Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2012, 06:41 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
abrasv's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mo
Posts: 256
Ist trip in a DP

Leaving Friday from Missouri to South Carolina in a DP. As hot as it is I plan on running the genset so I can have at least the front house air running and maybe even the back one.
My question is about the fridge. Can I run it off the genset at the same time also. It is a Norcold that has controls showing: ac,aux, or lp. I'm assuming (we know what that means) that I simply put it on aux. and go.
Is this correct or am I missing something here?

Jim
__________________

__________________
Jim and Carol
2005 Monaco Windsor
2010 RAM 1500 Quad Cab 4x4
abrasv is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-02-2012, 06:51 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
I think there should be no problem running your genset all the way there and back to power both AC units. There should also be plenty of power to run the fridge on AC but I'm not familiar with the "aux" setting so I'll let others help you on that one.

Travel safely.

Rick
__________________

__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 06:58 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,396
I think the aux is actually just au and stands for auto. When on auto the frig will select AC when available and rollover to LP when it isn't. Don't worry, you have plenty of headroom to run both ACs and the frig.
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 07:07 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,452
On our Norcold we have three settings: Off, Gas and Automatic. On Automatic it will sense what is available and use the correct one. When plugged in it's running on the shore power. No shore power it switches over to gas (which still requires 12V for the electronics).
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 09:52 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
daveshan's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Durango CO
Posts: 580
You should have plenty of power. However I've found that my 'frige stays quite a bit colder on hot days when I run it on propane.
__________________
The above post is just my experience/opinion which is worth exactly what you paid for it.

'05 Lance 845/'06 F-250 or '99 Alpine 36SDS Usually towing an '01 Wrangler locked on 35"s or moderate '98 Cherokee on 33"s (rear locker only)
daveshan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Davdeb1's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Avon Lake, Oh
Posts: 2,884
I know that you can't make ice without the unit having 120ac. I just figured, if it's making ice, it's got to e colder.
__________________
2000 HOLIDAY RAMBLER ENDEAVOR
40 FT--330HP CAT
2 SLIDES-TOAD 2012 focus
Fulltime-Home is where we park it.
Davdeb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:39 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davdeb1 View Post
I know that you can't make ice without the unit having 120ac. I just figured, if it's making ice, it's got to e colder.
Why can't you make ice without 120 a/c?

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:44 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
daveshan's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Durango CO
Posts: 580
Most likely the icemaker's motor and fill solenoid are 120v.
__________________
The above post is just my experience/opinion which is worth exactly what you paid for it.

'05 Lance 845/'06 F-250 or '99 Alpine 36SDS Usually towing an '01 Wrangler locked on 35"s or moderate '98 Cherokee on 33"s (rear locker only)
daveshan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Davdeb1's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Avon Lake, Oh
Posts: 2,884
It's my understanding, that the Norcold or any other two way refrigerator won't make ice on lp. Everything I have read supports this? Am I wrong? I'm not by any means an expert on these matters.

When I. Bought my RV, the dealer told me it would only make ice on. Shore power or Genny power. I did some research, and it supported what they told me.
__________________
2000 HOLIDAY RAMBLER ENDEAVOR
40 FT--330HP CAT
2 SLIDES-TOAD 2012 focus
Fulltime-Home is where we park it.
Davdeb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:48 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
daveshan's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Durango CO
Posts: 580
Yep but not because it's colder on AC but because the fill solenoid and motor that ejects the ice works on 120v
__________________
The above post is just my experience/opinion which is worth exactly what you paid for it.

'05 Lance 845/'06 F-250 or '99 Alpine 36SDS Usually towing an '01 Wrangler locked on 35"s or moderate '98 Cherokee on 33"s (rear locker only)
daveshan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 10:49 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Davdeb1's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Avon Lake, Oh
Posts: 2,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveshan
Yep but not because it's colder on AC but because the fill solenoid and motor that ejects the ice works on 120v
I realize that, but with ice in the hopper, it just seems colder, LOL
__________________
2000 HOLIDAY RAMBLER ENDEAVOR
40 FT--330HP CAT
2 SLIDES-TOAD 2012 focus
Fulltime-Home is where we park it.
Davdeb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 11:29 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
mrschwarz's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 876
Send a message via Skype™ to mrschwarz
Actually, when I run the inverter for 120V and run the fridge on propane, I get ice. It only matters if there is 120V available. It doesn't matter what the refrigerator is running on.
__________________
Michael
2017 Allegro Bus 45OPP, Cummins ISL 450, Allison 3000
mrschwarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012, 11:32 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
kat_nda_sand's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Menifee, CA
Posts: 813
Ahhh... I was gonna say, why wouldn't it be cold enough to make ice! lol I made ice in my freezer while boondocking, just fine over the weekend. Of course it was in an ice tray in the freezer as our ice maker isn't working.
__________________
Never criticize a person until you've walked a mile in their shoes... then you're a mile away & you've got their shoes!
Katina, Dave & kiddos ~ '97 Thor Residency 35'
kat_nda_sand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2012, 10:05 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Western New York
Posts: 515
Oh so tough it is "camping" when the converstion turns to ice or no ice from the automatic on board ice makers.
__________________

__________________
vincee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.