Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2016, 08:25 PM   #1
Ex Millwright / Army Vet
 
marjoa's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 624
Installing a in-house surge protector

Our MH that we just purchased does have an onboard ECM but doesn't have a in-house mounted surge protector. I don't want to buy & use a portable surge protector dog bone type unit. So after reading here, I'd like to permanently install a Progressive Industries 50AMP unit.
Progressive Industries RV Surge and Electrical Protection industry lea

My question is:
Is this something I can do myself or does it require a master electrician?
__________________

__________________
TEAM Martin & Joanie...and Wookie (our Yorkie)
2012 Winnie Vista 35F, 5 ST, TPMS, ScanGuage II, Safe T Plus, SS Rear Trac Bar, Koni FSD's, BG Fluids, Stored, Preparing to FT soon.
Making Traveling and Our Motorhome "GREAT AGAIN".
marjoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-04-2016, 08:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
2 Stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Warren, Oregon
Posts: 1,501
It's an EZ install. I did a 30A and a 50A no problems, plus they are a great company if you ever have a problem.
2 stroker
__________________

__________________
2006 Country Coach Inspire 360 40ft Genoa Designer Series, Samsung 197 RR
Cat C9--STEEL & COPPER Bolt Together Radiator w/ updated rubber mounting
SilverLeaf 330 Magnum 2812 PSW 2011 Ford Edge Sport-Air Force One
2 Stroker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 08:38 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 4,321
I made my hard wired surge guard portable by installing a short cord with a plug on one end and a short cord on the other end with a receptacle. I cut the main cable and installed a plug and receptacle on each end. If necessary, I can remove it from the cable and plug the end back together.








If it ever fails I will replace it withe the Progressive Industries one.
__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis
Making the Journey in our Destination

UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 08:44 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
rarebear.nm's Avatar


 
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 1,021
This is not a difficult install in my opinion. I installed the same product as one of my first mods. I placed it just inside of the shore power outside connector. But it could be placed anywhere between there and the first 110 volt device (breaker panel, transfer switch, etc.). I'd choose a place on that route where you have easy access. As in mounting anything in an RV beware of what is on the other side of the mounting surface. Screws have a way of punching holes in things not intended, don't ask. The main cable for 50 Amp service is thick and heavy. Regular wire cutters will not cut it. I used a Sawsall to cut my cable at the desired location. A pair of heavy duty bypass wire cutters or a hacksaw will also work. Make certain that the shore power is unplugged and he negative on the battery is pulled if you have an inverter. Do not cut a wire unless you KNOW it de-engerized. I replaced a section of the interior 50 Amp cable to get enough length to work with. Each install will be different. The biggest problems were just bending these wires within the EMS device to the screw contact points, it will go, just a little effort.

By all means get the remote device that shows the EMS status as well. I mounted mine in a basement compartment near the shore power connector. This allows me to check the power status right away. They also sell a kit to install a second remote monitor that could be placed inside the coach if desired.
__________________
Fred & Denise (RVM157)
Santa Fe, NM
2007 Excel Classic 30RSO 2007 RAM 3500, Diesel, 6Spd Auto, SWD, 4x4, CC & LB
rarebear.nm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 09:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
windsorbill's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Palm Desert, CA
Posts: 615
Quote:
Originally Posted by marjoa View Post
Our MH that we just purchased does have an onboard ECM but doesn't have a in-house mounted surge protector. I don't want to buy & use a portable surge protector dog bone type unit. So after reading here, I'd like to permanently install a Progressive Industries 50AMP unit.
Progressive Industries RV Surge and Electrical Protection industry lea

My question is:
Is this something I can do myself or does it require a master electrician?
I actually got a 50 amp Progressive portable one as a house warming gift. (we need more friends like that!!). I really do like it and it's saved my electronics on at least 2 occasions.

I've had it going on 9 years now with zero issues. It is capable of being locked onto the pedestal while your at camp. One of the problems my coach has, it has an electric cord on a reel which feeds directly into the CB panel. No room anywhere to mount a permanent unit unless you do a bunch of re-routing.
__________________
bill h
06 Windsor PRQ, ISL
2014 Honda CRV
windsorbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 09:37 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Lt Dan's Avatar


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by marjoa View Post
My question is:
Is this something I can do myself or does it require a master electrician?
If you are handy with simple electrical work, then it's absolutely something you can do yourself. I simply cut my shore cord about 12" from the ATS and installed it in line. The only tricky part is feeding the 6ga hot wires through the sensor coils and making it fit in a small space. Other than that, it was a breeze to install in about 30 minutes. Here is how mine is mounted and I have the LED readout on the back wall of the electrical bay. You won't regret having one. This one has saved me twice from under powered pedestals.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PI-HW50C.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	177.9 KB
ID:	140754  
__________________
Dan & Ro with two Rescued Boston "Terrorists" Jade & Jewel
2017 Phaeton 40IH Maroon Coral
Previously '15 Tiffin Allegro RED 38QRA and '06 Itasca Sunrise 35A
'12 Jeep Wrangler Sport and/or '08 Honda Goldwing
Lt Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2016, 10:37 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
gruelens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,191
As LtDan said, electrically it is easy. However, physically getting the heavy conductors, coils, etc in the small confines requires effort.
__________________
George R. - Fulltiming since January '03
2007 Newmar Mountain Aire 3991
2012 Chevy Malibu LT1
gruelens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 09:34 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
falconman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 679
I will go against the tide a little and suggest you look into professional installation. I, as have countless many others, have successfully installed these units. As you can see from the other post there there are many variables to the installation depending on the MH which may require relocating wires, etc. If you are a DIY type of guy AND you feel comfortable around high amp heavy wires and are familiar with 220 wiring then go for it.
__________________
Dan & Arlene
2005 Monaco Dynasty Diamond IV
Chasing the good weather
falconman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 10:03 AM   #9
Senior Member/RVM #90
 
MSHappyCampers's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Columbus, MS
Posts: 21,916
I agree with Lt Dan. If you're handy with basic hand tools you can do it yourself. It will be a lot easier if there is enough slack in the main power cord to cut it and insert the EMS. That wire is stranded and much easier to work with than the solid wire you would probably have to get at Lowes or HD.

As others have said, be SURE you have all power disconnected, including turning off the battery disconnect switches! We don't want to lose a member!
__________________
Joe & Annette

2002 Monaco Windsor 40PBT, 2013 Honda CRV AWD
MSHappyCampers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 10:30 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach, FL
Posts: 1,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by UFO Pilot View Post
I made my hard wired surge guard portable by installing a short cord with a plug on one end and a short cord on the other end with a receptacle. I cut the main cable and installed a plug and receptacle on each end. If necessary, I can remove it from the cable and plug the end back together.









If it ever fails I will replace it withe the Progressive Industries one.
I did the same thing...except I also have a Autoformer. Both the autoformer and surgeguard are hooked up with plugs/receptacles inside the bay. That way if one or both should fail, it's plug and play to take them out of the loop with no rewiring needed to get power back.
__________________
2013 DS 4338
2015 F-150 toad with kayaks,bicycles and a Harley in the back
PanJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 11:02 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: S. FL
Posts: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by gruelens View Post
As LtDan said, electrically it is easy. However, physically getting the heavy conductors, coils, etc in the small confines requires effort.
I second that...... MAJOR effort to do it w/o breaking something.
Rather than cut any wires I pulled the wires off the xfer relay.
Added in a short segment bought at home depot to reconnect.
If I had to do it all over again, I would have bought a more flexible wire.
I spent about 50% of my time trying to form the wires to fit.
Ended up having to splice in a segment to allow it to bend in the space allowed.
I have yet to mount the remote display, holding off till cooler weather arrives.
__________________
1984-2014, 1984 21' Hi-Lo Fun Chaser, 1972 C-20
2001-2013, 1995 34' Airstream Excella, 2001 F250
2013- Now, 2006 Itasca Meridian 36G, Jeep GC
ronnie_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 12:03 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Sandy Swede's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 344
Notwithstanding all of the advice posted here that "this is an easy installation," ask yourself this question - "What is the penalty for being wrong?" Perhaps I am just a wuss, but "Homey don't play with electricity."

I looked at the permanent installation, but as you may have discerned from the above, I opted for the portable. There was probably room in my power cord bay, but a 50 amp cord does not bend like a garden hose. Also, you really need to wire in the remote diagnostic display.

In scoping this out with the tech at Progressive Industries, I wanted to know, "Am I reading you correctly that the LCHW50 Hard wired unit bypass feature “jumper wire” is moved automatically when it is finished with its diagnostic routine, or that it must be moved manually by me? If moved manually, it there an auto-reset function which would prevent me from doing something stupid such as plugging in the power cord to the post with the bypass “jumper wire” open, thereby making a direct connection without the unit running the diagnostic routine first?"

I don't recall getting a satisfactory answer to that question, but I could be wrong. Bottom line, I don't like relying on memory, especially mine.

If there is any question in your mind about your level of competence doing the installation, have it installed by a professional. Just one person's opinion, YMMV. Best of luck whichever one you choose.

__________________
2004 Newmar DS 4009 DP
370 Cummins on Spartan chassis
Delaware beaches ----- DW & Kip the Wonder Dog
Sandy Swede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 01:03 PM   #13
1977-2006
 
USMCRET's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,300
The instructions that come with the Progressive unit are so explicit, even a Marine can install one while on the road.
__________________
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910
ISC on a Spartan
USMCRET is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 01:10 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10,260
Maybe stay at a Holiday Inn Express the night before? (-:

Seriously, itsnot that difficult. Biggie is safety. Make sure all the power sources are off.

I like to take pictures before and as I go along. Helps a lot with questions that may come up during or after.
__________________

__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing EMS-HW50C surge protector IFlyABus Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 15 08-13-2016 07:42 PM
Installing a hard wired surge protector in 21rbs dexters Outdoors RV Owner's Forum 7 07-04-2016 11:28 AM
Experience in Installing Surge Protector in 2000 36' Alpine jbenalpine Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 17 12-14-2014 04:44 PM
Installing HW50C surge protector Grwalker Newmar Owner's Forum 2 06-25-2013 03:50 AM
Bounder: Installing Surge Protector Tincup Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 12 06-08-2006 11:24 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.