Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2013, 02:45 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Momcat26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
New Member

We are hooked up to cable at the campground, but no cable channels.
__________________

__________________
Momcat26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-18-2013, 02:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
zip0's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Posts: 357
hey and welcome
__________________

__________________
" A day without camping is....WORK"
2003 Bounder 35R
3 Jack Russell's
zip0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 02:51 PM   #3
Community Moderator
 
bdickson's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wherever the rig is parked
Posts: 7,408
Hi, and welcome to iRV2!

Most RV's have an amplifier for the TV antenna with a switch for Cable. Often it is a plastic wall plate with a green light and a switch or push button. Generally the light should be off for Cable, on for Antenna. You may need to hunt for it, as it could be hidden in a closet.

Let us know how it goes!
__________________
Bruce Dickson 2013 Thor Challenger 37GT, 5 Star Tune, Safe-T-Plus Steering Control with Air Trim, Roadmaster front and rear Sway Bars, SuperSteer rear Track Bar, Crossfires, 2012 Honda CRV on Blue Ox Aventa LX tow bar. Full timers since Jan 2012.
bdickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 02:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 95
Be sure the signal booster is not on. This is indicated by a little red light. It will block out the cable signal if in "On" position.
Be sure your TV is set to "Cable" and not "Antenna".
Hope you get it going soon.
__________________
Loozycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 02:56 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Momcat26 View Post
We are hooked up to cable at the campground, but no cable channels.
As mentioned above, make sure TV amplifier is off. Your TV most likely has a menu - setting such as Antenna or Cable. Make sure it is set to Cable, then do a channel scan.
__________________
Tom Wilds
Blythewood SC
2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
2013 Chevy Sonic Hatchback (Automatic)
wildtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 02:58 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Momcat26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
I turned off the switch, still nothing. get a few analog channels. What am I doing wrong?
__________________
Momcat26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:01 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Momcat26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Momcat26 View Post
I turned off the switch, still nothing. get a few analog channels. What am I doing wrong?
Also, TV 1 and TV 2 are both set to aux
__________________
Momcat26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:08 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Coaster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 371
This once happened to me only to find out that I needed the camp's cable company's box.
__________________
'92 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager. Tweaked 5.9 Cummins, complete interior makeover (previous owner).
Coaster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:13 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Momcat26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Both are set to aux, still nothing. I used the input button to see if there was a cable setting, only TV with a picture of a cable line on TV 1, and on TV 2 it just says digital strength is too low, and no cable setting on the imput page just TV,video, color stream HDMI, PC or DVD
__________________
Momcat26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:16 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Momcat26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
No cable box needed. they just said plug in cable line to post
__________________
Momcat26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:21 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Dale Pruitt's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Brandon Ms
Posts: 214
__________________
Dale and Rita
2002 Newmar Dutch Star 4095, tow car 2008 Buick Enclave CLX
Dale Pruitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:27 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
fansill's Avatar
 
Nor'easters Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 446
Momcat...

If you have a master switching box, make sure that the buttons are pushed to CABLE. Also make sure that the TV is on channel 3 and then try your remote to reset it for cable...I have come across this often,,,,

Faith
__________________
Faith and Bob, Bitsy the Papillon and Bosco the Chi-weenie....RIP Truffles
2005 Revolution LE - 2008 Honda CRV Toad
Northern Massachusetts and the rest of the Country.
fansill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 05:29 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA (Stick & Brick)
Posts: 2,623
We ran into a problem last season. Comcast were the area's monopoly cable provider and switched from an analog output from the cable to a digital one. It's NOT the same as over-the-air digital.

We have Comcast at home, and they'd switched us over about a year earlier, so I was familiar with the problems. The big deal is that you don't use your TV set's remote for channel selection, on/off or volume. You have to leave the set on Channel 3 and then the Comcast set-top box (or their video recorder) controls on/off, channel select and volume.

The CG owners were very upset with Comcast, as they would have to provide each customer with a remote and a set-top box. I believe they were getting "lawyered up" for a confrontation with Comcast.

We haven't been back there since. We watch TV so seldom when we're out in the MH that I haven't even raised the antenna in three seasons and we don't have D-A converter for the digital over-the-air transmissions. If cable at a CG is analog output, we'll hook up to get local stations for news and weather, but not much else.
__________________
Frank Damp -Anacortes, WA,(DW- Eileen)
ex-pat Brits (1968) and ex-RVers.
frankdamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 05:50 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Momcat26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
I got the back TV on cable, it wasn't on channel 3. The TV in front, a LG, no booklet either, tried channel but wouldn't stay changed. at least I got the one to work, thanks! any ideas on the front one?
__________________

__________________
Momcat26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.