Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2013, 05:34 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 73
Lost zone 2

Suddenly today my thermostat is no longer "seeing" zone 2. So my rear AC won't run. I've tried holding the mode and zone buttons down for a reset with no luck. Any advice?
__________________

__________________
2012 Winnebago Tour 42QD 450 Cummins
2007 Jeep Rubicon
moleary is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-30-2013, 05:37 PM   #2
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,128
Fluorescent lights have been known to do this but the zone on mine said " 00 ". To reset mine I took the cover off the thermostat and removed the fuse for five seconds.
__________________

__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 05:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 73
Mine is a 5 button. Pulled the thermostat off. No fuse.
__________________
2012 Winnebago Tour 42QD 450 Cummins
2007 Jeep Rubicon
moleary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 05:43 PM   #4
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,128
Then there must be a fuse somewhere.
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:24 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 73
Still struggling to trouble shoot my thermostat and/or rear AC.

Question: Do the data cables run from the thermostat to the front AC and from the front AC to the rear and nowhere else? In other words, do data cables run to the furnaces?

I identified the cable from the thermostat to the front AC. It seems to be good. I'm assuming the other cable plugged in to the front AC runs straight to the rear AC.

When I pull on this cable from either end it pulls out, like its broken in two. I don't want to pull too much until I'm sure it runs between the two AC's. If the cable is broke in two, how to I thread a new cable?
__________________
2012 Winnebago Tour 42QD 450 Cummins
2007 Jeep Rubicon
moleary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:37 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
How the data cables are wired can be in various configurations depending on the brand of coach and even the model so nothing is standard.

If you feel that the data cable from one A/C to the other A/C is the culprit, I would buy a length of flat phone cable that has four wires in it. Then crimp on new ends making sure that they are in the DATA cable format.

These are NOT phone cables.

Then hook up the new cable and see if the zone reappears.

The only way to run the new cable is through the A/C ceiling duct-work. You won't be able to fish it above the ceiling I believe.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:48 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 73
I've read that, while these cables have phone type connectors, they are different. How do I configure it as a data as opposed to phone? What's the difference? I would like to try this solution but I'm confused by the data vs phone configuration.
__________________
2012 Winnebago Tour 42QD 450 Cummins
2007 Jeep Rubicon
moleary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:48 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Luv2go's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Appalachian Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by moleary View Post
Still struggling to trouble shoot my thermostat and/or rear AC.

Question: Do the data cables run from the thermostat to the front AC and from the front AC to the rear and nowhere else? In other words, do data cables run to the furnaces?

I identified the cable from the thermostat to the front AC. It seems to be good. I'm assuming the other cable plugged in to the front AC runs straight to the rear AC.

When I pull on this cable from either end it pulls out, like its broken in two. I don't want to pull too much until I'm sure it runs between the two AC's. If the cable is broke in two, how to I thread a new cable?
Look here for troubleshooting/service docs for the Dometic 5 button t-stat systems. P7 of the "DuoTherm Comfort Control Center 5 button troubleshooting manual" shows where the data cables go, there also is some good troubleshooting info in it and the "DuoTherm Air Conditioner services manual". Most coaches with two A/C's follow this wiring scheme, it's a good bet that yours does as you've already confirmed the cable from the CCC to the front A/C.

BTW, the 5 button t-stat may have a polyfuse which is non-replacable (without a soldering iron). If the display lights up and controls zone 1 it is not the fuse. I vote for the data cable between the front and rear as you're suspecting. P3 of the CCC manual shows how to terminate the cables, as Dr4Film says it is not wired like a regular telephone cable, however you can get a telephone cable and rewire it so it will work. You can also splice the broken wires back together if you can reach where it's broken.

Hope this helps!
__________________
Stewart, Brenda and kids
2008 Newmar Canyon Star 3410
2006 Roadtrek Versatile 210
Luv2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:59 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Luv2go's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Appalachian Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by moleary View Post
I've read that, while these cables have phone type connectors, they are different. How do I configure it as a data as opposed to phone? What's the difference? I would like to try this solution but I'm confused by the data vs phone configuration.
You posted as I was posting, see p3 of the CCC manual I linked to in the above posting. You can get a crimper, wire and connectors from your local home improvement store to make the cable, or if you have a phone cable sitting around and want to try it you can cut it, hold both connectors in the same orientation and splice the wires so the left pin goes to the left pin and so on.
__________________
Stewart, Brenda and kids
2008 Newmar Canyon Star 3410
2006 Roadtrek Versatile 210
Luv2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 09:03 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 73
I was just looking at the link you provided. I see the difference now. Think I'll run past Lowes tomorrow and pick up the stuff. Thanks for the info.
__________________
2012 Winnebago Tour 42QD 450 Cummins
2007 Jeep Rubicon
moleary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 10:28 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 73
Update

I built a new data cable to string between the front and rear AC's. sure enough, that solved the problem. Pulled out the old cable and found it had been chewed completely in two about midway between the two units. Now I have to figure a way to route the new cable through the ceiling or duct work.

Damn mice are a pain in my butt. Wish I could find a sure fire way to get rid of them once and for all.

Thanks to everyone who weighed in with advice.
__________________
2012 Winnebago Tour 42QD 450 Cummins
2007 Jeep Rubicon
moleary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 01:05 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
akeyzoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 959
Bravo sir, well done! Think how much money was saved. Route it through the duct work using an electricians "fishing wire".

Chris
__________________

__________________
------------------------------------
American Revolution 40L CAT C9
Samsung 197, TireMinder, Ready Brute Elite with Wrangler
akeyzoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.