Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2012, 08:17 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
New widow has question

My husband kept our Monaco Knight pusher connected to power when parked at our house. I don't remember why--we did keep the furnace on low (but LP, I think) last winter. The overhead & wall lights were working with this power supply, but won't come on now. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
Babara is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-19-2012, 08:21 PM   #2
TAZ
Senior Member
 
TAZ's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Heaven's Scene
Posts: 803
Have you checked the house battery disconnect switch?
__________________

__________________
2010 Damon Daybreak 3204 Sport, bunkhouse with Jeep Wrangler toad.

Improvise, adapt and overcome... "Semper Fi"
TAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:31 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
No, sir, but I will if I can find it.
__________________
Babara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
akadeadeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by TAZ View Post
Have you checked the house battery disconnect switch?
As in.........is it on or off? If it is off then you might have some drained batteries. One possible reason for this could be that a breaker tripped on the house side of things and needs to be re-set. If it is kept plugged in to shore power there is no need to turn off the battery disconnect switch.

Don
__________________
2009 Newmar 42 ft. Allstar 4188, Wheelchair Accessible, 400HP Cummins ISL, Allison 3000, Mastertow Dolly, '98 Riviera
akadeadeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
akadeadeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Boerne, Texas
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by Babara View Post
No, sir, but I will if I can find it.
Barbara

It should be near the front door or in a panel where other control switches and monitors are located. It should be labeled BATT or Battery Disconnect, etc.

I would suspect you need some help in recharging your house (coach) batteries and checking to be sure you are receiving power from your house connection so that your batteries are continually being recharged.

Don
__________________
2009 Newmar 42 ft. Allstar 4188, Wheelchair Accessible, 400HP Cummins ISL, Allison 3000, Mastertow Dolly, '98 Riviera
akadeadeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:42 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
I will look into that. Thank you. A friend of mine is thinking about buying my Baby. It certainly needs a man to take care of it. We had it only a year when my husband died and we had taken it on the road twice for short trips. I haven't had a chance to learn much about it. I need an instruction book--didn't get one, ha.
__________________
Babara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Tony Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peru heading for Brasilia, Brazil
Posts: 2,117
If nothing at all works in the MH - ie no 12V lights, no TV, no microwave or aircon, no furnace then maybe your house outlet is switched off or the CB tripped, the shore lead come unplugged or there is a breaker tripped on the 120V board inside the coach, or ...

If some items are working, and others not, that info would help a lot to help you.
__________________
Tony Lee - International Grey Nomad. Picasa Album - Travel Map
RVs. USA - Airstream Cutter; in Australia - MC8 40' DIY Coach conversion & OKA 4x4 MH; in Germany - Hobby Class C; in S America - F350 with 2500 10.6 Bigfoot camper
Tony Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:53 PM   #8
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,781
Babara it will look as in the picture the switch is in lower left of picture.
Maybe in your display area as the one pictured.
If you leave coach plugged into house the converter may recharge the batteries.
With it plugged into house you will get your lights back working off the converter.
You may want to shut off the LP tank also.

__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 08:54 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
I moved it to plug up at the shop in the spring. Kilo usage went from less than 100 usage to 300 for three months and thn shot up to 621 past month. Something is using power.
__________________
Babara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:17 PM   #10
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,781
You can shut off all circuit brakers in your load center just leave the one on for converter outlet.
You maybe able to find a Mobil RV Repairman to help you, ask around your area to find a responsible one.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:29 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
historyljc's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 5,173
Hi Barbara, welcome to the forum. Sorry to hear of the passing of your husband. I can't really add to the advice that has already been posted. Best of luck in solving the issue.
__________________
Travel well, travel safe,
Jim
2006 Tiffin Phaeton - 2011 Cadillac SRX
historyljc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:34 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
Thanks to you all. You were very helpful.
__________________
Babara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:50 PM   #13
Senior Dude
 
Dogpatch's Avatar


 
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Somewhere, BC.
Posts: 5,584
Blog Entries: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Babara View Post
Passing of your husband
Sorry for your loss. The other guys here should be able to help. Post your RV in he classifieds here. We may all be able to help.
__________________
Les (RVM12), Bonnie, Morgan and 4 leggers Bella & Bruce
2010 Forest River Cardinal 3450RL 40' Full Body Paint- 2015 Ram 3500 Laramie 6.7 ltr Turbo Diesel, 68RFE Trans. 4x4 SRW SB Pullrite 2900 18K FMCA-420438 Good Sam
Dogpatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 11:11 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 9
continued...

THe battery switch is by my front door. OK, how to know if battery switch is "on or off". One push turns panel with all the green lights over door "ON" and another push turns panel lights "OFF". If I am plugged to shore, do I want this panel lit up or not? (I'm having a "mental" disconnect here.)

(By the way, my TVs and microwave come on, air and overhead lights don't, but of course everything works when engine is running, so batteries must be low, although I have been plugged to shore.?) (See my increased KILOWATT usage above.)
I am searching the forum but sooo much info. to wade thru. Thanks for your help, you are great!
__________________

__________________
Babara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.