Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-06-2012, 12:06 PM   #1

Newbie here with a few electrical questions

Hey all- I'm buying a 99 Gulf Stream 8342 MXD diesel pusher from a local acquaintance. I have previously owned a 92 Winnie 28' class C. This will be my first experience with a diesel pusher. It has a LP powered generator and 30-amp service panel. I like to boondock with the family and we live in southern Nevada, where it gets warm. I want to be able to run both roof ac's simultaneously, both while driving and on shore power. I also want to be able to take extra propane bottles with me when we boondock. I have done a lot of searching and reading about 50-amp conversions. I don't really need a true 50-amp conversion, just the ability to run 30+20 amps and bypass the front/rear ac selector switch in order to turn them both on at the same time. Most of the writeups i am reading involve coaches that already are able to run both units off shore power wih the switch in the "front" position. My new coach will not do that however. On shore power it will still only run one unit. Can anyone point me in the right direction to research this project? I want to do this safely, but I don't want to spend a ton of money.
Also, should I be able to add another "t" into the LP line to enable me to feed off extra aux portable LP tanks? If so, where would I start in approaching this mod?

I would love to just get a pusher with 50-amp service and a diesel generator, but the one I am getting is so clean and such a good deal I can't pass it up.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!