Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2013, 01:24 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Starrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Albemarle, NC
Posts: 6
New Owner has crazy question to ask----

I have a 1989 Fleetwood southwind with a onan generator I cant figure out why it will only power the front roof top A/C and nothing else can anyone tell me how to power the rest of the unit
__________________

__________________
Starrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-14-2013, 01:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: texas
Posts: 2,268
One thought look where the power cord stores is there a electric plug in there
__________________

__________________
whem2fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 01:58 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
az bound's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Surprise Arizona
Posts: 1,993
There should be two breakers on the generator itself. Check to see thay are both in the on position.
Also check all breakers at the main panel.
__________________
Harold & Linda
2009 CT coachworks siena 35V
W22 Workhorse 8.1L. Explorer Sport toad,
az bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:28 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Brigadoon's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: currently in North Georgia
Posts: 1,068
How many watts is your generator? The generator may only power the front air if the genertor is of insufficient watts to run both.
__________________
Terry
'05 Dutch Star 4015, '16 Rubicon OlllllO, & HD Ultra ElectraGlide, NKK14278L
Brigadoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:57 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Starrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Albemarle, NC
Posts: 6
@Brigadoon, the generator is a 6.5 5000 watt --that should be fine, right? and @ az bound, both breakers are on.
__________________
Starrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 03:37 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
az bound's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Surprise Arizona
Posts: 1,993
Try resetting both breakers if you have not allready. The next step would be to use a multimeter to see if there is power to both legs.
5000 watts should power the whole rig.
__________________
Harold & Linda
2009 CT coachworks siena 35V
W22 Workhorse 8.1L. Explorer Sport toad,
az bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 03:46 PM   #7
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,118
Welcome to IRV2. I think AZ bound has given you good advice. Hope it works out.

Cliff
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 03:58 PM   #8
Community Administrator
 
Clifftall's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 29,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starrs View Post
I have a 1989 Fleetwood southwind with a onan generator I cant figure out why it will only power the front roof top A/C and nothing else can anyone tell me how to power the rest of the unit
Please be sure to visit the Fleetwood Forum. At the top you will find a stickie with a link to your FW manual , in case you need one.

Cliff
__________________


Cliff,Tallulah and Buddy ( 1999-2012 )
Clifftall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 04:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Pogo's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Florida Cooters Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: DeLand, Fl
Posts: 282
If you have an electrical meter, you could open up the auto electrical transfer switch and see if you have 120V on both the red and black terminals from the generator, shore power and the output to the main panel. Then, if you do have it, check the same terminals at the main electrical panel breaker. This will give you a good idea of where the problem is located. If you don't have a meter, you will need someone who can check it for you.
Let us know....
__________________
If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is not for you.
Pogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 05:11 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
tompen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 500
On my Daybreak there are two switches next to the electric panel under the bed. They have to be in the right position for both A/C units to work. I thought they would both work on the generator. If it was plugged in to 15 amp shore power, only one will run. The switches would have to be repositioned for both A/Cs to work with the generator. I don't know if yours is the same.
__________________
2016 Wildwood 28RLDS
2014 Tundra 1794 Platnum,"23" T-Bucket
2011 Harley Softail, 2010 Spyder RTS
tompen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 06:05 PM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
In 1989 you could only run front or rear on shore power or both on generator. There is a large selector switch in the cabinet over the sofa marked Rear - Both - Front.
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 09:12 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Brigadoon's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: currently in North Georgia
Posts: 1,068
Yep, 5000 watts should do the job. Looks like TXiceman may have your answer.
__________________
Terry
'05 Dutch Star 4015, '16 Rubicon OlllllO, & HD Ultra ElectraGlide, NKK14278L
Brigadoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 09:26 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA (Stick & Brick)
Posts: 2,623
On our Georgetown, which is a 30A set-up, there's a switch panel near the electrical distribution box in the bedroom. It has two residential-style light switches.

On 30A shore power, you can select either the living room or the bedroom a/c, since 30A can't run them both. On generator power (ours is a 5.5 KVA Onan) you can run them both, if the two switches are appropriately set.

I'm not sure if you older rig would work like ours, but, since 5 KVA is overkill if you can only run one a/c unit at a time, I'd go looking for a switch panel someplace.

BTW, the manufacturer's documentation was a total POS in this regard. I had to call the folks we bought the rig from to find out what the logic was.
__________________
Frank Damp -Anacortes, WA,(DW- Eileen)
ex-pat Brits (1968) and ex-RVers.
frankdamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:41 AM   #14
AGP
Senior Member
 
AGP's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Palm Coast Florida
Posts: 236
I owned a 1989 Bounder years ago there was a 3 way switch in the overhead cabinet that had ac rear,front or both.
__________________

__________________
Tony, Nancy & Abby the pooch 2011 40'Monaco Knight PDQ Maxxforce 10 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
AGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.