Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2015, 01:16 PM   #1
DTC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
Monaco Electric problems...

Hi there! I have no electric in the coach. None of the receptacles, lights, etc., in the coach are working,whether on shore power or with the generator. Only 1/3 of the display panel is working. Just the Inverter, witch shows everything is charging. I've checked breakers, fuses, and the battery disconnect. Crazy thing is there are a few things that do work. The slides are working, Fridge, the receptacle the TV and dish are plugged into is working, step light, and the Trac Star satellite locator is working. The generator doesn't trip any breakers when started. I,ve reset all breakers, from the 50 amp box all the way through the coach. Any and all help would be appreciated. Thanks... Posted here and Monaco Owners forum. Just trying to get some advice...
__________________

__________________
DTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-09-2015, 04:46 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
It sounds like your "salesman switch" could have been tripped inadvertently or failed. It is a rocker switch located near the door along with other switches that control the awnings, porch light, storage lights et al. It activates by pressing (no click). If this the problem, you just push it once.
__________________

__________________
rowalrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 04:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Philliec's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Crested Butte, Colorado
Posts: 183
I think that this is more related to the 110v receptacles, but there are two or more white pins on the inverter that blow (pop out) and they might need to be pushed back in.
__________________
Philliec is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 05:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 162
What year Monaco ? Do your AC units work ? I recently went thru some strange power problems with my Intellitech 50 amp distribution panel in my 2005 HR Endeavor. It was the circuit card , which of course is no longer made. You have to get the 760 model up-grade.This may have nothing to do with your problem. If you or other members DO have a problem with your card you don't have to put out $500 and rewire harness's. It is usually two opto isolators that go bad and the parts are like $5.00. Any decent electronic tech can change components. Good Luck, hope the previous posts nailed it.
__________________
RIDER FAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 05:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Jax Fl
Posts: 130
Also check all GFIs. I had one located at floor level in bed room trip. Turned out the ice maker triped it. Also there are two breakers on the inverter that may be tripped. Hope this helps.
__________________
Jake & Sarah, US Army Retired
03 Cayman 36PBD, Source Engineering Control Arms ISB 300hp LT Engine/2000MH Trans 2016 F150 4x4
J2Jake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 06:01 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,597
I doubt it is the EMS system since this really only controls ~4 circuits, normally both AC's, Electric Hot Water Heater, and Washer/Dryer. Even if the board is bad the rest of the 120 volt would work if that was the only problem.

The most of the other circuits go through the inverter. His system may be different then mine, I have 2 legs of 120 volt that go through the inverter.
The refrigerator is working, the fridge does not go through the inverter
He should check the breaker(s) on his inverter to start with.

He is also saying that none of his lights are working, which I assume are 12 volt this could be the salesman switch.

Interesting problem, I'll me watching.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 06:29 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
gemert's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 847
It sounds like only inverter supplied 115 is working. That points me towards the transfer switch. You mentioned genny power but what does it do on shore power? Could also be a GFCI. My Beaver, a Monaco product, has a GFCI in one of the storage bays. Another in the cabinet above the microwave. Good luck.
__________________
Jerry, "EWC (SW)" USN Retired
2003 Beaver Patriot Thunder 505 HP C-12 1550 TQ
Allison 4000MH Ram 4X4 towed
gemert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 11:01 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Mageksl's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LaBarque Creek, MO
Posts: 190
I agree with the idea of a malfunction in the transfer switch since they mechanically switch both legs of the circuit. If the contacts on one leg aren't completing the circuit you could get the situation the OP is in. It's possible the Inverter is getting it's power from the working circuit and isn't otherwise involved.

Quick test. Check one air conditioner to see if it runs. Then check the other one. When multiple A/C units are on a coach they are usually on different legs of a 50amp circuit. If only one works I would look to a bad contact or a loose wire in the transfer switch.
__________________
2001 Monaco LaPalma
Workhorse W-22
Chevrolet 8.1L
Mageksl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 09:44 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
However, he also says that lights are not working and those are strictly 12v powered. Transfer switch would have no effect on that. Besides, he says the inverter indicate s it is charging, which also requires 120v power.

I think we need more specific info about exactly what items work and which do not. Some outlets or all of them? 12v lighting? A/c units? Fridge, etc.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 02:30 PM   #10
DTC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
One outlet working. The outlet the TV, and satellite are on. The EMS panel is dead, along with the slide panel, but the slides do work, just no lights on the panel. EMS.... Dead. The inverter is the only item with power on the distribution panel... I checked the ground fault circuit in the rear of the coach, not tripped. It's the same whether on shore power or generator as far as the lights and receptacles go. Thank you for all the replies! I'm stumped. All owners know, this is part of the game, but this is one that we've never came across yet.

Dave
__________________
DTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 02:32 PM   #11
DTC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
.........also, the AC;s will not work because the AC control has no power. Thanks
__________________
DTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2015, 04:48 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
jacwjames's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 4,597
The EMS circuit requires a 12 volt circuit to work along with 120 volt feed on one of the circuits it controls. In my case the Washer/Dryer circuit has to connected through the EMS panel for the display to work. My EMS board went bad last year. I bypassed the 3 other circuits but left the Washer/Dryer hooked up so that I could monitor told AMP load while system was by passed.

This is an interesting post, I will continue monitoring it.
__________________
Jim J
2002 Monaco Windsor 38 PKD
2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee w/5.7 Hemi
jacwjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2015, 03:01 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
gemini5362's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,078
depending on type and size of inverter. I have a 2500 watt inverter in my coach. it takes two legs of 115 volt power and then puts out two legs. Because i have a residential refrigerator we have it plugged into what used to be the ice maker receptacle which runs off of the inverter. I have a wiring diagram for my coach and it shows basically everything that is plugged into a receptacle in the coach with the exception of the microwave and two receptacles runs off the same leg from the inverter. The microwave runs off of the other leg and the other two receptacles are wired into the panel box and not the inverter.

A tripped circuit breaker in the inverter will cause the problems the OP mentions. Even if you have a smaller inverter than 2500 watts it takes in one leg of shore power and puts out two legs of power.

I had a wire going to one leg break before it got to the inverter which gave a symptom similar to what the OP is talking about. anything electrical not plugged into a receptacle worked. The microwave worked because it is plugged into the other inverter leg. Nothing else worked. try checking the inverter breakers and then see if you can get a wiring diagram to show you where everything is fed from.

Also if it is an inverter problem it will happen in both generator or shore power mode because both feed through the inverter which feeds everything else.
__________________
2005 Allegro Bus 38DP
2012 Enclave tow vehicle
No Dogs, No cats.
gemini5362 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 10:31 AM   #14
DTC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
Faulty battery disconnect or what some of you have referred to as the salesman switch. Thanks to all!!!
__________________

__________________
DTC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monaco



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2007 Monaco Camelot Electric Problem DTC Monaco Owner's Forum 24 09-27-2015 10:03 PM
2005 Monaco Knight. Problems? evotech Monaco Owner's Forum 5 05-14-2015 11:19 PM
Monaco electrical problems scosie Monaco Owner's Forum 10 04-12-2015 03:26 PM
95 Monaco Starting Problems MBuringrud Monaco Owner's Forum 2 03-16-2015 08:19 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.