Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 03-11-2013, 11:00 AM   #1
Is this a good first time buy

Thanks for all the previous help steering me between "dealer or manufacturer"- now I am ready to actually make an offer and would appreciate any advice out there as I am a newbie:
We are looking at a 2013 Newmar Bay Star 3310 Sport (bunkhouse model) brand new that has been sitting on the dealer's lot for awhile. They tell us they are 'motivated' and are asking $99,999 on a MRSP of $126,000 approx. We would be paying cash to them ( no trade in, no financing). I have spent many hours looking at ones on the net for sale ( not sure how to allow for the fact a lot are in the USA and I am in Alberta, Canada) and it seems this is a good price. I don't want to haggle the dealer too much as it is their reputation and service that is clinching the deal, and I will be using their expertise quite a bit (they have even offerred to give my wife and I a few driving lessons on this 33.10 foot rig). I have read that if its a clean deal to the dealer that there is more room to barter, but I wonder if their price is already reduced, I have also read that if they won't budge on price then a good counter is to ask for additional warranty ( this one has the standard 1 year warranty). Any and all comments appreciated as I move to close.

Tisha is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!