Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2013, 07:28 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
whitetop's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Virginia Beach,Virginia
Posts: 217
Need help gen./energy management issue

I have a 2002 H.R.Imperial 7500 onan gen. with my energy manangment system display showing 30amp service when running and not gen set power when gen. is on line. It does read 50 amp (energy manangment) when pluged in to regular service.Also I can only get 30 amps of service from genset. Thank's to all for your great advice in advance.
__________________

__________________
whitetop is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-02-2013, 07:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,699
True 50A RV power equals 12,000 watts because you have two 6,000 watt supply feeds in your 4 prong plug. Ohms law calculator 7500 watts X 120VAC=62.5 Amps. How long since you had your generator tuned up and calibrated? It should speed up as amperage draw increases.
__________________

__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 08:21 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
whitetop's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Virginia Beach,Virginia
Posts: 217
Thanks Ray, this rig is new to me and I don't kinow when the genset was serviced in that manner.I do have maintance records on fluid changes.The gen. does speed up when more load is put on it. The display on the EMS HAS 20,30,50,GEN SET when genset is on the display reads 30 amp.Do you think that the genset needs to be calibrated because it is only giving 30amp or EMS not working?Thanks again for any advice it is well taken.
__________________
whitetop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 07:43 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,609
Is this a case of something that's not working when the gen set is running, or a matter of learning to interpet what that panel is telling you?

The genset has 2 outputs. Is there a possibility one has a tripped breaker?

Will both roof AC's run on Gen?
__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 07:57 AM   #5
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,566
The generator passes two legs of 120 volt through a transfer panel and then to your circuit breaker panel. The same transfer panel passes 50 amp shoreline the same way. If the transfer panel relay is sick or there is a loose wire that might be the issue. You should be able to measure the voltage at your breaker panel main breakers. If one breaker does not have voltage then move to the transfer panel. Or just turn all power off and inspect the transfer panel for loose or burned wires.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:08 AM   #6
Community Moderator
 
Petro's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Weyauwega, WI US
Posts: 5,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahicks View Post

The genset has 2 outputs. Is there a possibility one has a tripped breaker?

Will both roof AC's run on Gen?
I agree with ahicks. I believe the EMS checks the sources of power to display the type of source. If it only sees one power lead from the generator it thinks it is plugged into 30A.

Don
__________________
Don & Bev Morgan Weyauwega WI, 05 Itasca Horizon 40KD, 400 HP Cummins, Delorme GPS LT 40, Toad 07 Saturn Vue AWD, Air Force One, TST 510 TPMS, Mayor of Weyauwega 2007 - 2013, Waupaca Co Board Supervisor 2010 - 2014
Petro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:10 AM   #7
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,566
See if this helps.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Gen set not indicated on panel.pdf (16.8 KB, 34 views)
File Type: pdf Inteltech 50 amp smart energy management sys.pdf (311.9 KB, 34 views)
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 09:46 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
whitetop's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Virginia Beach,Virginia
Posts: 217
thanks for all your replies you guys are a big help I am at work right now I'll try these suggestions when I get home that is also true I may not know what I'm looking at hopefully i will soon with your help iwill post what my results are thanks again very much
__________________
whitetop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 04:59 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
whitetop's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Virginia Beach,Virginia
Posts: 217
Well here is the best that I can explain. 50 amp main breaker on shore power 121v on each side turn off shore, start genset same thing 120v on each side of breaker still only showing 30amp avilable.Connection J2 has 13.2 volts with either power.(shore or genset)Tried resetting thermostat(unpluged control wires for 10 mins.)Checked all neutral,hot,ground wires in all panels inside and out of coach all are tight.Thanks again for any help.
__________________
whitetop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 05:58 PM   #10
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,566
Unplug from shoreline and turn your batteries off in the compartment, not just the salesman switch by the door. Let it sit for a couple of minutes. Turn batteries on, return to shoreline or generator and check.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 06:08 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redding
Posts: 3,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitetop View Post
I have a 2002 H.R.Imperial 7500 onan gen. with my energy manangment system display showing 30amp service when running and not gen set power when gen. is on line. It does read 50 amp (energy manangment) when pluged in to regular service.Also I can only get 30 amps of service from genset. Thank's to all for your great advice in advance.

I too can only get 30A but from my 7.0KW Power Tech generator.

That is the way the system was designed according to the Generator manufacturer.

But, I can run the two 13.5 roof AC units at the same time using the generator and doing my manual power shedding steps.
__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 06:24 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
whitetop's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Virginia Beach,Virginia
Posts: 217
Thanks Dean,and YC, I tried turning off all power(10 mins.),still when return same results.Dean my genset has 35AMP 2 pole breaker on it also states it is 62.5amp so I think both a/c should run if thats all the draw I have on it.(only a thought though I am still learning) Could it be the control board and if so is there a way to troubleshoot? Thanks a bunch again for any help here.
__________________
whitetop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 06:39 PM   #13
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,566
Check my two attachments and then call the mfgr for more solutions.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 07:58 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
whitetop's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Virginia Beach,Virginia
Posts: 217
Thanks YC1,after reading second attachment several times noticed that the J2 pin#2 needs 12 volt and that seems to be what I don't have .I need to find where the 12 v comes from.If no comments on where that is located I will call Intellitec tomorrow .I will post my results when I have some.
__________________

__________________
whitetop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.