Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-19-2011, 08:58 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Inverter low output

Bought a 99 Fleetwood Discovery last year. This year, replaced house and starter batteries and the shop said the inverter was not working properly. This was a truck repair shop so I looked for a shop that works on motor-homes - none in the area.

I checked the AC output from the inverter and it was only 100 volts. Can't operate even the AC lighting with the battery/inverter system. Everything works onshore power.

Any ideas as to what is causing the low output would be appreciated. Is there a way to adjust the output so I can increase the the output to 115 volts?

Thanks for any suggestions.

dak605 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-19-2011, 09:27 AM   #2
Senior Dude
Dogpatch's Avatar

Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Somewhere, BC.
Posts: 5,575
Blog Entries: 8
i just replaced my inverter in my 00 Winnebago Adventurer. My inverter was a 125 watt. This was strictly used to power the Tube TV and maybe a VCR. I put a 37" LCD TV in and a Blu-ray surround system in. I needed to upgrade to a 600 watt Pure Sine Inverter just to run the new equipment.
The problem you will run into as I did is that the bigger the Inverter, the more you will be able to run with it, but the drawback is more battery storage will be needed and then you will need more ability to charge more batteries.
Once you start a motion of change to accomodate one thing, it sets a motion to change a lot of things at a big expense! I stuck with a small change.

Les (RVM12), Bonnie, Morgan and 4 leggers Bella & Bruce
2010 Forest River Cardinal 3450RL 40' Full Body Paint- 2015 Ram 3500 Laramie 6.7 ltr Turbo Diesel, 68RFE Trans. 4x4 SRW SB Pullrite 2900 18K FMCA-420438 Good Sam
Dogpatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 09:30 AM   #3
Senior Member
RJay's Avatar
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,589
There is no way to increase the AC output from your standard inverter because there would be no reason to. The output AC voltage should be closer to 120 volts so it appears you have an internal problem with the inverter. A 100 volts AC output from the inverter would indicate a battery voltage of 10 volts DC and since these are new batteries that not likely, but it might be a good idea to check them just to be sure.
2007 Newmar DSDP 4023
Discovery is seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what no one else has thought.
If you want to see what man made go East; if you want to see what God made go West.
RJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 10:44 AM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: somewhere in the west
Posts: 1,168
If your inverter is a modified sine wave, and you did not us a true RMS meter, then the reading is not accurate.

Ed-Sommers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 12:40 PM   #5
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Originally Posted by Ed-Sommers View Post
If your inverter is a modified sine wave, and you did not us a true RMS meter, then the reading is not accurate.

I used a digital voltmeter.
dak605 is offline   Reply With Quote


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Add Inverter to 2011 Tiffin 35QBA? GARYMC74 RV Systems & Appliances 10 06-23-2011 03:14 AM
Wiring Inverter - how to add switch to 12V input? HELP neo102470 RV Systems & Appliances 8 05-16-2011 12:04 PM
Inverter question ?? Max Hubrich RV Systems & Appliances 9 12-22-2009 08:51 PM
RS 2000 new inverter/ solenoid Ed & Diane Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 03-25-2009 09:56 PM
Winnie Inverter Location? Blaine Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 04-06-2005 01:10 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.