Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2015, 12:04 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Spark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Tampa, FL.
Posts: 14
Newbie Needs Help (30 or 50 amps)

Hi forum,

I am new to Rving and I am looking to purchase a used RV. I am considering a 2007 Terra LX or 2008 Bounder 32 both have ford V10 engines. Unfortunately, they both have the Onan Marquis Gold Gas Generator, 5.5KW, 45AMP. I was hoping that both models would operate on 50 amps and not 30. I am concerned about my our comfort. Should this be a game changer? I would like to hear from those who have used both 30 and 50 amp systems.

Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
Spark1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-12-2015, 12:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,972
Welcome to iRV2.

Main reason for the switch up from 30 to 50 amp , service on RVs , was to allow the installation of multiple roof air conditioning units.

If the RV's your looking at have only one roof air conditioner , they will only be wired for, and equipped with gen sets to operate the one air conditioner.
__________________

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 12:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,734
I'm not familiar with those models, but do they have one or two A/C units?

If only one, then 30A should be fine. Am I missing something from your question?


P.S. Welcome to the club.
__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 12:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,734
Skip beat me to the response
__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 12:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by bamaboy473 View Post
Skip beat me to the response
Rick , do you mean that I can actually type faster than someone here in the forums.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 12:17 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 241
I would think he coach is designed correctly and you'll be fine. Most of us all have some kind of power limitations. You can run one a/c unit and might be able to microwave at the same time. I have two a/c units on a 34 footer and have never been uncomfortable when just running one a/c unit at a 30A campground. In a nutshell you'll be fine.


Robby
__________________
Robby W. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 12:18 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Spark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Tampa, FL.
Posts: 14
Thanks for your quick responses. Both Rv's have 2 ac units. I've been informed that I could run both units both nothing else. I am just wondering if I could Rv comfortably with 30 amps. I just want to make the best decision since this will be my 1st RV purchase.
__________________
Spark1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 12:20 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Spark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Tampa, FL.
Posts: 14
Your responses helped.
__________________
Spark1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 12:24 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,829
As others have said.. the main reason for going to 50 amps is to have multiple A/C (you can run up to 3 on 50 amps. 4 if you really need it and use propane to heat water)

You can put a 2nd A/C on a 30 amp rig though.. Just route the power lead to an inlet in the basement.. a 45 or 50 amp generator can feed a matching outlet (pigtail type) for generator use and for campground use use a 12ga extension cord DO NOT COIL IT UP (you may lay a "U" shaped loop though) and plug into the 20 amp outlet.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 01:20 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
ronspradley's Avatar


 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,628
I think it all boils down to how hot it is where you camp. If you are in Texas or southern California desert or Arizona during summer, one air conditioner will not be enough to keep occupants comfortable. That has been my experience but I have always had old, inexpensive rv's. YMMV. My MH started with 30 amp service and two air conditioners. And a propane 5.5 generator. Could run either of air conditioners on 30 amp but not both at same time. Could run both on generator. I changed wiring to 50 amp and can now run both units at the same time. Remembering that this 1993 Gulfstream is not well insulated.

ronspradley

.
__________________
1993 Gulfstream Sun Voyager DP 30'
200 HP Cummins B5.9, 4sp Allison AT542
Toad 1998 Honda CRV, 2006 Honda CRV
Life's too short to drink cheap beer.
ronspradley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 01:50 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Luv2go's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Appalachian Campers
Ford Super Duty Owner
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,893
The Onan 5.5KW generator in our coach allow us to run both A/C's and the microwave at the same time. But it is very close to capacity. Add a hair dryer (10A) and one of the A/C's switch off (the EMS detects too much usage and automatically shuts it off while the hair dryer is going). It has no issues at all running both A/C's and the fridge (3A) at the same time without running other heavy loads.

If you have a choice between a coach with 30A shore power cord and 50A, I'd go with 50A. My experience is the same as most posters above, I can run both A/C's on 30A at about 50% of the campgrounds that only have 30A hookups, and only if the fridge is on gas and with no other loads.
__________________
Stewart, Brenda and kids
2008 Newmar Canyon Star 3410
2006 Roadtrek Versatile 210
Luv2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 01:52 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
SteveLevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 1,195
You can run both a/c on 30 amps, but you need to make sure the fridge and the water heater are on propane, and don't run much else other than maybe interior lights.

Also, turn the thermostat down low enough that the a/c compressors stay on -- if they both start up at the same time, you might not make it on 30 amps.

Steve
__________________
The Green Machine -- 2000 Mountain High Coachworks Summit (Spartan chassis / Cummins ISC)
...and F-Troop: Fearghus, Fiona, and Frankie (Cairn Terriers)
SteveLevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2015, 04:15 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Johndale's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Ft Worth texas
Posts: 963
Newbie Needs Help (30 or 50 amps)

I call it the Lisa Douglas theory from Green Acres. It didn't take long to remember. DW is good at it now.
And she doesn't have to clime the pole to answer the phone. 😅


Sent from my iPhone using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________

__________________
2003 Sightseer 33L
Ford F53
Johndale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
newbie



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
15th ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION RALLY Madame Boomer Texas Boomers 31 05-19-2015 04:36 PM
30 amp service - controlling equipment Tdccmc Monaco Owner's Forum 12 03-14-2015 07:23 PM
Amps per hour? Horsepower per hour? BatteryPro Going Green 5 02-23-2015 07:04 PM
2015 31KE - Newbie sdtrier Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 07-17-2014 05:35 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.