Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2015, 11:51 AM   #1
Member
 
Andy_Law's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 45
Name that Wired Connection-- Unusual Wires near Front TV

Greetings Mates:
While attempting to find all the cables to connect my satellite dish, I came across some strange cables above the driver's area where entertainment switch and coax cables are located.
Here is a photo of the connections that keep me awake at night

Attachment 108205
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wire Large Connector.JPG
Views:	79
Size:	70.4 KB
ID:	108206  
__________________

__________________
Andy_Law is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-28-2015, 11:58 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
That looks like the control cable for a Motosat dish. Did the previous owners have an internet dish?
__________________

__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 12:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,491
MotoSat had both sat dishes and internet sat dishes. That connector looks like our MotoSat TV dish connector but I've never seen the internet one so it could be that also.
Try looking around here and see if anything looks the same.
Here's a link to the installation instructions for the RE-1 controller that has a close up of the dish controller plug. http://rfmogul.com/motosat-compatible-controller.html
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 12:10 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
The connectors were the same for both kinds of dishes (I have both). Just assuming it was internet because the OP was already dealing with sat tv. But then again, they could have switched from a Motosat to a Winegard and just left the cable in place. Not sure that would explain the bare coax wire, unless they ran a new wire when they did the replacement install.
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 01:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Andy_Law's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 45
I literally just got my satellite issues squared away--Winegard MV3500T system, but NO controller (Mod Edit). Why would someone remove the controller when selling? Seemed odd to me, considering it was less than $6 new and caused me a huge headache to determine the details about my system w/o any logos/serial numbers.


Back to the issue of this post: The connection pictured is encased in flexible conduit and appears to run along the ceiling, but I could only trace it so far. That conduit does not seem to be anything the manufacturer would have done, which sorta explains the satellite internet option. If you look in the background of the photo, there are also these two smaller white wires on the left (one w/ blk strips other w/ red stripe). I thought they would be some sort of power wires, but tested and got very little to no power reading. Does your internet system also use a coax with that green plug?
__________________
Andy_Law is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 01:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Andy_Law's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 45
I forgot to mention, there is also a telephone cable in the same area with these wires, above the driver's seat in the entertainment area. However, I don't believe it is for a phone considering there is a separate telephone plug just below at the "computer station", likely for dial-up internet. And, I detected no shared connection between that cable and the telephone plug at the computer station.
__________________
Andy_Law is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 01:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Yes, sat internet will have the control wire (with a green euro style plug) as well as two coax cables (transmit and receive) all going to the dish. The color is unusual, but it's possible that those are the power wires going to the dish. My system had another small version of the green connector for those.
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 01:53 PM   #8
Member
 
Andy_Law's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 45
Here is the pic of the other wires; although I found it strange that there was no power to them when I tested it over the weekend. I was guessing these wires were used to connect the Sat controller to power. Once I get the controller, 5-10 days, I will make that determination.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wires two small red-blk.JPG
Views:	49
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	108213  
__________________

__________________
Andy_Law is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
holiday rambler



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DS front wheel lube and front hood latch wagonmaster2 Newmar Owner's Forum 6 09-05-2015 10:30 PM
Manually inflating air bags - Leaking front manifold? customfab Country Coach Owners Forum 14 09-25-2014 10:18 PM
Unusual Hydro Hot problem, and the fix Medico RV Systems & Appliances 0 02-14-2014 07:18 AM
Something Weird with front door and TV myshaggydog Newmar Owner's Forum 5 02-08-2014 03:28 PM
Next on the agenda - New front leveling valves ScottRussell Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 01-23-2014 02:40 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.