Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2014, 02:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 38
New House Batteries - no power

I just had new batteries installed in my 2008 Outlaw---Workhorse Chassis and there is no 12 volt power now. I run the generator and the 12 volt worked fine but nothing on batteries alone. Does anyone know if there is a breaker or fuse I should be looking for that could have tripped? I have tried the battery connect/disconnect but it does squat.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Pitbull
__________________

__________________
pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-10-2014, 02:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
450Donn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dallas,OR
Posts: 2,557
Wired in reverse or the main breaker tripped.
__________________

__________________
Don and Lorri
2007 Dodge 3500 dually
Resident Dummy.
450Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 02:45 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
If you had power BEFORE the new batteries were installed, then I would go back to the battery installer to ask them what they did or did not do correctly.

Obviously, they didn't check their work when finished to make sure the batteries worked correctly.

Your charger/converter is working fine based on the fact that you have 12 VDC when the generator is running. I would assume that you would also have 12 VDC if you were hooked to shore power.

The battery installer obvious did something to mess it up.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 03:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 38
The wiring is ok but I guess I need to talk to an Outlaw owner to see if he knows where the breakers could be located. There is a main breaker beside the batteries that the mechanic checked and said it was ok. I may have to take it to a dealer? $$$

Pitbull
__________________
pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 03:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,324
How many batteries? 6 or 12 Volt? Was this a DIY project?
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 03:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Gary1965's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 238
Sounds silly, but did you check the breaker switch on the generator?
__________________
2010 Fleetwood Discovery 40G
Gary1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 11:12 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Daytripper63's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Roseville
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryKD View Post
How many batteries? 6 or 12 Volt? Was this a DIY project?
Would help to know this to see if new batteries are connected correctly
__________________
2008 Fleetwood Providence 40X
1957 Willys in tow or 2012 Wrangler Rubicon
Roseville Ca.
Daytripper63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 10:24 AM   #8
Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 38
I replaced two 6 volt----they are wired in series so I am getting 12 volts accross the main terminals. I had them installed at a trucking garage so they are not to familiar with any of the house items---more chassis work. I am not at the garage the past 3 days. I was talking with a service rep who said to look at the BCC. I believe that is to the left of the drivers seat mounted under the dash. He said to remove the cover and look for a main breaker to see if it is tripped.
It seems unusual to have to remove the cover to find a breaker but that may be normal?

Pitbull
__________________
pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 11:22 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
mdpuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Alberta
Posts: 117
This may be a stupid question (and probably is) but did you check to make sure "All" the wires have been hooked back up to the batteries correctly? I have seen it many times when someone changes a battery (or batteries) they miss one little wire hook up and nothing works.

Just a thought???? Good luck!
__________________
mdpuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 12:08 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redding
Posts: 3,412
My rig has two fuses in the wiring between the inverter and house battery.

Batteries Plus blew one of the fuses when they installed new house batteries on my rig and I then had a similar symptom.

Check your wiring diagram to see if you have fuses that could be popped.
__________________
Dean
1995 CC Magna #5280
C8.3L 300hp Cummins, 31,000lbs
deandec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 01:01 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 6,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdpuff View Post
This may be a stupid question (and probably is) but did you check to make sure "All" the wires have been hooked back up to the batteries correctly? I have seen it many times when someone changes a battery (or batteries) they miss one little wire hook up and nothing works.

Just a thought???? Good luck!
Not a stupid question at all. Go back and take a closer look at your hook up. Something is backward or missing.
__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 01:04 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,531
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdpuff View Post
This may be a stupid question (and probably is) but did you check to make sure "All" the wires have been hooked back up to the batteries correctly? I have seen it many times when someone changes a battery (or batteries) they miss one little wire hook up and nothing works.

Just a thought???? Good luck!
I missed a charge wire from the alternator when I replaced mine. Once I realized it I went looking and it had fallen down behind the roll out tray.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 01:45 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by deandec View Post
My rig has two fuses in the wiring between the inverter and house battery.

Batteries Plus blew one of the fuses when they installed new house batteries on my rig and I then had a similar symptom.

Check your wiring diagram to see if you have fuses that could be popped.
A blown fuse during the installation was my first thought as well. Check the large fuses in your 12v panel.
__________________
1998 Bounder 36s V10 F53
ohhwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 05:04 PM   #14
Member
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 38
Hi Guys----just to let you all know that the problem was the house solenoid relay. I took it to my auto mechanic who found the relay not operating. This is the relay that operates when you operate the Battery Connect/Battery Disconnect switch located at entrance to MH. He jumped it out and I had power. I found a new one at a dealer that was identical ( 3 different switches were in stock )
So it looks like the problem was there before the batteries died----but they were 6 years old so they were due.
By the way the swirch was $71.00 canadian

Pitbull
__________________

__________________
pitbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
batteries, house batteries, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Large power draw on chassis battery '94 Kountry Star omegacanuck Newmar Owner's Forum 54 01-31-2016 09:22 PM
2003 Alpine FDTS power problems bgames Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 18 12-15-2013 07:52 PM
2006 Doubletree Mobile Suite 36tk3 no power deputybulmer 5th Wheel Discussion 31 12-11-2013 07:41 PM
How to find out if motor charges house batteries New Hobby Class A Motorhome Discussions 41 12-09-2013 09:23 PM
House batteries on or off SMRDNR Class A Motorhome Discussions 11 12-04-2013 08:59 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.