Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2014, 03:28 PM   #127
Senior Member
 
G Shaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 146
Stick framed, stucco exterior. 40 x 60 with twin 14 ft high doors. Have to be careful backing in because the openings are 12 ft wide-should have done 14 ft -maybe next one. Interior height 16 ft- not a lot of room to be on top of the coach inside the building-lol.
Coach sits on one side and takes up about 1/3 the space, rest is used for trailer, tractor, pickup, lawn mowers etc. Harley sits in the house garage along with wood working and mechanical/welding tools.
Can never make them big enough.
__________________

__________________
G Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-02-2014, 03:46 PM   #128
Senior Member
 
G Shaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 146
Forgot the pic again dahhhhh
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	23.jpg
Views:	581
Size:	122.1 KB
ID:	55234  
__________________

__________________
G Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 10:18 AM   #129
Senior Member
 
Dennis_K's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 998
The RV garage is 18 X 43 inside and is typical for this area. Wish I would have used a 14' door instead of the 13'. New MH is 12' 10" tall
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5127.JPG
Views:	411
Size:	26.2 KB
ID:	55493  
__________________
2012 Monaco Knight 36 PFT
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
2005 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited on 2007 16' Car Hauler trailer
Dennis_K is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 11:20 AM   #130
Senior Member
 
DennisZ's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Pipe Creek, TX
Posts: 516
Just starting my new "RV Barn" it will be 30 X 50 with a 14 x 14 door and a 10 x 10 door in the end, Should be complete in about a month, the slab just got poured on Tuesday. The new house will be in Pipe Creek, Texas.

Dennis
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	678
Size:	706.5 KB
ID:	55495  
__________________
Dennis & Debbie Z (Retired) F415847
Pipe Creek, TX
2008 HR Endeavor 40PDQ / 2014 Grand Cherokee Toad
DennisZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 01:26 PM   #131
Senior Member
 
CaptBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Indian River, De
Posts: 720
Congrats to you guys who have decided to build a barn. I love mine, and wish I had not waited (until 2010) to do it. We've lived here since 1996, and that's waay too long to do without.

Mine (pic near the beginning of this thread) is 36x48x16 ceiling. I went with 2 OHD's; one front, and one rear, for pull-thru. Front door is 14"x18' W, the rear is 14'Hx16'W.

Regarding A/C condensate drain; I slide a 5 gal bucket under mine, My basement A/C has a drain hose coming out under the rear of the unit. It's never overflowed before me emptying it, but I have thought of installing a hose fitting near the bottom of the bucket, and running a drain hose outside.

Wish I had a floor drain, but the permitting process would have become much more involved, as we are on septic, and it is waterfront property. They get all knarly about stuff like that.
__________________
CaptBill
USAF 1965-1971; USCG Master
2002 Horizon 36LD - 2000 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4
Indian River, De
CaptBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 04:39 PM   #132
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 172
Do any of you gentleman know of the top of your head, what's the longest span you can run without having to put supports out in your floor. One your garages is 30X50 do you have any supports in the middle of your for to support your roof. It would be nice to have a wide open floor space. Does it Matter from state to state, county to County for your floor plans .
Donald'Dr.Don'Watkins
Master Sergeant USAF Ret
__________________
donwat91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 04:55 PM   #133
Senior Member
 
CaptBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Indian River, De
Posts: 720
A friend up the street from me has just finalized his plans for a 40x42, and he asked his truss company that same question. I don't remember the exact answer, but I think the truss company told him they have built trusses for more than 65' clear span. He will not have no obstructions on his building, and I have none on my 36x48.

BTW, he will have an "attic storage" space, and his roof pitch, which HOA required to match his house, if only 5/12 pitch.
__________________
CaptBill
USAF 1965-1971; USCG Master
2002 Horizon 36LD - 2000 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4
Indian River, De
CaptBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 05:56 PM   #134
Senior Member
 
jdwky's Avatar
 
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Bluegrass State
Posts: 507
Quote:
Originally Posted by DennisZ View Post
Just starting my new "RV Barn" it will be 30 X 50 with a 14 x 14 door and a 10 x 10 door in the end, Should be complete in about a month, the slab just got poured on Tuesday. The new house will be in Pipe Creek, Texas.

Dennis
Nice looking slab! Looks like you had to move a lot of earth. I can't wait to get mine started. I'm having to wade through mounds of beaurocratic agencies due to this being a "metro" area and it's commercial property I'm building on.
I gotta have approval/permits from:
  • Metro building permit
  • Metro Sewer District
  • State capitol water department, due to being in "flood plain"
  • Public Works (who manage bus stops, etc)
  • Landscaping plan, Metro Planning/Design (its a pole barn hidden behind a commercial building on a gravel lot people!)
  • Local fire dept.
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 5
2013 JKU toad
jdwky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 06:29 PM   #135
Registered User
 
KSCRUDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Land Of Oz RVM17
Posts: 1,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by donwat91 View Post
Do any of you gentleman know of the top of your head, what's the longest span you can run without having to put supports out in your floor. One your garages is 30X50 do you have any supports in the middle of your for to support your roof. It would be nice to have a wide open floor space. Does it Matter from state to state, county to County for your floor plans .
Donald'Dr.Don'Watkins
Master Sergeant USAF Ret
Ours is 80 X 80 free span. It is all wood trusses. The rafters are double two by twelves on 8 foot centers. The builder tells me they can go 100 feet wide easy with wood construction. And as Long as you want. Doors are 16 wide by 14 high with a 12 X 12 on the patio side. Side walls are 17 high with a 16 high celling. The roof with lean to is 96 feet wide.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	1106
Size:	233.5 KB
ID:	55554  
__________________
KSCRUDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 08:40 PM   #136
Community Administrator
 
JohnRR's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Marquette, Michigan "Da UP"
Posts: 16,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by donwat91 View Post
Do any of you gentleman know of the top of your head, what's the longest span you can run without having to put supports out in your floor. One your garages is 30X50 do you have any supports in the middle of your for to support your roof. It would be nice to have a wide open floor space. Does it Matter from state to state, county to County for your floor plans .
Donald'Dr.Don'Watkins
Master Sergeant USAF Ret
I would imagine location would have a everything to do with it, mine is the size your talking about (30X50) with a totally clear span. I'd have to dig into the records before I would say what the roof snow load is but it's a lot up here and mine was made to their heaviest requirement.
__________________
John & Cathy R.
06 Pace Arrow 38L W24
08 Lincoln MKX AWD
See My RV Upgrades
JohnRR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 08:58 PM   #137
Senior Member
 
Pigman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,840
Snow loading will drive absolute largest span, however, once the building code for snow loading is satisfied, there is little to limit free span. As KSKRUDE said, he's at 80 feet and his trusses are on 8' centers. Dropping this to closer spacing will allow you to go even greater spans. An engineering problem easily settled by any truss manufacturer. Our farm building is 42x96 but was only limited by how much I wanted to spend.
__________________
Pigman
2013 Tiffin Allegro Bus 43QGP
2011 Chevy Silverado 1500 Toad
Pigman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2014, 10:31 PM   #138
Senior Member
 
Bad Bolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 588
Mine is kind of hard to see, as I'm parked right on top of it...

__________________
1999 HR Endeavor 37WDS
Handicapped Lift Equiped
Bad Bolt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 06:26 AM   #139
Member
 
brandonklink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: WV
Posts: 84
You don't need posts if you build a pole or steel strand building. The trusses age free standing. Mine is 40x60x16. And I live in wv snow load is not a problem as long as you use the correct trusses.
__________________
brandonklink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 06:54 AM   #140
Member
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 65
There are some really nice garages that everyone has posted. We just purchased our first MH and want to cover ours also. We have what I think is a pretty difficult spot to put ours, but I think I can work in a 16 x 40 next to our driveway. I might be able to get a couple more feet of width, but it would require a lot more digging. How many of you have 16' wide garages? Is that wide enough, or do you really wish you had gone with an 18'?
__________________

__________________
2003 National Dolphin 6355 LX w/ W22 chassis; Allison 1000. Master Tow Dolly (for now)
Glen and Sal is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
Other_Scott
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.