Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2012, 02:05 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 11
Inverter Syandby Issue

cannot seem to get my inverter into standby on my 2001 Monaco Dynasty. I have set it right and the lights show correctly but even when it shows in standby mode I still get power. I noticed this on my last trip that when I was unhooked from shore power & gen off I still was getting power because I noticed lights on on my audio/visual equip overhead. Any help/advice would be appreciated...thanks
__________________

__________________
dfl138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-14-2012, 04:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Harry B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,019
In some inverters, standby does not mean off. It monitors the draw on the AC and if you have a device that is on and exceeds the standby power draw, it will stay on if it was already on, or it turns on if it was in standby mode. This is usual very little current that is needed to satisfy the standby draw.
__________________

__________________
Harry
2015 Tuscany 40 KQ
2013 Honda CR-V
Harry B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 04:38 PM   #3
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Yep, what Harry said.
The lights on your AV equipment are enough to bring the inverter out of standby
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 09:21 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
Standby means ready and waiting to go to work. Any demand for 120v power will bring it out of Standby and into active mode. If you don't want it on, you have to turn it off.

You didn't mention the make and model of inverter, so I have no suggestion as to how to do that.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 10:20 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
crah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 692
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfl138
cannot seem to get my inverter into standby on my 2001 Monaco Dynasty. I have set it right and the lights show correctly but even when it shows in standby mode I still get power. I noticed this on my last trip that when I was unhooked from shore power & gen off I still was getting power because I noticed lights on on my audio/visual equip overhead. Any help/advice would be appreciated...thanks
If your inverter/charger is a trace engineering model, there USA a "search sense" mode which others have pointed out automatically detects AC draw. You can get to that menu in your RG7GS remote panel. When in search sense mode, your RG7 remote panel inverter light will blink green slowly.

All above is for the trace Enginering inverter charger with rg7 remote panel which I am only assuming you have. Do you have your inverter manual?
__________________
Craig 2003 Holiday Rambler Scepter 36PST
RR8S 350 Cummins ISC with Banks
2011 Buick Enclave Towed with Readybrute
crah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 07:08 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 11
I will be going to the RV later today and will post the model of the inverter in hopes that I can turn it off so that it stops draining my batteries when not using the rv without having to turn the battery cutoff switches off. I had a thought that the fridge might be in auto mode would that cause it to draw? Thanks for all the responses!!
__________________
dfl138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 11:31 AM   #7
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfl138 View Post
I had a thought that the fridge might be in auto mode would that cause it to draw? Thanks for all the responses!!
Yes with a caveat that the receptacle your reefer is plugged into is powered via the inverter. If the reefer is powered by the inverter it will drain batteries pretty quickly........like a few hours.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 02:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 80
On my 99 Windsor the switch inside would not turn my inverter off. At a rally a tech went in the bay and reset the inverter and its worked since. He showed me how but I've since forgotten.
__________________
wd4kaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 07:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
What kind of inverter do you have?

On my Prosine "Standby" means "Turned on and activaged but passing power from shore or generator" thus the equipment would remain on...

Inverting means, No shore or generator power to pass.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 08:54 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by crah

If your inverter/charger is a trace engineering model, there USA a "search sense" mode which others have pointed out automatically detects AC draw. You can get to that menu in your RG7GS remote panel. When in search sense mode, your RG7 remote panel inverter light will blink green slowly.

All above is for the trace Enginering inverter charger with rg7 remote panel which I am only assuming you have. Do you have your inverter manual?
It is an RG7...the manual says u can take it out of stand by by pressing the on/off switch while it is plugged in. I did that last night and the light flashes for standby and goes off if pressed again. I did not want to unplug last night but will see what happens next time. I do not see how to turn the inverter just off.
__________________
dfl138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 09:26 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
crah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 692
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfl138

It is an RG7...the manual says u can take it out of stand by by pressing the on/off switch while it is plugged in. I did that last night and the light flashes for standby and goes off if pressed again. I did not want to unplug last night but will see what happens next time. I do not see how to turn the inverter just off.
To the best of my understanding, if the green light is off, it is off. If it is on solid, then the inverter is off. If it blinks slowly, then it's in search sense mode. This is for when it is not plugged in. If it is plugged in and your inverter is left on, it will go in bypass mode which I'm guessing is the flashing standbye. You need to test it unplugged from shore. Also I hear that the remote sometimes will not work on some functions without resetting the inverter. I'm not certain on that.
__________________
Craig 2003 Holiday Rambler Scepter 36PST
RR8S 350 Cummins ISC with Banks
2011 Buick Enclave Towed with Readybrute
crah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:23 AM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
Pressing the On/Off button on the RG7 remote cycles the inverter between "Off" (green light off) and Standby (green light blinking). Standby becomes "ON" (green light on steady) if there is no external power (generator or shore power) present.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:31 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
crah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 692
Gary is correct. I think I had a typo on my post.

If in search sense mode, the green light will also blink intermittently (when not on shore power).
__________________

__________________
Craig 2003 Holiday Rambler Scepter 36PST
RR8S 350 Cummins ISC with Banks
2011 Buick Enclave Towed with Readybrute
crah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.