Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-30-2013, 08:41 PM   #1

Input/Thoughts Needed

Greetings! Was hopeful that i could get some insight and opinions from the community.

I work in the entertainment industry and have spent the better part of the last 20 years running up and down the road all over the country in high end entertainer coaches. All of which have been leased for by my clients.

Im at a place in my life where im looking to make the move into getting my own coach for my travel and upgrade my quality of life, but quite frankly cannot afford a those higher end busses, and in my experience the maintenance end of them scares me to death because it just seems that every time that i have been on one that broke down the cost of repair was always insanely high.

Ive been considering a nice Class A RV, but im curious is to just how realistic it is from both a wear and tear, and comfort standpoint to go as hard as I do. Im guessing I'd probably be putting 30k miles a year on it or so.....and not unusual to be doing 500 miles overnight in between cities...night after night......(with a driver of course).... are they built well for sleeping comfortably in the rear state room while rolling down the road? Do they ride well enough to be working at the table while rolling down the road without getting tossed all over the place, Are they built well to run 30k a year, year after year..... etc etc.... Are maintenance costs really high??