles.

History: I just bought a 1997 Winnebago Vectra 37Ft. When I bought it, there was a couple of rusted brake lines, it was towed to the shop. Shop went over the vehicle, replaced 2 broken brake lines and replaced both face plates (Brakes attached) on the tag axle.

When I picked it up drove it around a bit, brakes seemed spongy and I felt the tag axle brakes kicking in to soon. Brought it back and shop said they got rid of some more air in the system. Took it out again and still felt the tag axle kicking in. Thanks to one of the members here he sent me directions as to where and how to adjust the sensitivity of the tag axle.

So as of now, my question is, how is a House on Wheels suppose to feel when using the brakes, Keep in mind this is a 1993 with 80K miles, should it stop pretty quick, or should it feel like I am stopping a house with a pick up truck? The Gas Tanker with 9000 Gallons of Gas I drive stops pretty much like a car.
AnimalCop is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!