Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2016, 01:33 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
American Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 10
Motorhome generator issue

Hi All,
I'm having a problem I'm hoping someone can shed some light on. I've got a 98 American Eagle 40' motorhome with a 8.4 Cummins diesel and a Onan 7.5KW gen. Last season-no issues. This year, the generator starts fine but no power to the coach. I have no problem with shore power or inverter power, but the generator is not sending juice to the coach. I'm assuming there's an aux. switch that switches when power is applied from either of those three sources, but I can't find it. Can anyone point me in the right direction to start my search? Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
__________________

__________________
BrianG is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-21-2016, 01:39 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
jdavidsmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 17
My Onan generator has a circuit breaker next to the start switch on the generator.

Have you checked there?
__________________

__________________
David
SMSgt USAF Retired
University Of Florida, Retired
jdavidsmi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 03:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Nine Mile Falls WA / Arizona City AZ
Posts: 524
jdavidsmi has the most logical answer... also there is a master switch, which should switch from shore power to generator power as you fire up the generator... its so that you can't damage the wiring when your plugged into shore power and than try and start the gen set.... it is to give your gen set priority when both are connected.. this switch is an automatic switch... it should toggle to the gen set when it starts up
__________________
jelag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 04:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Selah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,320
The aux switch you refer to is the Automatic Transfer Switch ( if I'm reading your post correctly). This is typically located in the same bay as your shore power cord or near that locatin. The relays will sometimes get stuck prevent the switch from... Well switching.
Try rapping the ATS box rather soundly a couple of time with your hand or a rubber mallet.
__________________
Paul, Kathy, and Tux the Mini Schnauzer
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 42 LH, 2013 Honda CRV
"When the time comes to look back, make sure you'll like what you see"
Selah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 08:52 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Nine Mile Falls WA / Arizona City AZ
Posts: 524
Selah... thank you for the correct buzz word for this switch.... I understand the process and how it works... just sometimes can't remember the darn buzz/technical words...

Jim
__________________
jelag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2016, 08:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,515
Are there two breakers on the generator and are they both on?

BTW, the Cummins will be an 8.3 L
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2016, 11:05 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,085
The QD 7500 normally has one breaker switch handle but it's actually a twin breaker inside. Moving the handle opens or closes both 30A power "legs" of the generator output circuits.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 01:39 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
FreedomDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: fulltiming
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary RVRoamer View Post
The QD 7500 normally has one breaker switch handle but it's actually a twin breaker inside. Moving the handle opens or closes both 30A power "legs" of the generator output circuits.
Also, be sure you start the generator with air conditioners, coffee pot, water heater or other high load appliances "OFF". Bring the load on gradually and be sure that if you have a surge protector with a two minute delay that you wait 3 minutes before turning any of this stuff on. If you fail to do this you will just trip the circuits again.
__________________
Bob & Joan Alexander, 2010 Tiffin Phaeton 36 QSH, 2013 Jeep Wrangler (toad)
Lobo & Juniper (woof, woof)
FreedomDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 04:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 789
The breaker on the generator itself has tripped.

Reset it.

As others have said, have all loads OFF when starting.

Likely not a big deal.
__________________

__________________
DaveS
1998 American Eagle 40EVS
FormerBoater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, motorhome



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Motorhome Vs New Motorhome nccamper Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 48 01-13-2016 09:30 AM
Smoking Motorhome! Power Issue? country350 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 09-16-2010 11:49 AM
New/Old Goodyear G670 RV Motorhome Tires Issue jntrox MH-General Discussions & Problems 8 12-01-2009 12:04 PM
Southwind 36D Issue after issue after issue.... fixn2gocamp Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 4 10-21-2009 08:05 PM
Shock Absorber test as reported by Motorhome Mg May issue Ed S Gear and Product Discussions 14 04-08-2009 05:55 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.