Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2014, 07:40 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
vettenuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,583
Issue Plugging in at Home - GFCI

I installed a new 120v, 20 amp circuit to the outside front of my house in order to keep some minimal power on the coach and keep the batteries charged. I have one plug in the basement and one outside, with the basement plug being a GFCI. The coach also has the power protection module that verifies the incoming electrical is OK prior to switching over to the coach. This new circuit goes to the front of the house. I have a similar separate circuit that goes to the rear of the house (patio). This is where the coach was plugged in until I ran this new front of the house circuit and I had no issues when the coach was plugged into the patio power circuit.

The GFCI keeps tripping on the new front circuit. I think I may have gotten a bad GFCI from Home Depot since the GFCI never tripped on the patio circuit for the couple of weeks that it was plugged in with a long extension cord.
__________________

__________________
vettenuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-20-2014, 08:03 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Cobra1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: North Maryland
Posts: 464
Could be bad but also check your wiring. It is rather easy to wire a GF plug incorrectly and it will always trip.
__________________

__________________
Getting there is half the fun - take your time and enjoy the scenery.
2012 Thor Outlaw
2000 Heritage Softail
Cobra1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 08:50 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Melmoses's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 1,196
When I did the same thing I found out that I couldn't have a GFCI in the circuit at all to the rig. It continued to break the circuit even after I bought a new GFCI until I took the GFCI out of the loop completely as a friend advised me to do. After that I have had no issues. Power protection at the coach end keeps it safe.
__________________
Mel (Melanie) and Harry
2009 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH
2014 Jeep Wrangler Sport
Melmoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 10:34 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
SarahW's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: In a lawnchair
Posts: 11,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Melmoses View Post
When I did the same thing I found out that I couldn't have a GFCI in the circuit at all to the rig. It continued to break the circuit even after I bought a new GFCI until I took the GFCI out of the loop completely as a friend advised me to do. After that I have had no issues. Power protection at the coach end keeps it safe.
^^ This. We have the same result with a GFCI outlet.
__________________
.2012 Fleetwood Bounder 33C | 2012 Jeep Wrangler

SarahW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 11:29 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
The OP felt like they did not have a problem with their coach since they had it plugged into a GFCI circuit at the back of the house and it worked. If they are correct then they need to look at how the wiring is ran. Did they tap into another circuit to run power to the GFI. The basic explanation of a GFI outlet is it monitors the current coming in on the black wire versus the current going out of the white wire. If they do not match the GFI stops all current going out of the outlet. This includes current down stream of the GFI by down stream I mean where you daisy chain wiring from the GFI outlet to another outlet. This might be where the OP might have trouble. If he has a black wire going from the GFI outlet and just hooking up to a white wire not going through the GFI it is going to cause the GFI to trip. The first thing the OP needs to do is take a lamp or drill or anything that uses 115 volt ac and plug into the GFI at the front of the house and make sure that is working. If the OP uses an extension cord to run power to the camper then the OP needs to plug the lamp into the GFI outlet then needs to take the lamp (if it works correctly in the GFI outlet) and plug it into the extension cord. If a lamp or something works correctly at the end of the extension cord and does not trip the GFI outlet then the problem is at the coach. The OP at that point should try hooking back up at the back of the house to see if that still works.
__________________
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 06:35 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 98
Gfci's don't like reverse polarity.
__________________
phnguyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 07:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
vettenuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,583
Verified the wiring is correct. I picked up another GFCI outlet today and (knock on wood) it has not tripped since installation. I am going to give it a few days and if it doesn't trip I plan to return the first outlet back to Home Depot and tell them it is defective.
__________________
vettenuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 07:28 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
rdrv831's Avatar


 
Forest River Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Lincoln, CA
Posts: 153
May I ask why you didn't install the 30 amp or 50 amp circuit that your coach would normally use?
__________________
Ray and Maria
Lincoln CA
Our iRV2 Gallery & Family Photo's link
rdrv831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 07:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
vettenuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdrv831 View Post
May I ask why you didn't install the 30 amp or 50 amp circuit that your coach would normally use?
I would have had to set up a new service. My house service is only 100 amp and the box is full. I only need to keep up the batteries and maybe use some minor 120v things. If I need full electrical power, I will start the generator which needs to be occasionally exercised anyhow.
__________________
vettenuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 07:48 PM   #10
srh
Senior Member
 
srh's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,116
Not to depart from OP's original questions, but somewhat related, residential refrigerators do not like GFI plugs either. I found that out the hard way!
__________________
srh
2008 Signature
srh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 10:33 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,493
Check your ac load center for shared and not isolated grounds.

White returns attach to one buss and bare grounds on another one.

Often some folks cheat and wire funny returns and grounds.

Check with ohm meter as ground should not be connected to white
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 10:57 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by srh View Post
Not to depart from OP's original questions, but somewhat related, residential refrigerators do not like GFI plugs either. I found that out the hard way!
I am not sure what experience you had but could it have been to a specific brand of refrigerator. My MH had a residential refrigerator in it when I bought it. It is plugged into a GFI receptacle and has been for the two years I have owned it. We are not full timers but out of the last two years we have lived in our Mh 7 months camped out a lot of weeks and weekends. In between we plug the coach into power at home. I have never had a problem with my refrigerator being plugged into the GFI receptacle.
__________________
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 10:58 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by vettenuts View Post
Verified the wiring is correct. I picked up another GFCI outlet today and (knock on wood) it has not tripped since installation. I am going to give it a few days and if it doesn't trip I plan to return the first outlet back to Home Depot and tell them it is defective.
congratulations that you found your problem and it an easy inexpensive fix.
__________________
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 07:27 AM   #14
srh
Senior Member
 
srh's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemini5362 View Post
I am not sure what experience you had but could it have been to a specific brand of refrigerator. My MH had a residential refrigerator in it when I bought it. It is plugged into a GFI receptacle and has been for the two years I have owned it. We are not full timers but out of the last two years we have lived in our Mh 7 months camped out a lot of weeks and weekends. In between we plug the coach into power at home. I have never had a problem with my refrigerator being plugged into the GFI receptacle.
You are obviously correct that it may not apply to all makes. I had a Maytag, late 1990's vintage in my house. Took it out and replaced it. I moved it in my garage temporarily. It tripped off every outlet with GFI protection.

Thanks for the clarification!
__________________

__________________
srh
2008 Signature
srh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5,000 sf RV Garage Florida Home Lake Weir Preserve Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 11 01-16-2015 08:52 PM
GFCI humming with inverter kjackson RV Systems & Appliances 2 06-15-2014 10:26 PM
Odd LP leak issue dvleemin Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 04-22-2014 01:40 PM
DSI Fault and GFCI circuit tripping Boblevy Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 03-04-2014 09:55 AM
GFCI circuit help safari1 RV Systems & Appliances 11 02-02-2014 10:28 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.