Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2013, 09:19 PM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 24
Keyless entry

Has anyone put a Keyless entry (combination keypad) on there class A motor home?

mlafarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-09-2013, 10:13 PM   #2
Senior Member
Ray,IN's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 12,300
Nope, mine came with a key fob remote door unlock/lock.

2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert theConstitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
B Bob's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,140
Yes. We have one. Use it all the time. Sometimes my wife's fingers are too cold to activate it, but works for me every time.
B Bob
Country Coach 42' Affinity
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
B Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 09:25 AM   #4
Senior Member
PyrateSilly's Avatar
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,200
One that I know of deactivated the keyless to the point that it will never work again, on purpose. It would never work right so he just tore it up to stop it from stopping him entering his RV.
Thom and Christine having fun in a 1993 Monaco Crown Royale Signature Series 40ft 300hp RV. Towing a Fiat 500 Abarth and a Harley.
Our blogged repairs and travels
PyrateSilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 10:45 AM   #5
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 24
Keyless entry

I will rephrase the question, Has anyone installed a Combination Lock, and where did you get the parts and how did you do it on a class A. My door has a dead bolt like a house, but the inside of the door won't allow me to use one of the combination locks from a house with the oversize piece on the inside. thanks Mike
mlafarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 10:52 PM   #6
Senior Member
gemini5362's Avatar
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,074
I know the combination lock you are talking about for the house. I have one on my house. I was going to put one on my class A but is a totally different type of locking mechanism. I have debated but have not decided yet to use a electromagnet door lock and then a key pad on it. They use them as security locks on places like the post office. You can get the magnet that uses 12 volts and very minimal current draw. Looks like it would be easy to mount. With the amount of holding force they have you will not get it open. I would like to mount that on all of my bays but cost is going to be a factor there. I am doing some other upgrades first but you might want to consider this.

There is a company that makes the upgrade for Travel trailers. or fifth wheels. The unit replaces the door latch and has keypad and a keyfob. I talked to them on the phone and they were considering making a unit for MH but had not done that yet

gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.