Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2015, 08:16 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 12
Inverter panel indicates overload whether its turn off or on

I am getting an overload light blinking indicating overload whether the power is off or on - what could be the cause for that - any help would be greatly appreciated. We have a 1994 Holiday Rambler navigator that we are trying to get all the electrical to work properly. Thank you for your time.
__________________

__________________
Snowbird 583 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-08-2015, 08:56 AM   #2
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowbird 583 View Post
I am getting an overload light blinking indicating overload whether the power is off or on - what could be the cause for that - any help would be greatly appreciated. We have a 1994 Holiday Rambler navigator that we are trying to get all the electrical to work properly. Thank you for your time.
Snowbird 583
Can you post a pic of your "inverter panel"?
Someone with the same, (or a similar), "panel" is sure to reply.
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________

__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 09:15 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
CFXCH's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Wingham, ON, Canada
Posts: 125
Send a message via Skype™ to CFXCH
Most panel problems can be fixed by disconnecting the telephone connectors from the Invertor. Wait a minute and reconnect. This resets the panel and hopefully everything is good to go.
__________________
Wintering in the Fortuna Foothills of Yuma Arizona
2007 HR Scepter 42' PDQ
2006 Jeep Liberty Renegade ; M&G brake system
CFXCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 10:13 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 12
The telephone is not hook up to the invertor. Thanks for info. Will need to keep trying to figure out what is going on.
__________________
Snowbird 583 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 10:31 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
Not a telephone per se. A telephone-style cable that connects the remote display panel to the actual inverter, which is probably in the battery compartment or near by.

Please identify the make and model of the inverter and its remote display. here is usually a name right on the panel. That will help determine what an "Overload" indicator means and therefore what the cause may be. Might be as simple as low battery voltage, or as hard (expensive) as a failed circuit board in the inverter.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 12:17 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 12
The invertor is a Heart Interface Freedom series nothing else is listed - the panel showing the overload has no info as to what brand it might be.
__________________
Snowbird 583 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 01:34 PM   #7
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,281
"Snowbird 583".....To connect the panel to the inverter, many companies used a wiring that looks like your standard telephone connector....the one you plug into the back of your house telephone. On the Magnum inverters which became more popular years later, weird readings on their panel were resolved by unplugging this phone line momentarily and then reconnecting. I don't know enough about Heart inverters to know how they connected them.


Next question, does your inverter work? My neighbor had one that no one could diagnose, so they replaced it and it still didn't work. It kept showing an overload. He asked me to look at it. Just by luck, I checked the large buss bar type fuse and found that it had blown, but still had a small piece of the fuse that was connected. Once replaced, problem solved. The fuse looks something like this http://www.amazon.com/Blue-Sea-Syste...rds=mega+fuses and is about the size of a large bandaid. It's located on the large 12 volt (+) cable between the inverter and batteries.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 01:07 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 12
Thanks for info. We got the inverter working.
__________________
Snowbird 583 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 12:48 AM   #9
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,281
"Snowbird 583"....It would be nice to know what resolved the issue, to help others!
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 09:57 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 12
We had to buy 4 new batteries and redo some wiring on the inverter.
__________________

__________________
Snowbird 583 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cat, inverter, panel



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coachmen Mirada Water system Panel Waiter21 Forest River Owners Forum 40 06-12-2015 09:29 AM
Caution Regarding Touch Panel Repairs RW8804 Entegra Owner's Forum 4 10-28-2014 09:56 PM
Turn Signal Problem - 1999 Am Dream TwelveVolt RV Systems & Appliances 6 05-10-2014 01:53 PM
Bounder: Fuse panel location? rgreen45 Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 5 10-28-2013 06:37 AM
Useage of turn signals wagonmaster2 iRV2.com General Discussion 42 10-25-2013 12:31 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.