Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-30-2013, 11:36 AM   #1

Newbie Looking for answers

Hi all,
Since I am new to this motorhome world, and looking at the multitude of machines, makes,& models, instead of getting satifying answers, all I seem to do is get more questions. I am Canadian, and hope to spend winters where its warmer and there is no snow to shovel(had my fill of that thankyou)
Some of the things that keep cropping up are:
-travel costs
-campground costs
-free camping
- vehicle insurance costs
-medical health insurance cost
-telephone costs
-internet costs
-cummins engine
-cat engine
-freightliner frames
-spartan frame
-people problems on the road.
-motorhome costs(repairs& normal maintenance)
I am a heavy duty mechanic by trade and have always worked on machinery, so most of it I could likely get by doing a lot of myself. But with the new technology,and computer programed machines, there is likely times I will have to rely on the dealer somewhere. And of course the older we get the less we want to do.

So many things to consider and be aware of. I am sure there are other things I havent thought of yet, and hopefully some of you that have been out there for a bit will have some answers for me.
I think I will be ok financially, as my finacial guys says, but in the back of the mind, as usual there is some doubt of the unknown that scares the begeezes out of one. Looking for some answers,or some guidence, before I make the big plunge.
bobalooy08 is offline   Reply With Quote