Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2015, 10:46 PM   #1
Member
 
racer26's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 47
Need to replace TV thats in 8 year old coach

My problem is my TV needs to be replaced in my 08 Pace Arrow 38P. The whole wiring system for all TV's and components is RCA 3 wire red, white, and yellow. Now try to find a TV that can be wired into this system. The new TV's mostly have just HDMI inputs. I'm looking for some ideas before I start with a HDMI wiring job.
__________________

__________________
racer26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-26-2015, 10:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Monkey Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sodus Point NY
Posts: 386
My home TV is that way, three wire, yes it's an 18 year old Sony rear projection. My coach has cathode ray tubes, not certain how I will get around them if I need to replace them. Yours seems easy, all you need do is purchase the conversion cable. Hope that helps.
__________________

__________________
Don and Nancy
Christians, NRA Endowment Members
Monkey Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 10:55 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 107
I replaced both CRT tv's in our DP with LED flat screens and skipped the HDMI cables and stayed with coax. Now we only get 720 dpi through the coax but it works for us...nice and crisp...JMHO
__________________
Paramedic 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 10:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 5,904
Go to Google search.

Type in....convert rca to hdmi

You will get a ton of ways to do it.
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS
Arch Hoagland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 11:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 378
You should be able to find TV's that have RCA inputs and not just HDMI. I would be highly surprised if most TV's especially the small ones that fit in these RV's don't have RCA.

It wasn't difficult finding TV's with RCA inputs when we upgraded our 38P a year or so ago.
__________________
NC25T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 11:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,793
Component video inputs should be readily findable. If needed to go HDMI consider wireless HDMI instead of running wires.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 07:52 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 405
I purchased a small box that converts the cables you have to HDMI. You can get them from many sources - I purchased mine from Amazon.
__________________
Ludmilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 08:58 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
pcurt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by racer26 View Post
My problem is my TV needs to be replaced in my 08 Pace Arrow 38P. The whole wiring system for all TV's and components is RCA 3 wire red, white, and yellow. Now try to find a TV that can be wired into this system. The new TV's mostly have just HDMI inputs. I'm looking for some ideas before I start with a HDMI wiring job.
You can replace your tv's and use your bat wing to receive over the air hd signals without any issues except size. If you are trying to distribute hd satellite to all your tv's then you will need new wires and such. And most tv's still have rca jacks so you can connect a cd player.

I use a Winegard directv traveler and ran coax from the av cabinet to the bedroom and the outside tv. My directv receiver then connects to each of the tv's using the main box and two mini's. The cd player still connects to the rear tv through the original distribution box.
__________________
Pcurt
2007 Fleetwood Bounder 38V
pcurt23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 10:27 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
ChasA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 1,857
The yellow plug is "composite video". The red and white are audio.
I bought a Samsung 40" TV about 3 months ago. It has HDMI, component video, composite video, and audio inputs. The component video inputs are for red, green and blue signals.
Since your coach apparently has only composite video, look in the specs of the new TVs you're considering.
__________________
2010 Winnebago Journey Express 34Y
2010 Freightliner XCS (mfd 9/'09)
'07 Saturn Vue V6
ChasA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 11:30 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
Component video inputs should be readily findable. If needed to go HDMI consider wireless HDMI instead of running wires.
That's a great idea
__________________
2015 Thor Challenger 37ND
LostinAustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2015, 08:13 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 366
I replaced both TV's w/flat screens and on the front TV ran a HDMI cable from the side cabinet to the front TV using winegard travlr dish and bring my DTV home receiver to MH on trips.Still can use the switch box for OTA antenna and campground cable connections to both TV's. I did not run a HDMI cable to bedroom TV but could in the future.
__________________
2002 Dutchstar, Spartan Chassis, 350 Cummins, 2012 Explorer.
Snomas1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 03:09 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 179
The issue w/ the conversion is that you're still at the RCA quality - it's more of an adapter than true HDMI. You'll need to run it from the source if you want the upgrade.
__________________
2016 Anthem 44B - Go Blue!
2014 Jeep Rubicon
Making memories, one day at a time!
lincoln20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2015, 03:51 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
dirko's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Draper, UT
Posts: 547
Hi Ho: If you are going to the trouble to replace with TV, why not go all the way and just use HDMI? You didn't say if you have satellite TV and what kind of antenna. If you have a Winegard Trav'ler you can get real 1080 HD with very little added work. Just use an HDMI cable from the BluRay DVD to the TV and plug the satellite receiver into another HDMI input. Why would you want to keep the RCA cables?

Of course, having done the above you might want to improve the sound system to real 5.1 high quality sound. This would require new 5.1 amplifier and some new speakers, but if you don't want this complication your new TV should have RCA connectors. You just won't get the same sound quality. Same goes for video. You can at least get good quality from your BluRay DVD player.

It really depends on why you want to upgrade your sytem and how much you're willing to do.
__________________
dirko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 08:28 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 76
I went with wireless HDMI transmitter/receiver setup. Easy to set up too. It gave my 3 TVs in my MH high def.
it also allowed me to have multiple input sources. Such as satellite receiver and a Blueray player.
If you want better sound then get a good soundbar and a wireless subwoofer.


2013 Georgetown XL 378

Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________

__________________
2013 Georgetown XL378
1 wife; 1 Lab; 1 Sheltie
1 life, enjoy it!
wrapperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
replace, ace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery Disconnect BD1 only Operates when coach plugged into shore power kcolivier Newmar Owner's Forum 5 10-13-2015 11:18 PM
Coach Battery Mystery - Please help! creativead Class A Motorhome Discussions 14 09-16-2015 09:19 AM
Replace OEM 12+ Year Old Chassis Battery or Wait? Lincolnboy2 Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 54 01-13-2015 07:50 AM
Probably a rookie mistake; six weeks of owning Coach now Sidewinder4 Newmar Owner's Forum 27 12-11-2014 03:18 PM
2001 34' Alpine Coach help 4day Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 11 03-12-2014 02:39 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.