Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2013, 01:06 PM   #1
Member


 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bartlett, TN
Posts: 77
Inverter Question

OK. I feel stupid but I can't find anything in the paperwork to tell me if I have an inverter in my 2000 Allegro Bay. I've had it for a little over a year and didn't think about it until reading a recent post. I have no outlets that work without gen or shore power so if I have an inverter it's not working. What am I looking for to find it if it might be installed and not working? Sorry if it's a silly question. I guess the follow on is how expensive and hard is it to add one? Thanks in advance for the help.
__________________

__________________
memphisflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-28-2013, 01:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Cat320's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,964
Just because outlets don't work without shore power or the gen does not mean you don't have an inverter. I have a separate switch for my inverter so I can turn it on/off when I desire.

Call Tiffin with your VIN, they should be able to help.
__________________

__________________
2009 Amer Coach Allegiance 40X Riding On A Spartan Chassis
400 HP Cummins ISL
Pulling a 2014 Honda CRV
Cat320 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
greatlakes's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 554
On your control panel (where you check batt level) you may have a switch or push button there too.
__________________
Rob
2000 Monaco Windsor Cummins 330
greatlakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:52 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 134
Sometimes they mount a small inverter near or in the electronics bay just to power the TV and whatever other electroics are in your unit,
Good Luck,
David
__________________
David, Linda and the kids - Pebbles & Yogi
2011 Winnebago Journey 34Y, Jeep Liberty
W. TN
Yoda2405 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 03:51 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 10,404
call Tiffin and they can tel you if the coach left the factory with one and where the remote panel is located.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 350 ISC w/ Banks = 450Hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue & 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 toads
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 05:57 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 575
I suspect that you do not have an inverter in a 2000 Allegro Bay. Tiffin will be able to tell you for sure but in those days, it was mostly higher end that had them (e.g. for Tiffins, I don't think anything below Allegro Bus had them). I also don't know that Tiffin installed smaller inverters either, probably only inverter / chargers so if you have one, you'd see it somewhere close to your batteries (e.g. one storage compartment over).
__________________

__________________
michelb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.