RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 10-04-2018, 11:02 AM   #1

How'd you get your RV License

Hi everyone,
So, I'm completely new to RVing, don't even have an RV yet but the wife and I are pretty inclined towards a lightly used Class A DP. In researching how to even get started, it seems that in many states actually getting licensed is something of a chicken or the egg scenario.

In MD where I live, you need to first get a Learner's Permit, but that requires passing a skills test, to which you must bring your own RV. But, if I don't have an RV because I don't have a license for one and couldn't rent one because I don't have the proper endorsements on my license to do so, how am I supposed to obtain an RV to pass a skills test for the learners permit?

I asked the MVA/DMV about this and they told me to consider taking a CDL class. Which, okay but that seems like overkill. I don't think I should need to take a full blown CDL class when all I'm looking to do is obtain a learner's permit for a Non-Commercial Class B license.

I've searched around for RV schools and training, but the Googlebox doesn't turn up much in the DC, MD, NoVA areas. The ones on the internet that come to you require that you provide your own RV, which to me is great if you already own an RV and just want some advanced or refresher driver training but its useless if you're just getting started because clearly, you don't have an RV yet.

Anyone out there have any insight into how to get over this first obstacle of getting licensed properly?

Mapnerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!