Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2011, 12:33 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 27
mileage?

Have a 2000 fleetwood discovery cummings diesel.Changed oil last week had 72,000 miles had problems put in shop they put on computer to check codes.Had it fixed after picking up and driving home seen milage read 108,544 called them up to see if they may have done anything to ecm they said no told them milage was wrong they looked up invoice told me they showed 100,079 when i left shop i only drove about 400 miles before i called. For every 10 miles on my gps i would drive my odomiter was showing 16 miles also at one time was going 60 by gps but 35 by speedomiter bought this coach not even a year now already put 50,000 miles on it by my odomiter had 58,000 when bought put maybe 12,000 actual miles anyone else have same problem?
__________________

__________________
dirttracker0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-02-2011, 12:58 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,535
The odometer has been set to read on KM, look in your manual for how to reset it to mileage. It depends on your chassis how to do it.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 02:43 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 250
Something does not add up ! 72,000 miles equals 115,872.48 KM
100,079 miles equals 161,061 KM. But 100,079 KM equals 62,178.36miles.
The difference between 72,000 and 62,178 could be SW. settings or a ground problem from time to time and is not out of the ballpark.
If the speedometer is off compared to the GPS speed, is the setting of the dip switches for the speedometer off?
I have a difference in millage between my ECM ( Reading from VSMpc) and the odometer, that has been caused by a bad ground from time to time that causes the speedometer to read like 90 to 100mph when I'm only going like 65mph and the Tack numbers verify the lower speed. This causes the difference in the readings between the Two.
Being off by as much as you mentioned sound out of line from my experience.

Dick.
__________________
Airtool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 03:00 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airtool View Post
Something does not add up ! 72,000 miles equals 115,872.48 KM
100,079 miles equals 161,061 KM. But 100,079 KM equals 62,178.36miles.
The difference between 72,000 and 62,178 could be SW. settings or a ground problem from time to time and is not out of the ballpark.
If the speedometer is off compared to the GPS speed, is the setting of the dip switches for the speedometer off?
I have a difference in millage between my ECM ( Reading from VSMpc) and the odometer, that has been caused by a bad ground from time to time that causes the speedometer to read like 90 to 100mph when I'm only going like 65mph and the Tack numbers verify the lower speed. This causes the difference in the readings between the Two.
Being off by as much as you mentioned sound out of line from my experience.

Dick.
Its to late brain is not working.anyway it setting could have been changed from Miles to KM's. worth checking the other numbers of a 10k difference could be the tire size settings or the ground problem that allows noise in the signal and the speedometer and odometer readings are off.
Good night or better Good Morning.
__________________
Airtool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 09:37 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,096
If you don't have the dashboard manual for your Discovery, call Freightliner Custom Chassis Customer Service and have your VINnumber handy. They will tell you how to change the odo/speedo back to miles rather tham kilometers.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 09:56 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 27
I changed it from kilomiters to miles in kilomiters it reads 766423 in miles it reads 108544 that dont add up you change it by holding in the trip mileage something electrical is going on if i call freightliner maybe they can help.Does anyone know if there has been a recall?
__________________
dirttracker0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 08:27 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 250
There is no recall that I'm aware of,but as Gary mentioned a call the Frieghtliner sounds like its in order.The instrument panels do fail from time to time.
My units odometer reading is off compared to the ECM numbers.This has happened when ground problems pop up from time to time as mentioned in other post.
Do you have a copy of the ECM read out information? Frieghtliner service centers or other centers might be able to connect to the ECM and print out all the info stored.
They charge for this, but its good info to have and keep on file.
I decided to load VSMpc on my computer so I can read info.from the ECM. This works well and reads fault codes,I'm still learning how to best us it.
__________________

__________________
Airtool is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UFO cluster not remembering mileage -Gramps- Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 32 10-10-2010 08:15 AM
Lousy Fuel Mileage RKamperRV Navigation, Routes & Roads 8 07-25-2010 06:55 PM
Older model vs. high mileage Abby1313 Class C Motorhome Discussions 19 07-18-2010 10:53 AM
Mileage JDT Monaco Owner's Forum 15 09-06-2009 07:00 PM
Mileage benefits increase John Harrelson Military / Veteran RVing 2 02-03-2008 07:36 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.