Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2015, 10:41 AM   #1
Member
 
quickiwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CENTRAL CA.
Posts: 43
Unhappy Kisae Inverter

Need some advice on this Kisae inverter MW1500 as it has been acting up. It gives me an error code which means input voltage is low and then it shutsdown. Checked the batteries and they are all charged in good condition. Also went to Interstate battery to have them tested and they verified everything was good with them.
Also the extension gets very warm when plugged into the inverter but does not get warm when plugged directly into wall outlet and the generator running. I'm thinking of throwing this inverter out and getting
a new one but not a Kisae.
Thank you ahead of time
__________________

__________________
quickiwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-24-2015, 12:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,874
What size and length battery cables are you using?

Too small, will give you low input voltage.

They recommend 1/0 gauge, up to 5 feet. They are not clear if that's one way or there and back.

The extension cord could be getting hot, under load, due to it being a MSW inverter. Are you running a high amp motor?
__________________

__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 05:33 PM   #3
Member
 
quickiwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CENTRAL CA.
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
What size and length battery cables are you using?

Too small, will give you low input voltage.

They recommend 1/0 gauge, up to 5 feet. They are not clear if that's one way or there and back.

The extension cord could be getting hot, under load, due to it being a MSW inverter. Are you running a high amp motor?
I've had this inverter for a year now and never had a problem till recently . The cables were the ones Don Rowes recommended for this inverter but not sure what size it is . BTW forgot to mention that the inverter works fine going down the road it doesn't give any codes . The only thing the inverter runs is the 2 tvs and 2 receivers plus charges up cell phones
__________________
quickiwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 05:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,874
Try unplugging each item, one at a time to eliminate bad components.

If it works with the engine running, re-check the batt. cables. Could be losing voltage, somewhere.

Then again, It could be shot.
__________________
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 07:59 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 573
Check your cable connections. It sounds like either your cables are undersized or a bad \corroded connection most likely at the batteries. Also what is the condition of your batteries? Have you run a hydrometer check on them? Measure the voltage at the battery and at the inverter while under load. The two readings should be within a few hundred millivolts of each other.
__________________
2014 Southwind 32VS
2013 Nissan Xterra PRO-4X\2013 Honda CRV AWD
2015 Polaris RZR XP 1000\2014 KTM 350EXC
PbdBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 08:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ChasA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 1,857
X2 what PbdBlue said.
__________________

__________________
2010 Winnebago Journey Express 34Y
2010 Freightliner XCS (mfd 9/'09)
'07 Saturn Vue V6
ChasA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter power to newly installed residential refrigerator Golfwannabee RV Systems & Appliances 43 05-23-2015 08:24 PM
KISAE Abso 1000 Inverter PbdBlue RV Systems & Appliances 3 03-15-2015 11:26 AM
Need help troubleshooting inverter issues caheath National RV Owner's Forum 16 11-27-2014 01:39 PM
Inverter Wiring Question DaleM RV Systems & Appliances 9 08-24-2014 08:52 PM
Full Time TV on Inverter max49 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 18 12-23-2013 09:37 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.