Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 05-30-2013, 06:53 PM   #1
Hydraulic Leak in slideout help please

Hello all, RV Newbie here, but i know tools...
I love the ClassA, 1997 Winnebago Adventurer, 34', I bought last year.
But, the small leak in the hydraulic line blew during my Memorial Weekend trip. :(
The main living room slideout has 2 legs, and the front leg is now full of hydraulic fluid. (I called Winnie headquarters and they told me how to find the T handle on the cylinoids, turn them loose, and push the slideout back in slowly. This worked, and now the slideout is loose and I can extend and retract it by hand.)
Now I need to fix the leak...
I can see that it's not the hoses, and I could hear the air leak inside the leg. I am thinking that it's gotta be a seal in the piston cylinder or something else inside the slideout leg.
Question... How do I get the piston cylinder out of the leg??? Is this do-able? Is there a manual? Pictures?
My initial thought is to prop up the slideout, unbolt the leg from the slideout then the cylinder will unbolt and come out the open end of the leg. It seams simple enough, but I know it's probabbly not, and there is always something little that I don't know about that needs to be removed too.
So, I would appreciate any help or maybe lead me to another post that explains this.
Thank you in advance and as always, Jam On!

JerryGarcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!