Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 02-08-2014, 04:21 PM   #1

Winnebago Owners Club
Let the journey begin

OK , here goes.
MH Newbie here. I've camped all my life. tents to popup to Travel Trailer to Class C (rentals). We've decided to bite the bullet NOW and get a DP to use for the next 4 or 5 years, before we semi retire and fulltime it. At that point we 'think" we'd prefer a 40footer. Our goal/dream is to hike all the national parks.
For now we're thinking in the 36' range. from all the wonderful information here and talks with friends, a Tiffin or Winnie/Itasca is where we want to head.
The unfortunate part is that our budget is limiting us to a 2001-2003. looks like some good deals can be had... 75K miles and less. for $45K to $50K.
so the questions begin..
-what are some of things i need to look for on something that age? is this the age (10+ years) that the heater / AC / fridge etc etc all begin to die?
i know i have to pay close attention to the maint logs (presuming they are kept)
the Cat/Cummins , should be fine if maintained, brakes, etc. but what else?

-we live in NH. not much for sale here in winter.. everyone we see for sale is in AZ, TX, FL, etc.. so it means air fare out and hopefully drive it back.
How do i find a decent RV inspector that i can trust?

-we hope to put miles on it for 2 to 3 weeks vaca a year plus as many weekends as we can. NE offers so much for short trips.