Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2014, 03:48 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 3
Inverter not running microwave or recep.

xantrex 1000 when on batteries, GFI outlet on inverter shows 110VAC.
Wall control panel is on. No outlet power in RV or microwave clock power.

When run on generator everything is ok. When plugged to shore power everything is ok.

HELP
__________________

__________________
llbwrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-27-2014, 03:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
Sounds like there is a plug that needs to be changed over to the inverter, is there one
near the inverter?
__________________

__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 04:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,521
Is this something new, did it work in the past?

1000 watts is usually not enough power for the microwave so it may not even be wired in.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 04:04 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
wb7auk's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Spokane Valley, Wa
Posts: 1,987
That was my thought also
__________________
Art
1999 Trade Winds 7371 Cat 3126B w/current upgrades
1990 D 250 Dodge Ram Cummins Turbo
wb7auk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 04:11 PM   #5
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by llbwrb View Post
xantrex 1000 when on batteries, GFI outlet on inverter shows 110VAC.
Wall control panel is on. No outlet power in RV or microwave clock power.

When run on generator everything is ok. When plugged to shore power everything is ok.

HELP
llbwrb
How many watts does the microwave need?
(You can find that info on a label somewhere on the microwave).
Me thinks you are expecting more from a 1000 watt inverter than it can deliver.

However since you have "No outlet power in RV", a breaker on your inverter may be tripped...or a fuse on the inverter may have blown...or a GFCI receptacle might need to be re-set...which BTW, might be in any location in the RV... because quite often one GFCI receptacle protects more than just that one receptacle.
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 04:21 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
SteveLevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,195
it's quite possible the outlet for your microwave is not even on the inverter. I have a 2000 watt inverter and my convection oven isn't on the inverter at all.

It should be easy enough to tell; even without turning on the microwave on, if the internal light doesn't come on when the door is open, or, if it has a display, that's not on either, than the simple answer is -- you can't run it off the inverter. And arguably, 1000 watts would be very much on the "light" side of what would be needed.

Steve
__________________
The Green Machine -- 2000 Mountain High Coachworks Summit (Spartan chassis / Cummins ISC)
...and F-Troop: Fearghus, Fiona, and Frankie (Cairn Terriers)
SteveLevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 04:32 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,909
The Xantrex 1000 ( 800 watt ) is not a hard wired inverter, do you have anything plugged into the outlet on the front of the inverter? If you do, try resetting the GFI on the inverter outlet. If nothing is plugged in, you need to plug in what you want to run. Like others have said, it probably won't run a microwave. I have a Xantrex 2000 ( 1800 watts ) that just runs my microwave.
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 04:36 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveLevin View Post
it's quite possible the outlet for your microwave is not even on the inverter. I have a 2000 watt inverter and my convection oven isn't on the inverter at all.

It should be easy enough to tell; even without turning on the microwave on, if the internal light doesn't come on when the door is open, or, if it has a display, that's not on either, than the simple answer is -- you can't run it off the inverter. And arguably, 1000 watts would be very much on the "light" side of what would be needed.

Steve
We have the Freedom 458 2000 watt MSW unit. The GE Advantium will run off it but the unit doesn't like the MSW inverter so (nor low park voltage), unless it's just to heat a cup of water I run the gen set.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 04:51 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
mikelm48's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grapevine, TX
Posts: 975
Mine only runs the front of the coach, TV, DVD and one outlet. Also, check the inverter itself and make sure the breaker isn't tripped.
__________________
Mike
2005 Kountry Star 3907, ISC330, Spartan chassis, M&G braking, Blue Ox Aventa XL
mikelm48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 04:58 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 3
The RV is new to us.
But with the control panel on, I can not find any 120 VAC on the inside of the RV. Only on the plug mounted to the inverter has 120 VAC. Because I have power on generator and shore power I know the GFI's are not tripped.


I cannot find anything the inverter is powering except the receptacle mounted to the power unit itself.
__________________
llbwrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 05:09 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Chesterfield, VA
Posts: 3
Thanks to all... Mikelm48 especially. It only is connected to the TV and one outlet mounted below the TV. (that I did not know even existed until a few moments ago.


Thank you help a newbie out....
llbwrb
__________________
llbwrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 06:22 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redding
Posts: 3,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by llbwrb View Post
Thanks to all... Mikelm48 especially. It only is connected to the TV and one outlet mounted below the TV. (that I did not know even existed until a few moments ago.


Thank you help a newbie out....
llbwrb
Thanks for posting the solution!
__________________

__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SquaLor on inverter rogelling Entegra Owner's Forum 2 08-04-2014 02:17 PM
Running Norcold refer off Inverter ?? Golfwannabee Class A Motorhome Discussions 11 07-28-2014 11:05 PM
No power to coach unless RV is running dvleemin Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 03-27-2014 08:33 PM
Freedom 458 Inverter Issue zzjea RV Systems & Appliances 4 10-21-2013 11:25 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.