Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-29-2014, 03:08 PM   #1

HWH jack DIY repair

HI everyone . I have problem with my straight acting hwh jack not retracting like many of you. One of them has to be pry up with a 2x4. I call my locale hydraulic shop and they will repair for about $200.00. I am a mechanic by trade and I am sure with a bit of help from you guys we could come up with a procedure to do the repair our self.I have found a bit of information on other forum. Apparently there is a guide bushing in there that swell or corrosion gets between this bushing and the seal and prevent the rod from retracting, conteracting the force of the spring.Assuming that this is the problem, it has to be fix. It seem that this piston is not serviceable as per HWH.Apparently to take it apart you have to cut open the top of the cylinder and push the rod back through the top , removed the seals and clean the bushing till the rod slide freely and reweld the cap back on. I would appreciated your input. My rig is a 1999
papp is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!