Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2012, 04:48 PM   #1
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 96
Magnum MS2812 question re: installation

RV repair guy tells me the old girl (Trace Legend Series) she is limping. So, today I ordered a Magnum MS2812 and the remote. My question is: Do I need to order anything else for him to come back out and install this beauty? New fuse thingy, cables or any of that stuff? Scaring ya huh Good thing I'm not doing it, just ordering "stuff"

Going into a 2000 Monaco Diplomat 38A

Thanks in advance for your answers


pawnotes is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-13-2012, 06:53 PM   #2
Community Moderator
"007"'s Avatar

Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 24,487
If its similar to this unit looks like a tel cable is all thats needed.

98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 07:01 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
smlranger's Avatar

Country Coach Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 6,364
Blog Entries: 1
I replaced an older Freedom (Xantrex) 1500 watt inverter with a new Magnum 2000 watt and needed nothing. The battery cables from the Freedom attached directly to the Magnum. The Magnun uses a battery temp sensor that must be installed on one of your batteries but that is included.

The Magnum uses a standard 4 wire telephone cable to connect the inverter to the remote. My Freedom remote cable was 6 wire. I was able to use the existing 6 wire by cutting the 6 wire connectors off both ends and crimping new 4 wire connectors (RJ25 I believe) on that cable.
'07 Country Coach Allure 470 Siskiyou Summit #31578, Cummins ISL 425; 2014 Ford F150 toad; Air Force One Toad Brake.
Glen Allen, VA; Smith Mountain Lake, VA.
smlranger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 07:12 PM   #4
Senior Member
danes-on-tour's Avatar

Monaco Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denmark and US
Posts: 1,965
I could be wrong (i am a caveman when it comes to electrics) but I think the MS2012 comes with a built-in breaker, whereas the MS2812 have to have a breaker added externally. If I am right (which would be a first ) you will need to purchase one of these.
The Great Dane
2007 Monaco Diplomat PAQ - 2007 Saturn Vue Honorary Texas Boomer
Living in Denmark - visiting the US whenever possible. www.winnebago.dk www.blog.retired.dk

danes-on-tour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:48 PM   #5
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 96
Thanks guys. As usual you are extremely helpful.
pawnotes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 10:43 AM   #6
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 96
The DANES ARE COMING: Just had to let you know that you were right. I will need a breaker, new wire and a new fuse, because I am upgrading from 1500 Watts to 2800 Watts according to Magnum. Thank you for your input. I did post another about this subject, because I was wanting you guys opinion about the diagnosis. According to Magnum, what we have is only 1500 watts, it's just not enough for all the electronics we are running, so I guess we will do the upgrade when it gets here.

Thanks again!
pawnotes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 03:39 PM   #7
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 96
Thank goodness for you guys and a second opinion. We do not apparently need a new inverter/converter. Turns out it was a VERY loose connection on the BLACK Hot leg of incoming 120 VAC in breaker panel inside coach. WHEW! Dodged that bullet....


pawnotes is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.