Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-07-2014, 01:37 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 9
M40PBD 2001 Monaco 330 question

Hello all, my apology for not introducing myself and building some re pore first. I'm afraid I have a question and hope someone tells me it's simple. My father passed away last month and owned a 2001 Monaco M40PBD with 55k miles on it. Of course it is the 330 cummins and he had all service done on a regular basis. I'm helping my mother sell it and found a buyer but when we went to test drive I have a red WARNING light (not check engine) and no acceleration. I'm hoping someone will tell me that this may be an operator error. The rig hasn't been moved for about 4 months but everything seems to work fine, all batteries are up and no apparent problems I can see but I am an extreme novice at this.

Thank you in advance for any suggestions.

Max
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20140307-00429.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	191.7 KB
ID:	57684  
__________________

__________________
Maxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-07-2014, 02:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxm View Post
Hello all, my apology for not introducing myself and building some re pore first. I'm afraid I have a question and hope someone tells me it's simple. My father passed away last month and owned a 2001 Monaco M40PBD with 55k miles on it. Of course it is the 330 cummins and he had all service done on a regular basis. I'm helping my mother sell it and found a buyer but when we went to test drive I have a red WARNING light (not check engine) and no acceleration. I'm hoping someone will tell me that this may be an operator error. The rig hasn't been moved for about 4 months but everything seems to work fine, all batteries are up and no apparent problems I can see but I am an extreme novice at this. Thank you in advance for any suggestions. Max
That warning light can have several inputs. I would check coolant level first as that is pretty simple.
__________________

__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 02:43 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 9
Steve,

Thank you so much for the quick response. Is that the reason the engine will not accelerate? If the level is low will it reset it self when I top it off? I understand it could be many things.

Thanks again,

Max
__________________
Maxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 02:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
MandG-Fun's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Westcliffe, CO
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxm View Post
Steve,

Thank you so much for the quick response. Is that the reason the engine will not accelerate? If the level is low will it reset it self when I top it off? I understand it could be many things.

Thanks again,

Max
Max, Perhaps a silly question but I assume the person test driving knew to disengage the parking brake? Also, since it has been sitting for a while did you let it warm up some? When you put it into gear do you feel any engagement of the transmission (either in drive or reverse)?
__________________
Glenn & Mary
2000 Monaco Dynasty 34 York / 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Diesel
MandG-Fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 02:55 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by MandG-Fun View Post
Max, Perhaps a silly question but I assume the person test driving knew to disengage the parking brake? Also, since it has been sitting for a while did you let it warm up some? When you put it into gear do you feel any engagement of the transmission (either in drive or reverse)?
It was allowed to warm up good and yes you can move it around when you put it in either reverse or gear. I believe it is a drive by wire system and you just have no throttle at all. It moves at whatever speed the idle is. The park brake was released and just on when the photo was taken. Thanks for your thoughts.

Max
__________________
Maxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 03:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxm View Post
Steve, Thank you so much for the quick response. Is that the reason the engine will not accelerate? If the level is low will it reset it self when I top it off? I understand it could be many things. Thanks again, Max
I guess I read right over the "no acceleration" issue. Since you have that issue along with the light, I suspect the ECM is not getting data from a sensor. May need to have a Cummins shop hook their computer up.

If you are up for a little troubleshooting, you could unhook the negative chassis battery cable for a couple of minutes and give the engine ECM a chance to reset. Also make sure the chassis battery has a full charge. Slightly low voltage can cause some issues.

Again these cost only a little "sweat equity".
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 03:20 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 9
Steve,

Do I need to unhook the batteries or can I can I turn them off with the master switches? If I am seeing the batteries correctly the coach has 4 batteries and the engine uses two that are in front of those. Do I have to disconnect the coach or engine, or both?

Thanks so much for your help.

Max
__________________
Maxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 03:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxm View Post
Steve, Do I need to unhook the batteries or can I can I turn them off with the master switches? If I am seeing the batteries correctly the coach has 4 batteries and the engine uses two that are in front of those. Do I have to disconnect the coach or engine, or both? Thanks so much for your help. Max
Max,

On many coaches and most Monaco's, the engine ECM bypasses the master switch so to be sure of killing power the the engine computer it's necessary to physically disconnect the chassis batteries. The 6 volt house batteries are not connected to the engine, only the two 12 volt chassis batteries. If you disconnect the negative cable, that will cut the circuit and you won't have a live cable that could touch a ground point & cause other problems.
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 04:30 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 9
Steve,

Thank you for the information. I am relaying this to my brother who is there now and I will update you as soon as he gets a chance to try that. I knew cars got OBDII ECM's in 97 and you could no longer clear most codes with a power down but I wasn't sure how the ECM was on one of these. I know it has no feedback closed loop systems from exhaust so it would make sense that they would use a basic ECM. I will update and you thanks for your thoughts.

Max
__________________
Maxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 04:45 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maxm View Post
Steve, Thank you for the information. I am relaying this to my brother who is there now and I will update you as soon as he gets a chance to try that. I knew cars got OBDII ECM's in 97 and you could no longer clear most codes with a power down but I wasn't sure how the ECM was on one of these. I know it has no feedback closed loop systems from exhaust so it would make sense that they would use a basic ECM. I will update and you thanks for your thoughts. Max
I think it depends on the reason for the light. If the ECM has just lost communication with a sensor then a reset might reestablish the data.
__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 05:23 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Ownby View Post
I think it depends on the reason for the light. If the ECM has just lost communication with a sensor then a reset might reestablish the data.
I think the problem has been isolated. Seems we had guest that have a desire for the sweet taste of silicone.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20140307-00431 (1).jpg
Views:	65
Size:	242.8 KB
ID:	57707  
__________________
Maxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 08:16 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 9
I will say the good news is they got the one harness and some foam and that is it. No other damage to be found. Thanks for the input, it's always good to bounce things off others and knowing very little about coaches it helps, but I have a very large mechanical background which helps.

Thanks again.

Max
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20140307-00433.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	297.0 KB
ID:	57711  
__________________
Maxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 01:59 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 9
I got the wiring fixed and have throttle control however i still have a warning light and loss of power. Coolant is full, oil and trans appear good. What else does the warning light look at? How can I check codes in the ECU or ECM?

Thanks again.
__________________
Maxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 09:59 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 114
do you get any turbo boost? If not my diplomat did something similar warning light would come on and I would lose power. I changed fuel filters and light was off and had power back. problem solved.
__________________

__________________
mlh2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monaco



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firestone Air Bag Replacement on 2001 Monaco Dynasty Yukon Jack Class A Motorhome Discussions 15 06-17-2014 07:41 PM
Headlight replacement for 2001 Monaco RonNBama Monaco Owner's Forum 24 02-18-2014 06:59 PM
2001 Monaco Dynasty firebird2 Monaco Owner's Forum 11 01-07-2014 05:11 PM
Question on running lights & turn signals 2003 monaco exec. lbaldwin Monaco Owner's Forum 4 09-30-2013 10:00 AM
Monaco La Palma question about Air and electrical midwestboat Monaco Owner's Forum 2 07-29-2013 02:01 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.