Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2011, 06:01 PM   #29
Senior Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Blairsville,GA
Posts: 257
Originally Posted by ChrisNiemann View Post
so who wants to take a crack at it now... got my VOM and all outlets, plugs, wires, GFI Outlets all say 122.9 volts. My ground tester shows that all outlets from the garage "shore" to the inside of the RV have a proper grounded system and that no wires are backwards anywhere...

so again, why am i losing so much power when i turn on the microwave that it won't even heat up and the display lights won't show either while its running. I just don't get why its doing it this year and never done it before... again, any and all suggestions are and will be taken seriously and tested ASAP...

Thanks Again in Advance Everyone!

When you got this voltage, was the heater or the microwave running? If not check it while one or the other is running, sounds like a severe voltage drop problem.

Hillbilly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-14-2011, 06:16 PM   #30
Senior Member
Dave78Chief's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,504
In post 22 you said:

4.) when i checked my ext cord and ends, i noticed at the end of my ext cord where it plugs into a regular 15amp outlet, the plastic around the straight prongs was a bit "melted" looking and one of the prongs looked as if it had gotten hot at one time as compared to the other, i don't remember it being like that before we plugged it in... I'll know more tomorrow when we get the meter.
You said 15 amp and straight prongs was a bit "melted". That sounds like the connection is breaking down when higher current is requested. 15 amp source is real small and that maybe the source of all your issues. Overloading the circuit and it is letting you know that at the weakest point in the system.
Just because you have a 30 amp fuse on a 15 amp recepticle does not mean you will have 30 amps avaialble at the recepticle.


Dave in Virginia
1978 Winnebago Chieftain
Dodge M400 - 440-3
Classic Winnebago Site: http://www.classicwinnebagos.com/forum/index.php
Dave78Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 07:38 PM   #31
Senior Member
ChrisNiemann's Avatar
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 235
ya'll know to much! lol i leave for a couple days and i got too much to look into now LOL

i'll try the "run the microwave and wiggle connections" tomorrow afternoon if the wife is home.

the prongs on the microwave are not scored or marked up at all, and the microwave is brand new and the lowest watts available at walmart 900 watts.

all the other wires are connected firmly and checked out good.

how do i go about finding "amps" at each outlet? to make sure i'm getting the right amps to the outlets, can i do this with a VOM?

being 27 sucks, wish i had everyone elses knowledge from age and experience downloadable to my brain today... lol

Thanks Again Everyone!
"Now why would you want to do something like that?" - My Dad
ChrisNiemann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 08:38 PM   #32
Registered User

Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
What you need to do is put your VOM leads in an outlet while you are drawing power from it.

First check with nothing turned on, you said you got 122 volts? ok good.

Now fire up all the lights, furnace, microwave, radio and tv, the works.
And check voltage with your meter again.

I used to adapt down to a 15 amp adapter to plug my rig in at home. The adapters ran hot, and voltage in the rig was 108.
Lots of things didn't run too well.
After melting 2 15 to 30 amp adapters, I bought a 30 amp receptacle at menards for $4 and put the in so I could plug a 30 amp extension cord straight in. Now I got 114 volts inside the rig with the battery charger, fridge, lights, and a few others things running. It's all much happier.
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 10:52 PM   #33
Senior Member
GMRHost's Avatar
Vintage RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Jasper, Missouri
Posts: 339
These have been mentioned in several posts here on iRV2, but they are worth repeating; The Kill-a-Watt 4460 is a very easy-to-use solution for keeping tabs on your electrical issues. The homepage tells of how it can help you determine costs of operating appliances, but it also gives voltage readouts, amp draw for running appliances, and a number of other features that are valuable for us out on the road, both when changing from CG to CG and when you're wondering if your generator is doing its job right. I keep one in each of my 3 units and have a couple in the SB as well.
Tom - Retired OTR 20 years 2 million mile club - 1984 Diamond Maxi
I love everybody! Even some above ground!
GMRHost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 11:45 PM   #34
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 336
Think about it you said you redid the wiring when you replaced the floor. That's where I'd check first. Especially if it started right after you replaced the floor.

jimbo16720 is offline   Reply With Quote


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Source: Inverter? Battery? Shore? Genset? Always-RVing iRV2.com General Discussion 13 09-01-2011 06:12 AM
Chasis Battery Dead While Connected to Shore Power adlerx Monaco Owner's Forum 7 03-05-2011 07:54 PM
No 12v unless on shore power Romer1 MH-General Discussions & Problems 24 07-21-2010 10:37 AM
Chassis battery charged by shore power? georgetown350 MH-General Discussions & Problems 18 03-26-2008 09:44 AM
How To Keep Engine Battery Charged While on Shore Power FLYTYER Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 15 06-18-2006 05:09 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.