Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2011, 10:37 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Magnadyne Radio

I have a Magnadyne radio cassette/disc player in a 2005 Winnebago Adventurer that is not working. I removed a panel to access the wiring and using a volt meter discovered that there was only .66 volts in the yellow power line in the harness. The manufacture believes there is an inline fuse in the wiring. However, if so, I have been unable to locate it. I checked the fuse in the main fuse box and it was ok. There is a red power wire when the select knob is placed in engine when using the radio on the road. That shows the proper voltage. Any info on the whereaabouts of an inline fuse would be appreciated. Thanks Henry D
__________________

__________________
dicats is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-23-2011, 07:50 PM   #2
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,283
Iwouldn't go crazy hunting it down. If necessary, just run another fused 12 volt line. I believe the Magnadyne has a fuse built into the chassis of the radio (external).

You should also know that a Magnadyne from that era had issues with the CD skipping. The problem was a bad connector at the rear of the radio. The 12 volt connector didn't make good contact and people went through dozens of these radios before Magnadyne finally figured out the problem in about 2006 or 2007.

If you do a search, you of the entire forum, you should find some info on the bad connector.
__________________

__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 07:04 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 180
There are actually 2 +12v wires going into the connector. One is switched with the engine and the other is switched by the rado switch on the dash. Magnadye also has a fuse on the radio just under the connector.
__________________
bjsheldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Dick1142's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Underwood WA
Posts: 315
Mine has an in-line fuse right behind the radio. Pretty easy to get to.
__________________
Bev & Dick and Fuzzy the cat
2005 Safari Cheetah 38
2009 Honda CRV dinghy
Dick1142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 05:43 AM   #5
Member
 
HR-TX's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Entegra Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mission, Texas
Posts: 54
If yours is like mine, the red 12V line is the one that actually powers the radio. The yellow wire is the memory keep alive power which only keeps your presets alive when the radio is off.
__________________
Terry, Cindy and Roxy
2014 Entegra Aspire 44B - Black Pearl and Espresso
"Living the Dream"
HR-TX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with the Magnadyne Radio in 04 Vectra DavidPaul New Member Check-In 2 10-29-2010 05:21 PM
Magnadyne 9999 Radio indiana journey Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 05-03-2010 07:28 AM
Magnadyne radio trouble shooting hint Paul T Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 01-10-2010 04:08 PM
Magnadyne - Sirius radio problem MSgt Monaco Owner's Forum 5 10-30-2009 05:01 PM
Just Upgraded my Magnadyne Radio Robin_M Monaco Owner's Forum 26 08-31-2009 11:44 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.