Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2011, 04:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 23
Is it possible to convert a 30A coach to 50A?

I am most likely going to be picking up a 98 Discovery in the next week or two. One thing that I noticed about this coach is that it only has a 30A electrical system. I was wondering how hard would it be to convert it to 50A? I would assume that this would require a new Automatic Transfer Switch and another main line run from the ATS to the electrical panel, and then a rewire of the electrical panel, but what else would need to be done? I haven’t looked close at the gen (Onan 6.5 I believe) but it should already have two legs on it shouldn’t it? Has anyone done this conversion (30A to 50A)?
__________________

__________________
D-n-Tyke is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-06-2011, 05:16 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pueblo, Colorado
Posts: 6
50 Amp Upgrade

My advice is to leave it alone and reassess your need for your electrical demands. Messing with the system is costly and unlike a house your MH is a vehicle with its own quirks. Its relatively easy to change out the breaker box or simply put a bigger amp breaker in the existing one if the box is rated for 50 amps but do you really need it?

It would be easier to run a single additional 20 amp line from the outside hookup source to a permanent or semipermanent inside outlet. $30 and you're done without touching the MH's system components. Plus you have a spare power source if the main one goes down.

Best,
Wolf Wickham
__________________

__________________
wolfwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 05:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,513
I would not change electrical I had a 30amp winni found wire that ran back air put in a double pole double throw switch added a power cord then I could run both airs at Same time not just one
__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 06:05 PM   #4
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,600
There is at least one recent thread on this topic and a search will find it.

50 amp power cord
new transfer switch
#6 wire from xfer switch to the new panel

That's the big stuff.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 06:17 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
It can be converted, or adapted. If you have an automatic transfer switch, it is a bit more complicated and costly.

Talk to your local area RV dealers and get quotes to get the rear A/C up and running.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 07:27 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
To answer your question: Yes it is possible.

A better question: Is it practical? The answer is "perhaps"

Things that need to be changed.. NOTE: Some are options and may not be installed.. Some (highlighted) are "mandatory"

POWER CORD,
Power inlet
Auto-former
Auto (or manual) Transfer switch
Generator (May or may not need to change)
BREAKER BOX
energery management system
Surge suppressor/power line guard/monitor
And ALL THE WIRES connecting the above items.

The breakers and the wires from the breaker box to the loads you can likely re-use.

Of course if you do not have a generator. then you don't have an ATS, if you don't have the other lower case stuff. you don't worry about it either.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 08:29 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
mrschwarz's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 876
Send a message via Skype™ to mrschwarz
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
To answer your question: Yes it is possible.

A better question: Is it practical? The answer is "perhaps"

Things that need to be changed.. NOTE: Some are options and may not be installed.. Some (highlighted) are "mandatory"

POWER CORD,
Power inlet
Auto-former
Auto (or manual) Transfer switch
Generator (May or may not need to change)
BREAKER BOX
energery management system
Surge suppressor/power line guard/monitor
And ALL THE WIRES connecting the above items.

The breakers and the wires from the breaker box to the loads you can likely re-use.

Of course if you do not have a generator. then you don't have an ATS, if you don't have the other lower case stuff. you don't worry about it either.

I did it. I needed to replace the power cord, main breakers, wires from the transfer switch to the breaker panel. I reused everything else (transfer switch, breaker panel, etc.).


There was quite a bit of rewiring required. If you're not comfortable with 220 volts wiring, you should have someone else do it.

There are a number of threads about this. A search should get them for you.
__________________
Michael
2017 Allegro Bus 45OPP, Cummins ISL 450, Allison 3000
mrschwarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 09:48 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Tom-NC's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Carolina Campers
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Murphy, NC, USA
Posts: 1,061
HI,
My suggestion would be to leave well enough alone. If the RV came with 30 amps than leave it that way as I'm sure the RV manufacturer knows what they are doing.
I have a 2004 Winnebago and it has 30 amp which is sufficent to power everything in the RV including a heat pump. When I draw more than 30 amps then my inteligent panel cuts things off automatically.
Electrical systems are nothing to play with unless you know all there is to know about current, wire size and how the wires are run. Be careful!
__________________
2014 Winnebago Adventurer 35P,Ford F-53, V-10
2011 Ford Escape,2000 Roadmaster Tow Dolly
"Have a Great Day, Enjoy RVing."
Tom-NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2011, 10:07 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Wanabee FTer's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Golden Village Palms, CA
Posts: 1,988
Blog Entries: 12
D-N-Tyke,
I had the same concern as you and found a solution I am very happy with and cost about $100.00 plus a couple hours of my time. I added a 20 amp dual power adapter and am using it right now as we speak (or type)
I tapped into my unused 20 amp circuit and powered it with a 15 amp line.
It runs my second a/c unit or in winter it runs my rear electric heater on shore power or with generator.
Here is a link to the thread with details how I installed it.
__________________
John
'98 Gulf Stream Sunsport 325, 7.5L Banks Power Pack, Koni FSD's, Air Bags, ReadyBrute Elite,
2000 Honda Accord

Wanabee FTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 11:38 PM   #10
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
Fleetwood coaches of that era had a very sophisticated power management system. My pace Arrow will happily run both A/C's, all the lights, and even the microwave, all on 30 amps. The system sheds loads when you draw too much power, but it's automatic and not noticeable. Nothing ever stops, the a/c's keep the coach cool, and it never blows the campground's 30 amp breaker.
__________________

__________________
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coach Engine and Gen. travelgirl iRV2.com General Discussion 4 12-01-2010 06:59 PM
Monaco Coach Corporation Signs Non-Binding Letter of Intent With Navistar, Inc. DriVer RV Industry Press 0 03-26-2009 08:17 PM
50A Power and Amperage Workshop Excel Owner's Forum 16 01-17-2008 06:48 AM
Progressive HW50C with 50A Autoformer Robin_M Monaco Owner's Forum 4 11-20-2007 09:00 PM
50a Voltage Boosters Robin_M MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 09-11-2007 07:01 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.