Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2013, 12:21 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
sdennislee's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,404
Lost 110v to Some Outlets

2009 Safari Cheetah

Connected to 50 AMP service.

Had 2 spacer heaters running, lost power, reset CB2 on Magnum ME2012 inverter. Moved one of the space heaters to another outlet (hoped for different circuit) CB2 tripped again. unplugged both heaters reset CB2, it clicked but no power.

PI HW50C indicates Line 1 121 volts 0 amp, Line 2 117 volts 16, 60 hertz, Error Code )

Pulled the cover on the breaker panel, everything checks ok, all terminals tight and breakers seated. Have not pulled the cover on the inverter to check AC connections yet, too cold to hang outside that long tonight.

Have 110 v power to; microwave, fireplace, washer/dryer, hot water heater and refer.

All other outlets dead.

The one and only GFI outlet is not tripped.

Just S and G I even reset the breaker on the generator. Ran the generator, same results as shore power.

Performed the inverter reset procedure as outline in the Magnum manual, no joy.

What do I check/try next?
__________________

__________________
US Navy Vet, Liberty Tree Member of Oath Keepers, NRA & VFW Life Member, Alaska EMT.
2009 Safari Cheetah 40 SKQ
2009 Winnebago Chalet 231CR
sdennislee is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-22-2013, 12:34 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,892
My buddy had blown one of the fuses on the invertor and half of the wall switches didn't work. The micro wave worked but not the entertainment unit. I'm betting on the fuses on the invertor.
__________________

__________________
Fred1609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 12:41 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
sdennislee's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred1609 View Post
My buddy had blown one of the fuses on the invertor and half of the wall switches didn't work. The micro wave worked but not the entertainment unit. I'm betting on the fuses on the invertor.
Sounds like what I am experiencing. Microwave works, TV doesn't.

As I read the Magnum Inverter manual, I don't see any reference to fuses. It has 2 output breakers and one input breaker. I'll crawl around and check for a fuse tomorrow.

Thanks for the reply.
__________________
US Navy Vet, Liberty Tree Member of Oath Keepers, NRA & VFW Life Member, Alaska EMT.
2009 Safari Cheetah 40 SKQ
2009 Winnebago Chalet 231CR
sdennislee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 02:45 AM   #4
Community Moderator
 
RV Wizard's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Appalachian Campers
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Chattanooga, Tn.
Posts: 12,062
The inverters have internal fuses.
__________________
Mike, RVIA & RVSA Certified Master RV Technician
Amy, Dr. Assistant - Roxie & Mei Ling, four legs each
2000 Gulf Stream Scenic Cruiser 450 hp & 1330# torque
06 Saturn Vue, 06 Chevy Z71 4x4 & 2014 Corvette Z51 M7
RV Wizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 02:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
sdennislee's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by RV Wizard View Post
The inverters have internal fuses.
I'll pull the cover in the morning when the sun warms up a bit. THanks for the reply.
__________________
US Navy Vet, Liberty Tree Member of Oath Keepers, NRA & VFW Life Member, Alaska EMT.
2009 Safari Cheetah 40 SKQ
2009 Winnebago Chalet 231CR
sdennislee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 03:51 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 463
Are you sure you only have one GFI circuit. My '05 has one in bathroom and one in kitchen. I can't tell by looking at mine if they're tripped. I have to manually trip and reset them.
__________________
Doug and Cassi
'05 Itasca Meridian 36G
'99 Jeep Wrangler
OldChief7155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 04:27 AM   #7
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,134
On pg. 47 on this manual is troubleshooting tips which refer to a fuse and on pg 15 they refer to the exact fuse.
https://rvsolarstore.com/pdf/Magnum_ME2012_Manual.pdf
Good luck
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:48 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cumming, GA.
Posts: 103
X2 on the inverter fuse
__________________
rexabbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:42 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Muncie_6spd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Muncie, IN USA
Posts: 170
I guess I don't understand; the inverter changes 12 vdc to 110 vac but you are plugged into shore power so I am assuming your inverter should be bypassed. Is this not correct? I know my inverter is not capable of supplying enough AC to run electric heaters so I don't even try if not on shore power.

I would suspect a kicked breaker in your AC breaker box; sometimes they do not go to the full off position when tripped, they need to be reset by pushing to off then back to on.

Mike
__________________
2002 Holiday Rambler Presidential 5th wheel, 2002 Dodge 3500 dually Cummins
Muncie_6spd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 09:58 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Signal Hill, California
Posts: 3,296
Did you check the ground fault outlets? deSanford
__________________
Sanford, Linda & R cats: Molly, Levi, Cody
2011 Monaco by Navistar RV
Good Sam Life Member Good Sam Hams Chapter
deSanford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:02 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
HD4Mark's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marathon, Florida
Posts: 2,894
Different RV and inverter but if it is any help ours is fed 110 from the main breaker panel and 110 out to another secondary breaker panel. I have had breakers go bad in both panels so they can not be reset. Both times could not get a good "click" when resetting.

We have also had GFCIs pop and discover there are lots of things wired "downstream" from them. The one in the galley actually has the outside outlet connected. When the plug for the ice maker is laying in a puddle, guess what happens.
__________________
Mark & Nancy
2004 Winnebago Vectra 40KD
Shep dog, R.I.P. Kenzie dog Toad 2015 Jeep Wrangler Willys Wheeler
HD4Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:23 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Playtime III's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 640
Check the table on page 47. There is a max watt number (there are 4 models listed). Athough not inverting at the time there seems to be a consensus on the forum that "flow through" watts that exceed the inverter will cause it to trip its internal breaker (or not and damage the circuit board).

Running two portable heaters and anything else may have exceeded the watts number.
__________________
2006 HR Scepter 42DSQ
Playtime IV
Holiday FL
Playtime III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:20 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
sdennislee's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldChief7155 View Post
Are you sure you only have one GFI circuit. My '05 has one in bathroom and one in kitchen. I can't tell by looking at mine if they're tripped. I have to manually trip and reset them.
I even pulled the TV out of the cabinet to see if there was a GFI there.

THought for sure there would be a second in the basement but it was a regular outlet.
__________________
US Navy Vet, Liberty Tree Member of Oath Keepers, NRA & VFW Life Member, Alaska EMT.
2009 Safari Cheetah 40 SKQ
2009 Winnebago Chalet 231CR
sdennislee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:33 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
sdennislee's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muncie_6spd View Post
I guess I don't understand; the inverter changes 12 vdc to 110 vac but you are plugged into shore power so I am assuming your inverter should be bypassed. Is this not correct? I know my inverter is not capable of supplying enough AC to run electric heaters so I don't even try if not on shore power.

I would suspect a kicked breaker in your AC breaker box; sometimes they do not go to the full off position when tripped, they need to be reset by pushing to off then back to on.

Mike
I am on shore power, but AC passes through the inverter. THe use of the 2 heaters tripped the circuit breaker on the inverter. THe first time I reset it power came back. I then moved one of the heaters to a different outlet hoping it would be a different circuit. THe same inverter breaker tripped again, this time when I reset the power did not come back.
__________________

__________________
US Navy Vet, Liberty Tree Member of Oath Keepers, NRA & VFW Life Member, Alaska EMT.
2009 Safari Cheetah 40 SKQ
2009 Winnebago Chalet 231CR
sdennislee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.