Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2015, 06:10 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 37
Loss of 120 volts at receptacles

1994 american eagle
no voltage to all receptacles except for one. reset all the breakers. is connected to on shore power. is there another fuse or breaker other than the panel under the bed? I discovered the problem when the outside freezer-fridge stopped cooling.
__________________

__________________
jvojtanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-23-2015, 06:31 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,518
Have you tried turning on and off breaker at pole maybe 1 leg has no power.
__________________

__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 06:37 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 37
I will check it out. Both ac are working. tried to reset the gfci but won't reset
__________________
jvojtanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 06:47 AM   #4
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,804
If your fridge outlet is off the GFI may have defective heating element place fridge on LP gas and disconnect the heating element cord to its outlet and see if you now have power to other outlets after resetting the GFI..
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 07:21 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 37
Sorry 007
I mislead you about the outside fridge-freezer. It's a cooler that u can use as a freezer.all electric.
__________________
jvojtanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 07:58 AM   #6
Member
 
dwhee's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 55
We had the same thing happen a while back. Our problem was a bad 120 receptacle in the lower bay. It had corroded and since it was on the same circuit as the GFCI it would not reset.
__________________
Dan & Kathy

2006 Monaco Knight 40DFD
dwhee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 08:03 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 37
I just looked at the GFCI and took it out. had some rust on one of terminals and is just a mess. Hope this is the problem. Wonder if something tripped it down stream. We will see. Off to the hardware later today.
__________________
jvojtanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 08:37 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvojtanic View Post
I just looked at the GFCI and took it out. had some rust on one of terminals and is just a mess. Hope this is the problem. Wonder if something tripped it down stream. We will see. Off to the hardware later today.
If GFCI won't reset either it is bad or another problem is down stream. May have to check each receptacle for problems in the box and unhook everything.

Many time the GFCI just gives up, it is common.
__________________
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 Truck Camper; MANY mods, to many to list
2007 Chevy 2500 Duramax Std Bed Ext Cab
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 08:47 AM   #9
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvojtanic View Post
1994 american eagle
no voltage to all receptacles except for one. reset all the breakers. is connected to on shore power. is there another fuse or breaker other than the panel under the bed? I discovered the problem when the outside freezer-fridge stopped cooling.
jvojtanic
Look for a tripped circuit breaker in the face of your inverter.
My Heart Freedom 20 inverter/charger has pop-out breakers...(push in to reset).

(My BIL's '95 Eagle has the same inverter/charger).

Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 09:42 AM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,104
A GFCI will not reset is it has no power. It's not a fault downstream - that would cause an immediate re-trip after the reset, but would not stop the reset from working.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 02:07 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 37
gfci

replaced the gfci. Had to reset it a few times and finally got 120 to both legs. Will monitor it for the next couple of days. Thanks for all the help.
One side of the gfci was not making contact. It is now with the new gfci
Thanks for all of the post. You all are amazing.
love you guys
J.
__________________

__________________
jvojtanic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loss 12 volts to thermostat and water heater leoblanchard Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 5 01-18-2015 06:05 PM
No 12 volts in Coach. 12 to BCC - stops there I guess. Rstefani Thor Industries Owner's Forum 2 07-27-2014 02:40 PM
Dometic 1303 good on gas, ? 120 element tym RV Systems & Appliances 1 07-21-2014 01:21 AM
120 volt partial power loss Vaflatlander Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 05-22-2014 08:37 AM
120 volt partial power loss Vaflatlander Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 05-22-2014 02:53 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.