Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2014, 12:40 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Bad Bolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 598
Is there a problem with transfer switch?

Ok, my coach is parked at my sister's place because I actually use it when I visit on the weekends. It also is great for other overnight family visitors.

I am using a 12v battery charger to keep the batteries topped when the furnace runs during the night. It's working very well, so far.

I did want to try 110v shore power but ran into a problem when I hooked up the dog bones to bring 50 amp down to 15.

I have one of those plug in voltage testers with the analog needle that indicates of there is sufficient voltage in any outlet plugged into.

I am getting great voltage from the extension cord from the shed. However, the plug in meter shows just shy of acceptable voltage when plugged into any of the coach outlets.

Any guess as to why I get good from the extension cable and not in the coach?
__________________

__________________
1999 HR Endeavor 37WDS
Handicapped Lift Equiped
Bad Bolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-30-2014, 02:46 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
mrt_1111's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 965
I would check the voltage coming out of the dog bone, assuming of course there is nothing running that would bring the voltage down. How long and what guage is the extension cord? What is running in the rv? Do you have a way to check how many amps (kill-a-watt meter) are being used? On a side note can you post a picture of you handicap lift, I am thinking out install one.
__________________

__________________
Mark
1999 Bounder 32H Ford V10, 2012 Ford Focus, Pretty DW, 1 cat. Retired USAF
mrt_1111 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2014, 08:17 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Bad Bolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 598
I am going to check that with my voltmeter this weekend. I may also pop the cover on the transfer switch and see if there's a way to test output voltage from that.

Lift pictures:





__________________
1999 HR Endeavor 37WDS
Handicapped Lift Equiped
Bad Bolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2014, 09:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
ChasA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 1,857
The problem is caused by using an extension cord that is too small and/or too long.
__________________
2010 Winnebago Journey Express 34Y
2010 Freightliner XCS (mfd 9/'09)
'07 Saturn Vue V6
ChasA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2014, 05:58 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,066
You can also check voltage at the load center (breaker box). It's only a short wire away from the shore cord and should have the same voltage.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2014, 06:24 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Did you remember to reduce the voltage setting on your converter/inverter to the 15 amp setting? That will reduce the draw by the converter to a lesser amount for keeping the batteries fully charged. That may be chewing up a large portion of your voltage with nothing leftover for the coach.

Remember that you will be limited to what you can power up with only 15 amps available.

When troubleshooting voltage or amperage you should always start at the power source and work towards the coach checking each item that is in line with the power supply.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________

__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
transfer switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help on selecting a transfer switch azsr Monaco Owner's Forum 5 10-30-2014 01:03 PM
Generator Transfer Switch? jb60 Class A Motorhome Discussions 36 10-28-2014 11:23 AM
Transfer Switch Issue Chad K Entegra Owner's Forum 17 04-30-2014 08:44 AM
IOTA transfer switch Dupdyke Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 02-02-2014 08:41 PM
Inverter transfer switch jimbo2013 RV Systems & Appliances 14 01-02-2014 08:16 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.